FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Guide] Revert back to Original Stock Rom With Kies

2,295 posts
Thanks Meter: 654
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi to all. This is a very simple guide to revert back to the Stock rom that came with your phone.
Odin is not needed, also no special skills needed. All you need is a PC with Samsung Kies installed.
Kies is best to be updated to latest version. latest one is 08-01-2013

So, let's start. If you were rooted and the custom binary counter has increased, please use TriangleAway prior to this guide.


1-) Open up Kies with phone disconnected, but keep it powered up cause you will need it for the serial number.

2-)Navigate here (tools) (picture 1) and select the 3d option (software upgarade and preparation). you will get this Enter GT-N7100 press confirm.

3-) enter your phones serial number(picture 3) wich you can find either under the battery or by navigating to yout phone Settings- About device- Status- Serial
Number. Press confirm. after pressing confirm you will be presented with a dialog which lets you know that the device will be wiped. Press Confirm again.
4-) you will now be presented with the version (picture4, it is for my phone. you will have maybe other) that is the latest for your phone and your serial number. press confirm and wait for the first download (picture5). wait till it finishes.

5-)in the next screen (picture 6) read and select Agree. put your phone in download mode by pressing volume down+ home button+ power on. do not release the buttons till the phone is in the screen that tells about warning. press volume up.
connect phone to PC and press down at Start Update button.
this will take a while to download cause the update is about 1GB.
wait till it finishes and phone boot up.
Set up as usual.

Hope it helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????1.jpg
Views:	23489
Size:	44.8 KB
ID:	1627573   Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????2.PNG
Views:	16530
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	1627574   Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????3.PNG
Views:	19278
Size:	17.4 KB
ID:	1627575   Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????4.PNG
Views:	17075
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	1627579   Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????5.PNG
Views:	15167
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	1627580   Click image for larger version

Name:	?????????6.jpg
Views:	14177
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	1627581  
Last edited by mariosraptor; 8th January 2013 at 07:29 PM.
The Following 80 Users Say Thank You to mariosraptor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th January 2013, 05:30 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag Monterrey, MX
Thanks Meter: 30
 
More
Wow, thanks!
I hust have a question about this, for example, if i ever want to rollback to carrier stock ROM, i should follow the steps above? If we do this, are we going to enable OTA carrier updates as long as we don't root the phone, right?

Thanks!
8th January 2013, 06:18 PM |#3  
mariosraptor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 654
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luismedina

Wow, thanks!
I hust have a question about this, for example, if i ever want to rollback to carrier stock ROM, i should follow the steps above? If we do this, are we going to enable OTA carrier updates as long as we don't root the phone, right?

Thanks!

you are correct. in both questions
The Following User Says Thank You to mariosraptor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 02:14 PM |#4  
Member
Flag Harrogate
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Do you think this procedure would work with a Note 10.1?
Ive triangled away, so the download screen says its official
But its still rooted, this seems a very simple and effective way to remove all traces of changes
9th January 2013, 04:09 PM |#5  
mariosraptor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 654
 
Donate to Me
More
[QUOTE=Blackhorse;36488665]Do you think this procedure would work with a Note 10.1?
Ive triangled away, so the download screen says its official
But its still rooted, this seems a very simple and effective way to remove all traces of changes[/QUO\


it should worl in your tab too. it was the same for S3 and S2.
it is like restore function in Itunes but a bit under disguise
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mariosraptor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 04:24 PM |#6  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 210
 
More
[QUOTE=mariosraptor;36493260]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhorse

Do you think this procedure would work with a Note 10.1?
Ive triangled away, so the download screen says its official
But its still rooted, this seems a very simple and effective way to remove all traces of changes[/QUO\


it should worl in your tab too. it was the same for S3 and S2.
it is like restore function in Itunes but a bit under disguise

Will this work coming from a 4.2.+ CM / AOSP based ROM?
9th January 2013, 05:02 PM |#7  
mariosraptor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 654
 
Donate to Me
More
It will work coming from any rom. Just backup, backup, backup your personal data. It will wipe internal sd.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to mariosraptor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th January 2013, 05:24 PM |#8  
yiannisthegreek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 210
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mariosraptor

It will work coming from any rom. Just backup, backup, backup your personal data. It will wipe internal sd.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium

Thanks... This is good to know. Question though... I live in Canada and my device was a UK version that I bought from a store here in Edmonton, Alberta. That being said... Will Kies be able to find my proper STOCK firmware given my location or does it find it based soley on the serial number?
9th January 2013, 05:38 PM |#9  
mariosraptor's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Corfu
Thanks Meter: 654
 
Donate to Me
More
It finds it base on serial number. If is is a UK device it will install the latest one for the specific serial number and UK.

Sent from my GT-N7100 using xda premium
9th January 2013, 05:55 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Flag Jeddah- J City ;)
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Great guide but i still have a question!
Q- Should i flash stock recovery prior to following this procedure? or will KIES do it for me?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes