Post Reply

[ROM] *Unofficial* AOKP 4.2.2 Milestone 1 [Apr-18-13]

OP Haze028

14th January 2013, 10:02 AM   |  #21  
houstonn's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ontario
Thanks Meter: 9,729
 
1,779 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell

I re-read thru the link I posted above the previous post. Seems that the cause of the bootloops was an old version of recovery (CWM or TWRP).
If I recall correctly, I got CWM with freegee .5
CWM version 6.0.1.5

Which recovery are u using Haze?

Use the recovery from http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...p?t=2010984(he has the latest posted which has been compiled for the att to use exFAT on the ext_sdcard,
which will show errors on our Canadian phones when loaded in recovery)

You would want to use the recovery of Sk8's CWM - no sdcard exFAT errors.

As for your above post. - you can wipe cache / wipe dalvik cache / you can even go ahead and goto mounts and storage and "format /system"

install rom
install gapps

after flash I always do a wipe cache partition / wipe dalvik cache (since it installs a kernel)

then reboot system
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to houstonn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 12:54 PM   |  #22  
Haze028's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 480
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell

I re-read thru the link I posted above the previous post. Seems that the cause of the bootloops was an old version of recovery (CWM or TWRP).
If I recall correctly, I got CWM with freegee .5
CWM version 6.0.1.5

Which recovery are u using Haze?

I'm running TWRP 2323
14th January 2013, 06:27 PM   |  #23  
geokilla's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 279
 
2,624 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Wait, so this works on Rogers Optimus G?! Time to update the OP?
14th January 2013, 07:01 PM   |  #24  
Haze028's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 480
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla

Wait, so this works on Rogers Optimus G?! Time to update the OP?

Well, I've heard no conformation that it does, though it should as the cm10 does. Just waiting for some feedback.
14th January 2013, 11:07 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
123 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I have downloaded the 6.0.23 recovery from Houston's link and the AOKP rom and gapps. Will flash it in the next 5 mins and update here

Update (Rogers E971):
- flashed the 6.0.23 CWM zip successfully from recovery
- did all the wipes mentioned above and a Factory Reset
- flashed AOKP current version and gapps successfully
- did the rest of the wipes listed above
- got the pink unicorn
- entered im gmail account
- last step, Setup Wizard does a FC
- select Nova Launcher, always

Looks like this rom is working just as well as cm10.1 on my E971. Good work!

The FC didnt seem to cause any problem.
Tethering isnt working for me on 3g. I need to use my provider's proxy on my laptop to connect to the data on my phone, for some reason it doesnt work. Others report that normal H+ tethering is working for them in cm10.1.
Last edited by brownsmell; 15th January 2013 at 12:02 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to brownsmell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2013, 12:10 AM   |  #26  
chadouming's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag On the interwebz
Thanks Meter: 1,681
 
2,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell

Maybe the installation method can cause a problem:
1. Wipe Data/Cache
2. Wipe System
3. Install Rom . . .

CM10.1 strictly says not to wipe anything. You install the rom, then gapps, and THEN do a Factory Reset. I recall reading somewhere that you will brick your phone if you do not follow those instructions.

Eh, when flashing a new rom, it will always wipe the system partition. Wiping cache is useless. If android see that cache mismatch it will be removed. Finally, i do say to wipe data / factory reset.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to chadouming For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th January 2013, 12:53 AM   |  #27  
solomon4400's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CANADA(SOMETIMES I ASK Y?)
Thanks Meter: 178
 
848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Hey haze I'm loving the ROM AOKP is my favorite out of them all but my issue is that there is no where to configure the lock screen ( shortcuts, wallpaper, etc
15th January 2013, 03:24 AM   |  #28  
Haze028's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 480
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomon4400

Hey haze I'm loving the ROM AOKP is my favorite out of them all but my issue is that there is no where to configure the lock screen ( shortcuts, wallpaper, etc

I miss that feature right now too... but I don't belive AOKP has merged it into their 4.2 source yet. Should come along.

http://aokp.co/release-jb-mr1-build-1/ Current merged features listed there... this is only AOKP's first release for 4.2
15th January 2013, 04:02 AM   |  #29  
solomon4400's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag CANADA(SOMETIMES I ASK Y?)
Thanks Meter: 178
 
848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Well f@#k me sideways lol.OK den should off done a tad bit more research. Sorry bout that
15th January 2013, 05:18 AM   |  #30  
Haze028's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 480
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brownsmell

Tethering isnt working for me on 3g. I need to use my provider's proxy on my laptop to connect to the data on my phone, for some reason it doesnt work. Others report that normal H+ tethering is working for them in cm10.1.

USB tethering? Wifi tethering works fine over the mobile network for me. Havent tried usb tethering.

I also have yet to get a FC on my initial setups so not sure what that was about.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes