Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,734,036 Members 52,045 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Bootloader Safe OTA Update

Tip us?
 
adrynalyne
Old
(Last edited by adrynalyne; 19th January 2013 at 06:28 PM.)
#1  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5669
Posts: 9,619
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Bootloader Safe OTA Update

http://www.mediafire.com/?wkhvh91lp7792yr

Requirements:

1. A custom recovery.
2. A nandroid backup.
3. Stock files, sans root.
4. Optional, but recommended that you use this to backup root access first:
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...otkeeper&hl=en

It shouldnt hurt root either, but make a nandroid to be safe.

If you lose root, try flashing this:
http://downloads.noshufou.netdna-cdn...arm-signed.zip

Updated: Removed tz.img because I don't think its needed.
If you like what I do, buy me a brew!
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to adrynalyne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
SeanPlunk
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 250
Join Date: May 2011
So this is the OTA minus the new bootloader? So basically the new radios and the kernel patch only?
 
nnnnr14
Old
#3  
nnnnr14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lagrange

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Bootloader Safe OTA Update

Trying this out but back up to two different locations just in case.
Sent from my HTC One Max using Venom ROM
 
adrynalyne
Old
#4  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5669
Posts: 9,619
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanPlunk View Post
So this is the OTA minus the new bootloader? So basically the new radios and the kernel patch only?
Yep, and whatever else it patches.
If you like what I do, buy me a brew!
 
nnnnr14
Old
#5  
nnnnr14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lagrange

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Bootloader Safe OTA Update

So I can just make a nandroid and flash it over Beans v6 and it should install the radios just fine right?
Sent from my HTC One Max using Venom ROM
 
adrynalyne
Old
#6  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5669
Posts: 9,619
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnnnr14 View Post
So I can just make a nandroid and flash it over Beans v6 and it should install the radios just fine right?
Nope. Check requirements

I added a third one in anticipation of that question.
If you like what I do, buy me a brew!
 
SeanPlunk
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 250
Join Date: May 2011
1) Will this work for the Verizon version of CleanRom?
2) Do I have to unroot? The directions aren't clear to me. Sorry about that.
3) If I do have to unroot, can I just use OTA rootkeeper to root again afterwards?
 
adrynalyne
Old
(Last edited by adrynalyne; 18th January 2013 at 07:18 PM.)
#8  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5669
Posts: 9,619
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanPlunk View Post
1) Will this work for the Verizon version of CleanRom?
2) Do I have to unroot? The directions aren't clear to me. Sorry about that.
3) If I do have to unroot, can I just use OTA rootkeeper to root again afterwards?
All answered in first post (requirements).

Thanks

1. No
2. No
3. If you lose root.
If you like what I do, buy me a brew!
 
nnnnr14
Old
#9  
nnnnr14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 242
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lagrange

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Bootloader Safe OTA Update

So ill have to be on stock rom...
Sent from my HTC One Max using Venom ROM
 
adrynalyne
Old
#10  
adrynalyne's Avatar
Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 5669
Posts: 9,619
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nnnnr14 View Post
So ill have to be on stock rom...
Yes. There is no safe way (that I know of) to force patch files on a custom rom.

When I get home, I can make a deodexed patch file, but it will overwrite any custom changes you have.
If you like what I do, buy me a brew!

The Following User Says Thank You to adrynalyne For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools
Display Modes