Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

***Emergency Thread*** Here To Help!

OP ...Awesome...

21st January 2013, 05:17 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Thanks for the reply, I'm re-downloading the stock rom now to verify it's integrity and do a new flash. I cannot get into recovery, so we will see after the new flash. Pleading ignorance on one subject, how would I go about checking the MD5 sum to verify the file has no issues?

Additionally I did try to Odin recovery and still could not boot into it, this was however before attempting to re-download and flash a stock rom again.

**Edit//Update** Re-downloaded and flashed stock rom, was able to get into recovery and wipe, booted up fine.
Last edited by heartspains88; 21st January 2013 at 06:15 PM.
24th January 2013, 05:29 AM   |  #12  
frettfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apple Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 108
 
733 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Wow.. great idea for a thread and THANK YOU!!

Perfect timing too cause i need a little help please.

I am not new to android but new to samsung (WOW, didnt realize it would be so different from HTC ont he rooting and flashing side of things).

Long story short. I have a tmo s3. Bought it today and wanted to root. phone was working perfectly as it shoudl on stock rom unrooted. I downloaded the tool kit v7, used that to root adn install TWRP and rebooted into the stock rom that is now rooted. Still everything working perfect.
Here is what i did next and where the issues start.

Downloaded Synergy r290, went to recovery.
Wiped Cache, Dalvik, Data, and System (made a backup first)
flashed the rom and rebooted to system

However, nothing ever happened. I see the samsung logo, then all goes black and nothing happens (left it there for 10min)

I cant seem to get back into recovery holding vol up, home and power either and have no adb access to use that. I AM able to get into download mode which i know i can fix my problem here with odin, but i am just not sure what to flash and where.

Is there an easier way??

Thanks in advance for any help!
24th January 2013, 05:37 AM   |  #13  
Towle's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,858
 
3,304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Re: ***Emergency Thread*** Here To Help!
Quote:
Originally Posted by frettfreak

Wow.. great idea for a thread and THANK YOU!!

Perfect timing too cause i need a little help please.

I am not new to android but new to samsung (WOW, didnt realize it would be so different from HTC ont he rooting and flashing side of things).

Long story short. I have a tmo s3. Bought it today and wanted to root. phone was working perfectly as it shoudl on stock rom unrooted. I downloaded the tool kit v7, used that to root adn install TWRP and rebooted into the stock rom that is now rooted. Still everything working perfect.
Here is what i did next and where the issues start.

Downloaded Synergy r290, went to recovery.
Wiped Cache, Dalvik, Data, and System (made a backup first)
flashed the rom and rebooted to system

However, nothing ever happened. I see the samsung logo, then all goes black and nothing happens (left it there for 10min)

I cant seem to get back into recovery holding vol up, home and power either and have no adb access to use that. I AM able to get into download mode which i know i can fix my problem here with odin, but i am just not sure what to flash and where.

Is there an easier way??

Thanks in advance for any help!

If you absolutely can't get into recovery to restore your backup..

Flash the UVDLJA root66 file in this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1949687 via odin. You will have the latest UVDLJA JB update, and will be rooted. From there, install goo manager from the play store to flash TWRP.

After that you're all set to flash whatever you want (just make sure it's for the Tmobile s3).

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by Towle; 24th January 2013 at 05:43 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Towle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2013, 05:45 AM   |  #14  
frettfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apple Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 108
 
733 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towle

If you absolutely can't get into recovery to restore your backup..

Flash the UVDLJA root66 file in this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1949687 via odin. You will have the latest UVDLJA JB update, and will be rooted. From there, install goo manager from the play store to flash TWRP.

After that you're all set to flash whatever you want (just make sure it's for the Tmobile s3).

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

Ok, easy enough, but do i put that in the PDA field in Odin or phone?

This sounds MUCh easier than what i thought i would have to do.. thanks a ton!
24th January 2013, 05:48 AM   |  #15  
Towle's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,858
 
3,304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Re: ***Emergency Thread*** Here To Help!
Quote:
Originally Posted by frettfreak

Ok, easy enough, but do i put that in the PDA field in Odin or phone?

This sounds MUCh easier than what i thought i would have to do.. thanks a ton!

Just upload the file to PDA and hit start. Make sure to let it finish completely, once the phone reboots, it's done.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Towle For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2013, 05:56 AM   |  #16  
Dano79's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Collins, Colorado.
Thanks Meter: 151
 
1,080 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Flashing stock with Odin can take up to ten minutes its normal like the man said above just let it do its thing
The Following User Says Thank You to Dano79 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2013, 07:08 AM   |  #17  
frettfreak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Apple Valley, CA
Thanks Meter: 108
 
733 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towle

Just upload the file to PDA and hit start. Make sure to let it finish completely, once the phone reboots, it's done.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

Worked great! Thanks!!
24th January 2013, 10:04 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2113883

Let's see if you have any solution for me?
24th January 2013, 10:15 PM   |  #19  
ohshootrawr's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ewa Beach
Thanks Meter: 93
 
478 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Re: ***Emergency Thread*** Here To Help!
Weird problem. When I set kernel frequencies on my phone, they at some point get locked at the maximum frequency. This has happened every time I flash a new ROM or kernel, and I'm worried that it will soon start to affect the battery. I'm using the msmdvcs governor on both kernels that I've tried (stock and faux)
25th January 2013, 03:53 AM   |  #20  
...Awesome...'s Avatar
OP Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 7,270
 
3,206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: ***Emergency Thread*** Here To Help!
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohshootrawr

Weird problem. When I set kernel frequencies on my phone, they at some point get locked at the maximum frequency. This has happened every time I flash a new ROM or kernel, and I'm worried that it will soon start to affect the battery. I'm using the msmdvcs governor on both kernels that I've tried (stock and faux)

Do u happened to have apps that control frequency like setcpu etc? They might be conflicting each other

Sent from my HTC One S using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes