FORUMS

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (June 27 – July 4)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

HTC One M9 Developer Edition Android 5.1 OTA

The Developer Edition of the HTC One M9 is receiving an over-the-air update to Android 5.1. … more

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

265 posts
Thanks Meter: 211
 
By tthaz777, Senior Member on 21st January 2013, 11:19 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
7th February 2013, 03:43 AM |#21  
flipq88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 641
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgefan67

so maybe i missed something, how do you loose GPS? are TW roms loosing GPS? ive been using AOSP roms and have no issues with GPS at all

I've gone thru both types of roms and my gps worked great. Then I had been on Frosty for a while when suddenly it just stopped working. I found out one time when I was trying to use navigation but the "searching using gps" never showed up in the notification bar and I had just used it a few days before. Tried a bunch of roms and it didn't work. Only until I flashed synergy rom did it start working again

Sent from Flip's S3
 
 
7th February 2013, 08:58 PM |#22  
Midnight_Rider's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kannapolis, NC
Thanks Meter: 1,096
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by elflip88

I've gone thru both types of roms and my gps worked great. Then I had been on Frosty for a while when suddenly it just stopped working. I found out one time when I was trying to use navigation but the "searching using gps" never showed up in the notification bar and I had just used it a few days before. Tried a bunch of roms and it didn't work. Only until I flashed synergy rom did it start working again

Sent from Flip's S3

hmmmm, well knock on wood, nothing like that has happened yet
11th February 2013, 01:37 PM |#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Following steps 1-6 in post 1 was the only way i was able to get GPS working again. I tried other T-Mobile original firmwares and none of them fixed the GPS issue. Instead of step 7, I restored my CWM backup, and it is still working.
15th February 2013, 06:17 PM |#24  
Xx_silenzer_xX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
I'm in download mode but I can't seem to find the option to install a zip .

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
15th February 2013, 10:00 PM |#25  
bikrame's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 499
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx_silenzer_xX

I'm in download mode but I can't seem to find the option to install a zip .

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

Download mode is for odin ; there is no zip install option.
15th February 2013, 11:43 PM |#26  
Xx_silenzer_xX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
So I booted into download mode do I have to place the zip in a certain directory do I plug it into a computer kuz all I get is android is downloading do not power off

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
16th February 2013, 12:27 PM |#27  
bikrame's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York City
Thanks Meter: 499
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx_silenzer_xX

So I booted into download mode do I have to place the zip in a certain directory do I plug it into a computer kuz all I get is android is downloading do not power off

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2

No open odin. Select pda. Choose base file and click start. Make sure you dont unplug unless it says passs on odin.
Make sure ur phone is connected well .
17th February 2013, 03:50 AM |#28  
Don_Perrignon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 122
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgefan67

so maybe i missed something, how do you loose GPS? are TW roms loosing GPS? ive been using AOSP roms and have no issues with GPS at all

From what I'm seeing, it's when people go from 4.2 back to 4.1 on a AOSP variation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSpinch

I had the same thing- GPS ate it, started working again randomly, then ate it again, even after following the steps in this post. I got my RMA'd replacement today, and I'm not about to load anything custom on it until the warranty is long out and whatever is causing this problem is resolved.

I've been flashing ROMs. It's just now that about a week after I got my replacement, the issue that I didn't want to deal with in 4.2 have either been solved or been smoothed over well enough. Since it seems from what I see that going from 4.2 back to 4.1 breaks it, I have since stayed on 4.2 since the issues I care about have been solved now.
17th February 2013, 08:25 PM |#29  
Senior Member
Flag Rogers
Thanks Meter: 66
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
My GPS was broken after downgrading to 4.1, this fixed it. Thanks!

Sent from my SGH-T999
19th February 2013, 04:39 PM |#30  
nickstopo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3
I've already done this twice and it's a lengthy process each time. Expect to do it every time going to a 4.1 ROM from a 4.2. Hopefully, we can get an official 4.2 soon so we can clear up file issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes