Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,310 Members 45,184 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] *Unofficial* AOKP 4.2.2 Milestone 1 [Apr-18-13]

Tip us?
 
bryanlimy
Old
#11  
bryanlimy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 125
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Will it works on E971?

sent from my Optimus G E971
sent from my LG Nexus 5 & Asus Nexus 7
 
Haze028
Old
#12  
Haze028's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 413
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanlimy View Post
Will it works on E971?

sent from my Optimus G E971
Have you run the CM10? If that worked, this does too.

Regardless, I'm almost positive it will work just fine.
 
brownsmell
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2011
I just installed cm10.1 from chad on my e971, works fine so far. Wish I had seen this thread 20 mins before I installted it. Congrats on having a new rom it is needed!
Optimus G (E971) Rogers LGOG
kdz'd to 4.1.2
rooted
Freegeed with the 0.5 beta apk
installed [ROM] = http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2228880 PARANOIDANDROID 4.0+ GEEB [beta6][02/19]
 
solomon4400
Old
#14  
solomon4400's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 178
Posts: 848
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: CANADA(SOMETIMES I ASK Y?)
Well it is built from sources of CM10.1 ROM in dev section which currently runs how it should for now on my E971 so don't see why not.
SAMSUNG GALAXY NOTE 2 AKA BEST PHONE BUILT




IPHONE = 1 PENNEY < ANDROID = 100 DOLLAR BILL
 
brownsmell
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomon4400 View Post
Well it is built from sources of CM10.1 ROM in dev section which currently runs how it should for now on my E971 so don't see why not.
Maybe the installation method can cause a problem:
1. Wipe Data/Cache
2. Wipe System
3. Install Rom . . .

CM10.1 strictly says not to wipe anything. You install the rom, then gapps, and THEN do a Factory Reset. I recall reading somewhere that you will brick your phone if you do not follow those instructions.
Optimus G (E971) Rogers LGOG
kdz'd to 4.1.2
rooted
Freegeed with the 0.5 beta apk
installed [ROM] = http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2228880 PARANOIDANDROID 4.0+ GEEB [beta6][02/19]
 
Haze028
Old
#16  
Haze028's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 413
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell View Post
Maybe the installation method can cause a problem:
1. Wipe Data/Cache
2. Wipe System
3. Install Rom . . .

CM10.1 strictly says not to wipe anything. You install the rom, then gapps, and THEN do a Factory Reset. I recall reading somewhere that you will brick your phone if you do not follow those instructions.
Not sure if that's just E971, but i factory reset and wipe system prior to flashing the rom then gapps everytime. I personally havn't had an issue, I don't want to be resposible for anyone bricking their device, just put the procedure I use.
The Following User Says Thank You to Haze028 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brownsmell
Old
(Last edited by brownsmell; 14th January 2013 at 06:28 AM.)
#17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haze028 View Post
Not sure if that's just E971
The E97x series is fairly similar but it is completely different from every phone I have played with (galaxy 1, 2, s2x, SIII, LG p500). On the other phones I listed u wipe first but this can cause a brick on the e971 (rogers 2600) and some or all of the variants such as the e973 (bell/telus) which is very close except for its LTE frequency. You have an E973 Haze, and didnt get a brick when wiping before romming?

You can read about some of the bootloops posted here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...004731&page=81
Optimus G (E971) Rogers LGOG
kdz'd to 4.1.2
rooted
Freegeed with the 0.5 beta apk
installed [ROM] = http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2228880 PARANOIDANDROID 4.0+ GEEB [beta6][02/19]
 
Haze028
Old
#18  
Haze028's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 436
Posts: 413
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell View Post
The E97x series is fairly similar but it is completely different from every phone I have played with (galaxy 1, 2, s2x, LG p500). On all other phones u wipe first but this can cause a brick on the e971 (rogers 2600) and some or all of the variants such as the e973 (bell/telus) which is very close except for its LTE frequency. You have an E973 Haze?
Yes, E973 Bell. I have always wiped data then system on this phone before changing roms. Preforming a restore did the same, wipe each before flashing, so I didn't see the harm in doing so myself.


Edit-No brick here, I've repeated this process at least 30 times by now... no issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to Haze028 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
brownsmell
Old
(Last edited by brownsmell; 14th January 2013 at 06:38 AM.)
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 118
Join Date: Jun 2011
I re-read thru the link I posted above the previous post. Seems that the cause of the bootloops was an old version of recovery (CWM or TWRP).
If I recall correctly, I got CWM with freegee .5
CWM version 6.0.1.5

Which recovery are u using Haze?
Optimus G (E971) Rogers LGOG
kdz'd to 4.1.2
rooted
Freegeed with the 0.5 beta apk
installed [ROM] = http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2228880 PARANOIDANDROID 4.0+ GEEB [beta6][02/19]
 
qjai
Old
#20  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 86
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: GTA
Nice more roms!

Sent from my LG-E971 using xda app-developers app
smartphone history:
HTC Dream
Samsung Galaxy S1 Captivate
Motorola Droid Pro
Blackberry Curve 8520
Apple iPhone 4
Apple iPad 1
Dell Streak
Galaxy S2 i9100
HTC One X International
Sony Xperia Go
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1
LG Optimus G 2600

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes