Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

OP mathrania

23rd January 2013, 04:53 PM   |  #1  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
I updated my HOX to ViperX JB with hBoot 1.31.
But now, it connects to WiFi router but the internet doesnt work. It works sometimes, else the internet is not working. I tried on another router at a different place, but it is not working. Also i updated hBoot to official 1.39 also, but the problem persists. Restarting the router several times and clean install of the rom didnt help. The boot.img is also from the same rom and all else works fine . What could be the problem? please someone guide me.
After a few posts down, there is another person with same issue.....
Last edited by mathrania; 28th January 2013 at 11:02 AM.
23rd January 2013, 11:16 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,884
 
14,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Did you confirm the question about the kernel in the aroma installer with

NO
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2013, 05:04 AM   |  #3  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Yes.... I selected NO....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
24th January 2013, 06:53 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,884
 
14,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Try to set the router in different WiFi stages, like only use WiFi type A, or B, or G.
25th January 2013, 02:00 PM   |  #5  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Tried resetting wifi router.... Also tried a 3 rd hotspot via IPHONE, but there is no data transfer..... Please help here....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
25th January 2013, 03:32 PM   |  #6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 4
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
try another rom and look at this https://www.google.com.eg/url?sa=t&r...41524429,d.Yms
and if your phone's signal is weak even beside the router you have the problem in the link above
The Following User Says Thank You to elmaghraby For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2013, 03:49 PM   |  #7  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaghraby

try another rom and look at this https://www.google.com.eg/url?sa=t&r...41524429,d.Yms
and if your phone's signal is weak even beside the router you have the problem in the link above

But i get very good wifi signals... Only thing is that the internet doesn't work.... There is no data transfer with Wifi connection......

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
27th January 2013, 05:44 AM   |  #8  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Well... Flashed the new viperX release... The wifi just worked for a minute and then stopped working... Is it a hardware failure?

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
27th January 2013, 10:11 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 8
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
i have had similar issues since moving to official JB and HTC aren't that helpful, just say must factory reset the device and see what happens - have now installed viper 3.3.1 and get the same problem - never had the problem when i was on ics - get full signal - and using wifi analyser also shows full - tried on 2.4ghz and 5ghz - it just wants to stop transferring data - if i disable wifi and reset it then it works fine for a while before no data transfer again

i've even re-configured one of my access points with a different name and set the phone to auto-switch to strongest signal, but that don't work either
Last edited by walkerx; 27th January 2013 at 10:14 PM.
28th January 2013, 07:52 AM   |  #10  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerx

i have had similar issues since moving to official JB and HTC aren't that helpful, just say must factory reset the device and see what happens - have now installed viper 3.3.1 and get the same problem - never had the problem when i was on ics - get full signal - and using wifi analyser also shows full - tried on 2.4ghz and 5ghz - it just wants to stop transferring data - if i disable wifi and reset it then it works fine for a while before no data transfer again

i've even re-configured one of my access points with a different name and set the phone to auto-switch to strongest signal, but that don't work either

Almost tried everything which you did... Signal bars are full... But after a while.. Like a min or so, data transfer stops.... After i disconnect and reconnect wifi, it works.. Just for a while...
Any solution...

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes