FORUMS

SuperSU Beta Updates With Minor Fix For Galaxy S6

ChainFire’s root permissions app SuperSU has updated to v.2.49 to fix audits on … more

LG G4 Day Event Coverage: Specs, Features, Design & More!

LG has been teasing us with a countdown for a while now, and today it reached … more

Xposed Modules to Modify Email – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Even though we have Dropbox and other ways to share files, people still want … more

Google Teaches You to Use Wear Gestures

Now that the Watch Urbane is out with the latest firmware, we have new information regarding the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[KERNEL][GPL] franco.Kernel - r17

14th January 2013, 01:43 AM |#21  
wera750's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
From what I have read the cpu doesn't have a temp sensor and uses an algorithm instead to report temps , and it sucks. Raising the thermal threshold to over 100 C seems to work well..... But I'm sure you will catch all that in due time.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
 
 
14th January 2013, 01:44 AM |#22  
404 ERROR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 115
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wera750

From what I have read the cpu doesn't have a temp sensor and uses an algorithm instead to report temps , and it sucks. Raising the thermal threshold to over 100 C seems to work well..... But I'm sure you will catch all that in due time.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD

At least one person has reported that his device started to glitch up and then reboot from raising it to 100 degrees. I'm sure there is a limit.
The Following User Says Thank You to 404 ERROR For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 01:45 AM |#23  
wera750's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Mine ran fine like that playing NFSWM

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
14th January 2013, 01:49 AM |#24  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleroi, PA
Thanks Meter: 523
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 404 ERROR

At least one person has reported that his device started to glitch up and then reboot from raising it to 100 degrees. I'm sure there is a limit.

I raised my limit to 90C, and NFS:MW's graphics glitched out eventually. I rebooted on my own.

Speaking of temperature, my device seemed notably hot (maybe hotter then average) when I played some NFS:MW with this kernel. It could just be me mis-interpreting it though.
14th January 2013, 02:02 AM |#25  
freshlysqueezed's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
More
Samsung hits 4W by throttling its CPU cores when both the CPU and GPU subsystems are being taxed.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6536/a...al-showdown/13

My theory is that the exynos 5250 CPU does have a temperature sensor, but the nexus 10 is throttling not in direct response to temperature but instead to limit TDP to 4 watts for energy efficiency.

Just my 2 cents.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
Last edited by freshlysqueezed; 14th January 2013 at 02:10 AM.
14th January 2013, 02:37 AM |#26  
franciscofranco's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 96,207
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for all the infos. I'll take a look into the thermal throttle driver, maybe theres room for improvement without hacky raisings to high temperature thresholds.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to franciscofranco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 02:50 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
More
Another issue is the colour calibration is way off. Would be nice if we could tweak colours ourselves as we can on the GNex now.
14th January 2013, 02:51 AM |#28  
franciscofranco's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag Mountain View, CA
Thanks Meter: 96,207
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceribaen

Another issue is the colour calibration is way off. Would be nice if we could tweak colours ourselves as we can on the GNex now.

I looked into the screen driver, did some debugging and I wasn't particularly successful in changing the screen colours. I need more time.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to franciscofranco For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 02:55 AM |#29  
scream4cheese's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 870
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wera750

Won't boot on aokp. I know the op said cm, but I tried anyways. So for the others that will ask, aokp is a no go for now.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

The kernel works on all custom roms as far as i know after using Franco's rom for a while. Franco just wanted to emphasize that it works on CM based roms as well.
14th January 2013, 02:59 AM |#30  
wera750's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 97
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scream4cheese

The kernel works on all custom roms as far as i know after using Franco's rom for a while. Franco just wanted to emphasize that it works on CM based roms as well.

Disregard, it booted fine the third time.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
Last edited by wera750; 14th January 2013 at 03:07 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 10 Original Android Development by ThreadRank