Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,696 Members 38,064 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Custom GPS Antenna THL W7

Tip us?
 
dragonfly14
Old
#31  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manan79 View Post
Tried unlockroot and other 3-4 programs, nothing works...unlockroot says chmod failed... while both doing root and unroot ,, and before rooting it says "ur phone is rooted, root again ?" and thn fails if we says yes.

The problem is very tricky...half root , super user cant be removed, adb doesnt work, rename, delete , nothing works on root... mount also doesnt work...all commands say permission denied. I read on other forums that the only way out is to flash the stock....but I also dont knw how to flash the stock for thl w7...

Apart from ths, i wanted to know , in order to upgrade the ROM from needrom, root is required or it is optional ?
root isnt required it unroots it when you flash stock firmware.

try this one it has pictures
http://www.sendspace.com/file/cfat11
 
Manan79
Old
#32  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 168
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Default Re: Custom GPS Antenna THL W7

Thanks bro...I already tried this document many times...the problem is 1st step loading scatter file...it says invalid format ....is there any way confirmed to upgrade using phone only

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda premium
 
dragonfly14
Old
#33  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manan79 View Post
Thanks bro...I already tried this document many times...the problem is 1st step loading scatter file...it says invalid format ....is there any way confirmed to upgrade using phone only

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda premium
just an update:

I Ordered copper tape, ill try to build an antenna for it but im not too hopeful. got this tape after i got a replacement.

i gave up on the phone. its back in its box, and for sale. XD
i went out and bought a real galaxy note 2 and i dont regret it. SO MUCH BETTER. worst part? this THL W7 costed me 325. Note 2 Costed me 550$.
 
fixxxer0
Old
#34  
Member
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 62
Join Date: Feb 2011
so do all phones have some type of contacts for a gps antenna?
 
dragonfly14
Old
#35  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by fixxxer0 View Post
so do all phones have some type of contacts for a gps antenna?
no. some are properly built in and dont need modificarion. my htc evo 3d and samsung galaxy note 2 are examples.
my evo 3d locks in under 8 seconds to 8 sats oe more and my note 2 licks to 19 sats in 15 to 30 seconds.
 
lordhardware
Old
#36  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Melbourne
For anyone wanting official firmware:

http://en.thl.com.cn/Download/list-0-1.html
 
Manan79
Old
#37  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 168
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Finally I was able to upgrade my thl w7 using SP FLash tool , aand manually loading the scatter file elements. .. but there are problems.

1. The new latest 19 feb firmware (Jelly bean) doesnt have any google apps and camera application. I m searching for workarounds on this, if any one knows, please let me know.

2. testing other things gps etc, wifi works fine.... will post if any other issues are there

Quote:
Originally Posted by lordhardware View Post
For anyone wanting official firmware:

http://en.thl.com.cn/Download/list-0-1.html
 
dragonfly14
Old
#38  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manan79 View Post
Finally I was able to upgrade my thl w7 using SP FLash tool , aand manually loading the scatter file elements. .. but there are problems.

1. The new latest 19 feb firmware (Jelly bean) doesnt have any google apps and camera application. I m searching for workarounds on this, if any one knows, please let me know.

2. testing other things gps etc, wifi works fine.... will post if any other issues are there
I had same no google aps problem. I used titanium backup root and restored the google frameworks and apps from the English rom
 
Manan79
Old
#39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 168
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Default Re: Custom GPS Antenna THL W7

The latest update was very bad...in adition to previous errors..volume keys dint work so as the volumes option in audio setting...phone wouldn't ring when incoming call is received...

Apart from this noticed that network signal is not 100% sometimes ...in my ics firmware its always 100%


I reverted back to 26 jan ics firmware ...and installed gapps manually after rooting using unlockeroot....all good now except gps ...it never locks I still don't know workaround to this

Sent from my ThL W7 using xda app-developers app
 
dragonfly14
Old
#40  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manan79 View Post
The latest update was very bad...in adition to previous errors..volume keys dint work so as the volumes option in audio setting...phone wouldn't ring when incoming call is received...

Apart from this noticed that network signal is not 100% sometimes ...in my ics firmware its always 100%


I reverted back to 26 jan ics firmware ...and installed gapps manually after rooting using unlockeroot....all good now except gps ...it never locks I still don't know workaround to this

Sent from my ThL W7 using xda app-developers app
i went all the way back to the EN Firmware available on needrom and used the FAT Scatter load file from the newest firmware to get around the error. that one has all the GAPPS

GPS i gave up on.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...