FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

[BOOTLOADER] 2nd-Bootloader/Recovery unlock process for KFire 2 [TWRP 2.6.3.0]

3,317 posts
Thanks Meter: 23,529
 
By Hashcode, Senior Recognized Developer on 15th January 2013, 05:53 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
16th January 2013, 12:10 AM |#21  
powerpoint45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 2,099
 
Donate to Me
More
repo
@hashcode Do you know why this keeps happening?

Code:
Get https://github.com/CyanogenMod/android
  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
  0     0    0     0    0     0      0      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--     0
curl: (22) The requested URL returned error: 404
Server does not provide clone.bundle; ignoring.
 
 
16th January 2013, 12:27 AM |#22  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,529
 
Donate to Me
More
Sometimes it takes a few tries if github is having issues.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 12:51 AM |#23  
MisterSir69's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I want to attempt this, Little Confused on where to place the downloaded files and how to push them and Where to take the files that need to be stored for safe keeping.
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterSir69 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 12:58 AM |#24  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,529
 
Donate to Me
More
The boot.img and recovery.img download files stay on your computer where you will use the fastboot command to flash them to the device.
The ROM.zip and gapps need to be placed on the /sdcard so that you can browse to them in TWRP.

And save the files that you pull in step #1 somewhere on your PC for safe-keeping.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 01:00 AM |#25  
MisterSir69's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hashcode

The boot.img and recovery.img download files stay on your computer where you will use the fastboot command to flash them to the device.
The ROM.zip and gapps need to be placed on the /sdcard so that you can browse to them in TWRP.

And save the files that you pull in step #1 somewhere on your PC for safe-keeping.

I think My problem is, I dont know how to pull or push files using ADB. Any step by step process to learn how to do this?
16th January 2013, 01:02 AM |#26  
Senior Member
Flag Mount Vernon, IA,USA
Thanks Meter: 188
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterSir69

I want to attempt this, Little Confused on where to place the downloaded files and how to push them and Where to take the files that need to be stored for safe keeping.

The files that need to be kept, the stock backup needs to be kept safe somewhere on your pc.
You pretty much need to be running mac or linux for the stack override.
put the .zips on your sdcard of your kindle.
you push them with adb
The most important part is that you don't get flustered, and have a factory cable on hand for emergencies..
The Following User Says Thank You to fmkilo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 01:18 AM |#27  
MisterSir69's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo

The files that need to be kept, the stock backup needs to be kept safe somewhere on your pc.
You pretty much need to be running mac or linux for the stack override.
put the .zips on your sdcard of your kindle.
you push them with adb
The most important part is that you don't get flustered, and have a factory cable on hand for emergencies..

not getting flusterd thats for sure, LOL im loving the input and learning how to do this, It keeps me busy. I just dont know how to use the commands that have bee supplied. And where the files will be backedup too so I can save them

---------- Post added at 02:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:08 AM ----------

LOL okay, Looks like I have Figured out how to push these files. Im assuming the TWRP and other 2 files Need to be placed in the SDK/platform-tools Folder. Please correct me if im wrong. The other Files Gapps and Rom need to be placed on the sdcard. Think I have this figured out. Still confused on how to get the backup to run. At cmd prompt I navigate to my SDK/platformtools folder and I type the first command But I get Remote object adb pull /dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/boot not a file or Directory
16th January 2013, 01:34 AM |#28  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmkilo

The files that need to be kept, the stock backup needs to be kept safe somewhere on your pc.
You pretty much need to be running mac or linux for the stack override.
put the .zips on your sdcard of your kindle.
you push them with adb
The most important part is that you don't get flustered, and have a factory cable on hand for emergencies..

When you say "pretty much"... does this mean it CAN'T be done on windows?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
16th January 2013, 01:36 AM |#29  
Senior Member
Flag San Jose
Thanks Meter: 46
 
More
I noticed you said the HD codec doesn't work? What exactly does this affect?

I use the kindle mainly for netflix now, so will it not load the HD video somehow? I've never really understood codecs even on PCs, just knew that I had to download vlc and everything was fine and dandy haha.

Great work though guys! Thanks for all the time and effort you've put into this. Now that we are over the main hurdle everything should fall into place for getting it all working. Powerpoint will you be working on a ROM at all? It seems like you want to make things for personal use but I'm sure we would all love a much loved and worked on ROM with neat features :P

Once again, thank you all!
16th January 2013, 01:56 AM |#30  
Senior Member
Flag Mount Vernon, IA,USA
Thanks Meter: 188
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iytrix

I noticed you said the HD codec doesn't work? What exactly does this affect?

I use the kindle mainly for netflix now, so will it not load the HD video somehow? I've never really understood codecs even on PCs, just knew that I had to download vlc and everything was fine and dandy haha.

Great work though guys! Thanks for all the time and effort you've put into this. Now that we are over the main hurdle everything should fall into place for getting it all working. Powerpoint will you be working on a ROM at all? It seems like you want to make things for personal use but I'm sure we would all love a much loved and worked on ROM with neat features :P

Once again, thank you all!

netflix won't load nor will hd youtube. He's working on hdcodec.

---------- Post added at 07:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:49 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterSir69

not getting flusterd thats for sure, LOL im loving the input and learning how to do this, It keeps me busy. I just dont know how to use the commands that have bee supplied. And where the files will be backedup too so I can save them

---------- Post added at 02:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:08 AM ----------

LOL okay, Looks like I have Figured out how to push these files. Im assuming the TWRP and other 2 files Need to be placed in the SDK/platform-tools Folder. Please correct me if im wrong. The other Files Gapps and Rom need to be placed on the sdcard. Think I have this figured out. Still confused on how to get the backup to run. At cmd prompt I navigate to my SDK/platformtools folder and I type the first command But I get Remote object adb pull /dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/boot not a file or Directory

Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick

When you say "pretty much"... does this mean it CAN'T be done on windows?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2

these are very similar, I assume you are both using windows. @mindmajick, if you try to pull the block images from windows, you get the error that @MisterSir69 got.
To circumnavigate this, go ahead and use
Code:
adb shell su -c 'dd if=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/recovery of=/sdcard/recovery.img'
adb shell su -c 'dd if=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/boot of=/sdcard/boot.img'
adb shell su -c 'dd if=/dev/block/platform/omap/omap_hsmmc.1/by-name/system of=/sdcard/system.img'
adb pull /sdcard/recovery.img /some freaking directory you remember
adb pull /sdcard/boot.img /some freaking directory you remember
adb pull /sdcard/system.img /some freaking directory you remember
that should eliminate the errors.. and that is how you do that part on windows. the other part is creating the stack, it needs to either be given to a windows user, or the user has to boot into linux or mac to make it.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to fmkilo For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th January 2013, 02:01 AM |#31  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Thanks. Just trying to be clear on everything.. before my cable comes. Since i ordered from Hong Kong it will probably be a while- which is probably a good thing as it gives me more time to become proficient with the fire.

I've made a few roms for phones over the past year or so, but I don't feel like bricking my week old toy just yet

Sent from my KFOT using Tapatalk 2

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes