Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,355 Members 39,556 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Tip us?
 
flipq88
Old
#21  
flipq88's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 605
Posts: 1,514
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgefan67 View Post
so maybe i missed something, how do you loose GPS? are TW roms loosing GPS? ive been using AOSP roms and have no issues with GPS at all
I've gone thru both types of roms and my gps worked great. Then I had been on Frosty for a while when suddenly it just stopped working. I found out one time when I was trying to use navigation but the "searching using gps" never showed up in the notification bar and I had just used it a few days before. Tried a bunch of roms and it didn't work. Only until I flashed synergy rom did it start working again

Sent from Flip's S3
 
Midnight_Rider
Old
#22  
Midnight_Rider's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1054
Posts: 1,734
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kannapolis, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by elflip88 View Post
I've gone thru both types of roms and my gps worked great. Then I had been on Frosty for a while when suddenly it just stopped working. I found out one time when I was trying to use navigation but the "searching using gps" never showed up in the notification bar and I had just used it a few days before. Tried a bunch of roms and it didn't work. Only until I flashed synergy rom did it start working again

Sent from Flip's S3
hmmmm, well knock on wood, nothing like that has happened yet
-Jerry
Nexus 5
 
LLCoolWas
Old
#23  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2006
Following steps 1-6 in post 1 was the only way i was able to get GPS working again. I tried other T-Mobile original firmwares and none of them fixed the GPS issue. Instead of step 7, I restored my CWM backup, and it is still working.
 
Xx_silenzer_xX
Old
#24  
Xx_silenzer_xX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

I'm in download mode but I can't seem to find the option to install a zip .

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
 
bikrame
Old
#25  
bikrame's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 457
Posts: 1,833
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New York City
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx_silenzer_xX View Post
I'm in download mode but I can't seem to find the option to install a zip .

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
Download mode is for odin ; there is no zip install option.
 
Xx_silenzer_xX
Old
#26  
Xx_silenzer_xX's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 132
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

So I booted into download mode do I have to place the zip in a certain directory do I plug it into a computer kuz all I get is android is downloading do not power off

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
 
bikrame
Old
#27  
bikrame's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 457
Posts: 1,833
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New York City
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xx_silenzer_xX View Post
So I booted into download mode do I have to place the zip in a certain directory do I plug it into a computer kuz all I get is android is downloading do not power off

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk 2
No open odin. Select pda. Choose base file and click start. Make sure you dont unplug unless it says passs on odin.
Make sure ur phone is connected well .
 
Don_Perrignon
Old
#28  
Don_Perrignon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 121
Posts: 792
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodgefan67 View Post
so maybe i missed something, how do you loose GPS? are TW roms loosing GPS? ive been using AOSP roms and have no issues with GPS at all
From what I'm seeing, it's when people go from 4.2 back to 4.1 on a AOSP variation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSpinch View Post
I had the same thing- GPS ate it, started working again randomly, then ate it again, even after following the steps in this post. I got my RMA'd replacement today, and I'm not about to load anything custom on it until the warranty is long out and whatever is causing this problem is resolved.
I've been flashing ROMs. It's just now that about a week after I got my replacement, the issue that I didn't want to deal with in 4.2 have either been solved or been smoothed over well enough. Since it seems from what I see that going from 4.2 back to 4.1 breaks it, I have since stayed on 4.2 since the issues I care about have been solved now.
Phone History

Samsung C225, Samsung T309, Nokia (¿Something?),
HTC Dash 3G, Nokia E73,
HTC MyTouch 4G, Samsung Galaxy SIII, Sony Xperia Z1s (current)


Tablet History

Nexus 7 2013 (current)
 
jmerlos
Old
#29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 51
Posts: 149
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rogers
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

My GPS was broken after downgrading to 4.1, this fixed it. Thanks!

Sent from my SGH-T999
 
nickstopo
Old
#30  
nickstopo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 57
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default Re: Steps to get back GPS on your T-Mobile Galaxy S3

I've already done this twice and it's a lengthy process each time. Expect to do it every time going to a 4.1 ROM from a 4.2. Hopefully, we can get an official 4.2 soon so we can clear up file issues.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes