Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 50,516 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Tip us?
 
Don_Perrignon
Old
#11  
Don_Perrignon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 796
Join Date: Jan 2011
Man! I swear! Let me tell you guys something.

I got my replacement today.

I flashed a ROM, lost my IMEI (on my second phone... for those wondering, I'm use TWRP) along with GPS.

Went back to a Root77 ROM.

Restored my 4G and now all of a sudden I have GPS. I can navigate again.

On the old phone, I traveled six hours to Dallas on Sunday for two interviews Monday. You can imagine me on Sunday evening when I realized the GPS was screwed.


I'm heck of paranoid to do anything with this phone now.
Phone History

Samsung C225, Samsung T309, Nokia (¿Something?),
HTC Dash 3G, Nokia E73,
HTC MyTouch 4G, Samsung Galaxy SIII, Sony Xperia Z1s (current)


Tablet History

Nexus 7 2013 (current)
 
futty
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 337
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by elflip88 View Post
Problem is i don't have access to a laptop, I'll just wait until I do and try this.

Sent from Flip's S3
Mobile Odin should work never tried it but to root your might need a pc. Just wish there was a way to get gps back on the rom I'm on so it's easier just to keep stuff the way I have it
Devices:
Name: Samsung Galaxy 4
Rom: Wicked v8 for now

Name: Samsung Galaxy S III -wife now uses it
ROM: Hyperdrive

Name: HTC Sensation - retired
Rom: stock

Name: Kindle Fire
Rom: Stock

Name: myTouch 4G - retired
Rom: stock

Name: ASUS Nexus 7
Rom: stock 4.4

Name iPad 1st Gen
Rom: An iPad has roms? Jailbroken
 
flipq88
Old
#13  
flipq88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 606
Posts: 1,514
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by futty View Post
Mobile Odin should work never tried it but to root your might need a pc. Just wish there was a way to get gps back on the rom I'm on so it's easier just to keep stuff the way I have it
Actually mine came back on. I had flashed the Galaxymod ported rom and it started working on it. I had it for a few days then flashed back frosty and gps stopped working. Then I ended up flashing Synergy rom and again my gps started working. I ended up having to many problems with it so I flashed back to frosty only this time my gps still worked. Have been back on Frosty for a week and my gps is still working prefect.

Sent from Flip's S3
 
nvmehaterz
Old
#14  
nvmehaterz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 185
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: colorado springs

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Did the same thing, was told that if you flash the Synergy Rom it will bring back your GPS, it worked for me as well, connecting fast as ever too! It's worth a try

sent from my wicked pink sgs3
MY PINKED OUT GALAXY S3 IS BETTER THAN URS!!
The Following User Says Thank You to nvmehaterz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
vagabond1
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 66
Join Date: Jan 2008
To OP: How do the instructions differ with the new OTA rom? I want to update, but I now kind of rely on my GPS and Data working 100%.
 
kpraytor
Old
#16  
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 33
Join Date: Dec 2007
Confirmed! This process works 100%.

Not sure why it works, but who cares, right?
 
Aria807
Old
(Last edited by Aria807; 5th February 2013 at 04:44 PM.)
#17  
Aria807's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 93
Posts: 634
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas
Might be a setting in the build that custom roms screw up. I just know for some time being on custom roms, my GPS is unable to lock on. But I screwed up 4.2.1 custom rom downgrade back to 4.1.X due to 4.2's profile architecture, so I ended up completely ODIN back to stock to start over. My GPS works again now and I went back to a custom rom and it still works.

---

Side question... regarding flash counter, I been doing some searching. Is this necessary? I understand if warranty work needs to be done, Samsung will reject the device if flash count is >0, but some ppl are complaining about having an unlocked bootloader with a unlock icon during boot. I don't have that?
Nexus 5 32GB Hammerhead on T-Mobile
ROM: Cataclysm ROM 12/06
KERNEL: Faux 005-mainline - uV -25

Nexus 7 32GB Flo
ROM: PAC 8/25/2013 Nightly
KERNEL: Stock
 
Da Kine
Old
#18  
Da Kine's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,432
Posts: 2,207
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Santa Rosa, Ca

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

GPS works again woohoo!

Only problem is, triangle away didn't work for me (it said it was successful) but when in download mode my flash count is now 2? 0.o

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
Midnight_Rider
Old
#19  
Midnight_Rider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,061
Posts: 1,754
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kannapolis, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
so maybe i missed something, how do you loose GPS? are TW roms loosing GPS? ive been using AOSP roms and have no issues with GPS at all
-Jerry
Running SlimSaber ROM by FusionJack and Hopper8 on my Nexus 5

 
MrSpinch
Old
#20  
MrSpinch's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
I had the same thing- GPS ate it, started working again randomly, then ate it again, even after following the steps in this post. I got my RMA'd replacement today, and I'm not about to load anything custom on it until the warranty is long out and whatever is causing this problem is resolved.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Perrignon View Post
Man! I swear! Let me tell you guys something.

I got my replacement today.

I flashed a ROM, lost my IMEI (on my second phone... for those wondering, I'm use TWRP) along with GPS.

Went back to a Root77 ROM.

Restored my 4G and now all of a sudden I have GPS. I can navigate again.

On the old phone, I traveled six hours to Dallas on Sunday for two interviews Monday. You can imagine me on Sunday evening when I realized the GPS was screwed.


I'm heck of paranoid to do anything with this phone now.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes