Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more

LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more
Post Reply

Inject root in stock updates possible

OP hansonmi

23rd January 2013, 09:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Michigan, USA
Thanks Meter: 49
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Does anyone know if it is at all possible to inject root into the updates that are available from Asus's website? Like to download the full update from Asus website, extract the system image and put the SU binary in there and repack then run the update on the tablet? I know the SU binary for ICS works with the latest OTA update so logically i would think it to be possible... especially since there are root injected stock roms available for various phones that i own (ie. SGS III).

I just would think it would be easier to inject root into the stock downloaded updates and install them instead of having to always go back to ICS and re-root and stuff if the latest OTA fails like mine did, causing me to manually update which also wiped out my SU backup that Rootkeeper made...

If it is possible to make root injected updates, any tips on how to go about doing it and where the SU binary and other files need to be located in the image?

Thanks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
23rd January 2013, 11:13 AM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
3,487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Re: Inject root in stock updates possible
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansonmi

Does anyone know if it is at all possible to inject root into the updates that are available from Asus's website?

It is possible, but you can't sign the modified package with the correct key, so you could only apply them to unlocked devices.
23rd January 2013, 02:13 PM   |  #3  
hx4700 Killer's Avatar
Senior Member
Texas
Thanks Meter: 256
 
1,218 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

It is possible, but you can't sign the modified package with the correct key, so you could only apply them to unlocked devices.

Yup, that whole signing thing is a bitch Great that it validates the Firmware you are installing... sucks for modders
21st February 2013, 06:04 PM   |  #4  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,270
 
6,967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Prompt
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

It is possible, but you can't sign the modified package with the correct key, so you could only apply them to unlocked devices.

Can you kindly elaborate ? Are you referring to Unlocked Bootloaders or Network Unlocked phones ? Either way, won't APK Multi Tool be able to Sign the file ?

What I have is a device with Locked Bootloader and no Network lock (to my knowledge). I have its Stock update.zip that I'd like to inject Root into.
21st February 2013, 06:27 PM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
3,487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Re: Inject root in stock updates possible
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Can you kindly elaborate ? Are you referring to Unlocked Bootloaders or Network Unlocked phones ? Either way, won't APK Multi Tool be able to Sign the file ?

What I have is a device with Locked Bootloader and no Network lock (to my knowledge). I have its Stock update.zip that I'd like to inject Root into.

You need an unlocked bootloader. The locked bootloader checks for the Asus digital signature - so any signing tool would help you only if you somehow obtain Asus' private key.
21st February 2013, 07:33 PM   |  #6  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,270
 
6,967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

You need an unlocked bootloader. The locked bootloader checks for the Asus digital signature - so any signing tool would help you only if you somehow obtain Asus' private key.

Ah! I see. In my Case I don't have ASUS Transformer. Rather I have Smartstick. I believe Its bootloader does not do this Check. So I should be ok inserting su binary into /system/bin with correct compression.

Question though, other than Inserting SU Binary and SuperSU in /System/app, is there anything else I need to be doing in order to Root my Stock Rom ?
21st February 2013, 07:48 PM   |  #7  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
3,487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Ah! I see. In my Case I don't have ASUS Transformer.

This is the TF700 forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

So I should be ok inserting su binary into /system/bin with correct compression.

Question though, other than Inserting SU Binary and SuperSU in /System/app, is there anything else I need to be doing in order to Root my Stock Rom ?

If your device supports flashing of unsigned ROM images, then that's it - you only need the su binary with the correct permissions (with the SUID bit set) and SuperSU - in whatever format your device accepts ROM images. But that's off topic here.
21st February 2013, 08:10 PM   |  #8  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,270
 
6,967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Prompt
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

This is the TF700 forum.

Yes I know. My device is Orphan! There's no forum for it....


Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

If your device supports flashing of unsigned ROM images, then that's it - you only need the su binary with the correct permissions (with the SUID bit set) and SuperSU - in whatever format your device accepts ROM images. But that's off topic here.

What is
"SUID Bit Set"
Please ?
21st February 2013, 08:19 PM   |  #9  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,471
 
3,487 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

Yes I know. My device is Orphan! There's no forum for it....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=2070

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perseus71

What is
"SUID Bit Set"
Please ?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=suid+bit
21st February 2013, 08:28 PM   |  #10  
Perseus71's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Atlantis
Thanks Meter: 4,270
 
6,967 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Prompt
Thanks for pointing that out. Although I knew about it, IMHO its a Zoo of Noob Central.
I am trying to Build a ROM on my own for a device launched in November Last Year. So my question on that forum will most likely not get Developer's attention.

Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=suid+bit

Yeah I guess I deserved that. My apologies.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Transformer TF700 General by ThreadRank