FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

[Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

2,065 posts
Thanks Meter: 604
 
By mathrania, Senior Member on 23rd January 2013, 03:53 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I updated my HOX to ViperX JB with hBoot 1.31.
But now, it connects to WiFi router but the internet doesnt work. It works sometimes, else the internet is not working. I tried on another router at a different place, but it is not working. Also i updated hBoot to official 1.39 also, but the problem persists. Restarting the router several times and clean install of the rom didnt help. The boot.img is also from the same rom and all else works fine . What could be the problem? please someone guide me.
After a few posts down, there is another person with same issue.....
Last edited by mathrania; 28th January 2013 at 10:02 AM.
 
 
23rd January 2013, 10:16 PM |#2  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 10,503
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Did you confirm the question about the kernel in the aroma installer with

NO
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th January 2013, 04:04 AM |#3  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 604
 
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Yes.... I selected NO....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
24th January 2013, 05:53 AM |#4  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 10,503
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Try to set the router in different WiFi stages, like only use WiFi type A, or B, or G.
25th January 2013, 01:00 PM |#5  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 604
 
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Tried resetting wifi router.... Also tried a 3 rd hotspot via IPHONE, but there is no data transfer..... Please help here....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
25th January 2013, 02:32 PM |#6  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
try another rom and look at this https://www.google.com.eg/url?sa=t&r...41524429,d.Yms
and if your phone's signal is weak even beside the router you have the problem in the link above
The Following User Says Thank You to elmaghraby For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th January 2013, 02:49 PM |#7  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 604
 
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by elmaghraby

try another rom and look at this https://www.google.com.eg/url?sa=t&r...41524429,d.Yms
and if your phone's signal is weak even beside the router you have the problem in the link above

But i get very good wifi signals... Only thing is that the internet doesn't work.... There is no data transfer with Wifi connection......

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
27th January 2013, 04:44 AM |#8  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 604
 
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Well... Flashed the new viperX release... The wifi just worked for a minute and then stopped working... Is it a hardware failure?

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
27th January 2013, 09:11 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
i have had similar issues since moving to official JB and HTC aren't that helpful, just say must factory reset the device and see what happens - have now installed viper 3.3.1 and get the same problem - never had the problem when i was on ics - get full signal - and using wifi analyser also shows full - tried on 2.4ghz and 5ghz - it just wants to stop transferring data - if i disable wifi and reset it then it works fine for a while before no data transfer again

i've even re-configured one of my access points with a different name and set the phone to auto-switch to strongest signal, but that don't work either
Last edited by walkerx; 27th January 2013 at 09:14 PM.
28th January 2013, 06:52 AM |#10  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 604
 
More
Re: Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerx

i have had similar issues since moving to official JB and HTC aren't that helpful, just say must factory reset the device and see what happens - have now installed viper 3.3.1 and get the same problem - never had the problem when i was on ics - get full signal - and using wifi analyser also shows full - tried on 2.4ghz and 5ghz - it just wants to stop transferring data - if i disable wifi and reset it then it works fine for a while before no data transfer again

i've even re-configured one of my access points with a different name and set the phone to auto-switch to strongest signal, but that don't work either

Almost tried everything which you did... Signal bars are full... But after a while.. Like a min or so, data transfer stops.... After i disconnect and reconnect wifi, it works.. Just for a while...
Any solution...

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes