ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Does anyone have a CWM Flashable version of the T999VVLDLL1 Jelly Bean Modem?

OP MegaMan X

14th January 2013, 06:57 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
As you all know, the T999V variants and T999 can not flash the radio/modem files interchangeably between the two.

As such, does anyone have a copy of the Modem? I'm currently running an JB Rom with an ICS Modem and getting some really sad speeds. I checked the Sticky here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and it is currently not posted.


If anyone is using this Modem, I believe you could follow the steps in this guide to a certain extent:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9#post27584839

Thanks in advance to all that reply!
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 08:21 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
after further googling, I think all I need is some kind soul to extract the modem.bin from their phones. Afterwards, I think I have enough tech savvy to repackage the Modem.bin into a CWM ZIP file for public consumption.

Please follow the steps using either ADB or Terminal on your phone to extract the modem and then post it here. Thank you!


Requirements:

1. CWM Recovery & root (Thanks Chainfire!)
2. ADB setup and know how to use it! or Terminal Emulator app
3. Samsung KIES drivers installed
4. Power on device, Enable USB debugging

**If you don’t how to do above, then XDA forum search and Google is your friend**

Steps:

1. Dump your current modem onto your internal sdcard

# Run Terminal Emulator app and input steps b -> e



OR

# Connect USB to PC & run PC Command Prompt (CMD) & input steps a -> e

a) adb shell
b) su
c) dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p7 of=/sdcard/modem.bin bs=4096
d) exit
e) exit

Last edited by MegaMan X; 14th January 2013 at 08:32 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th January 2013, 09:38 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Nobody sent me anything, so I extracted the modem.bin file from a root66 kies odin file:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

then I created this zip file using information from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and now...

here's the modem:

https://anonfiles.com/file/bb0622d45...0bc18ab8802ef5

Cheers!
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th January 2013, 06:46 AM   |  #4  
Idyar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 390
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X

Nobody sent me anything, so I extracted the modem.bin file from a root66 kies odin file:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1771687

then I created this zip file using information from this thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1880987

and now...

here's the modem:

https://anonfiles.com/file/bb0622d45...0bc18ab8802ef5

Cheers!

Just wanted to say thanks for doing this. I offered a month ago to do this for the thread if someone could help me figure out how to export the modem and I see you just sat down and figured it out. Thanks for the taking the time to do this, Support Canada! T999V forever!
4th February 2013, 08:26 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
43 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: Does anyone have a CWM Flashable version of the T999VVLDLL1 Jelly Bean Modem?
How does this compare to VLLH2 in terms of battery life and performance?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD
13th February 2013, 02:35 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DgtHorse

How does this compare to VLLH2 in terms of battery life and performance?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk HD

For me it's the same as the previous version. Maybe better signal if you are far from the tower.
18th May 2013, 10:30 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 9
 
109 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Anyone know why does the updater script and radio file still say VLLH2 for the baseband file name? I'm assuming that it is just a left-over from reusing the packaging from the previous baseband zip.

Has anyone tried this and confirmed that it is truly VLDLL1 via the About/Phone menu?

File sizes are different -- new version is quite a bit smaller...so they are not identical...
18th September 2013, 06:37 PM   |  #8  
I'm getting mixed inputs here. I have a t999 T-Mobile Galaxy S III and every time I update my Cyanogenmod ROM (which I've been doing for years) everything goes smooth but when the device boots up, it says "unknown" for the baseband version. If I flash the UVDMD5 radio it goes back to normal. But every single time I flash a new nightly this happens. Just wondering if this is a fix for that or if there I no fix. I rooted with the stock root injected .tar file just like I've done 3 separate times. This is the only one of my 3 S3's that has done this. I confirmed that it was NOT a t999L model before anything. Is there a possibility that this device could be a non t999 without saying it is? Or is it possible that this is a t999L model without showing that it is? I'm very lost here. Nobody seems to have the same issue as me. I've searched through hundreds of thread pages to no avail. Help please somebody?
18th September 2013, 07:17 PM   |  #9  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,497
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I've no idea why it would do that. Sounds like some sort of Rom issue maybe? If it was anything but a T999, the md5 modem would not work btw. But I've never heard of thus before, so it could be some sort of unknown corruption somewhere in another partition. Purely a guess on that though.
If you Odin back to the LJA, or any other build does it still do this? Does it happen when you flash any Rom? Or just cm? If it's only cm, then I'd ask in the Rom thread. What about other kinds of flashes, such as kernels, recoveries and mods?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 4

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes