Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM/KERNEL] CM11 (Android 4.4) + 3.0.72 Kernel for Kindle Fire 2 [NIGHTLIES]

OP Hashcode

1st August 2013, 11:42 PM   |  #1  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 22,680
 
3,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
STEP 1: DOWNLOAD TWRP 2.6.3.1 W/ SELINUX .ZIP and UPDATE TWRP(REQUIRED FOR 4.4):
http://goo.im/devs/Hashcode/otter2/r...1-recovery.zip

Boot into your existing recovery and flash the recovery update zip. Then reboot again and re-enter recovery. You *SHOULD* see "Team Win Recovery Project v2.6.3.1 at the top.


CyanogenMod 11 for the Kindle Fire 2nd-Edition

*** USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! WHILE I TRY MY BEST TO PROVIDE WORKING KERNELS/ROMS, I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE IF THIS SOFTWARE OR ANYTHING I'VE WORKED ON SUDDENLY FRIES YOUR DEVICE. ***

THIS ROM REQUIRES A 2ND-BOOTLOADER / RECOVERY BE INSTALLED ON YOUR KINDLE FIRE 2. FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS HERE:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2100963


*** PSA: Kindle Fire 1st-gen ROMs/KERNELS are *NOT* compatible with the Kindle Fire 2.
ONLY FLASH ROMs/KERNELS that are made for the Kindle Fire 2. ***



Automated CM Builds:
http://get.cm/?device=otter2

GAPPS (For Android 4.4/CM11 builds):
NEW! http://d-h.st/mDt

CHANGES:
  • [12/09] 1st Build -- UNTESTED (I don't own a KFire2)

OLDER GAPPS (For Android 4.3/CM10.2 builds):
http://goo.im/gapps/gapps-jb-20130813-signed.zip


CURRENT KNOWN ISSUES:
  • CM11: sdcard access needs a bugfix.
  • The headphone MIC input is not functioning correctly yet. Work in progress.
  • Virtual keyboard input on Jellybean is terrible. Needs a protocol update or something. Fixing. For now use an alternate keyboard like Swype

KERNEL FEATURES:
  • [08/12] Mainline version updates to 3.0.72 updated to current with Google's kernel/common
  • [01/06] WLAN Firmware R5.SP3.06
  • [11/07] Updated to SGX/IMG DDK 1.9@2166536 for Android (via omapzoom 18 hours ago)
  • [11/07] WLAN Firmware R5.SP3.03
  • [09/05] Updated to SGX/IMG DDK 1.9.RC2@2139099 for Android
  • Based on TI kernel 4AI.1.7 (3.0.31 mainline) which supports 512M memory mapping needed by the Kindle Fire


DEVS
BUILDING THIS ROM:

First, read through Google's Android website about "how to setup a build environment":
http://source.android.com/source/initializing.html

Then you can setup the Kindle Fire by doing the following:
mkdir android
cd android
(Use main repo for CyanogenMod 11)
repo init -u https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android -b cm-11
repo sync
vendor/cm/get-prebuilts
. build/envsetup.sh && brunch otter2

RESERVED FOR NOTES
Last edited by Hashcode; 9th December 2013 at 10:21 PM.
The Following 17 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2013, 12:23 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
When will the official cm10.2 nightlies arrive?

Gesendet von meinem Amazon Kindle Fire2 mit Tapatalk 2
2nd August 2013, 09:31 AM   |  #3  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 22,680
 
3,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopower1996

When will the official cm10.2 nightlies arrive?

Gesendet von meinem Amazon Kindle Fire2 mit Tapatalk 2

No clue :P
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2013, 03:02 PM   |  #4  
bjoswald's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 18
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Should I do a factory reset to test this, or could I just wipe Cache and Dalvik and be OK?
2nd August 2013, 06:58 PM   |  #5  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 22,680
 
3,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjoswald

Should I do a factory reset to test this, or could I just wipe Cache and Dalvik and be OK?

Can probably wipe dalvik/cache and be fine. Make sure to also flash new gapps.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd August 2013, 11:02 PM   |  #6  
bjoswald's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 18
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hashcode

Can probably wipe dalvik/cache and be fine. Make sure to also flash new gapps.

OK, cool. Thanks for the reply!
3rd August 2013, 12:10 AM   |  #7  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 2,989
 
3,696 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Worked that way fine for me. As usual, thanks hashcode!


--
Sent from my mind to your screen.
3rd August 2013, 11:44 AM   |  #8  
tready's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag b,ham
Thanks Meter: 38
 
511 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Flashed this about an hour ago and all is well so far great job hashcode

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using xda premium
3rd August 2013, 12:55 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 198
 
537 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Good is also, that we can update once the official cm10.2 nightlies are out due to the cm updater.
3rd August 2013, 05:32 PM   |  #10  
bjoswald's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ocala
Thanks Meter: 18
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopower1996

Good is also, that we can update once the official cm10.2 nightlies are out due to the cm updater.

Yep, I'm holding off on it until they appear on the CM Updater.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes