Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

OP mathrania

28th January 2013, 01:55 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 8
 
257 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
i'm still in discussion with HTC on this - i purchased my phone in May 2012 and it wasn't until late June that HTC acknowledged the problem
28th January 2013, 03:01 PM   |  #12  
maxilick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 128
 
458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Some routers will give you a bit of **** when trying to connect to them, had a similar issue when trying to connect to my Belkin N at home and fixed by:

1.Open command prompt on your notebook that is connected to your wireless network and type "ipconfig/all"
2.Make a note of your Default Gateway ie 192.xxx,.x.x
3. On your HOX whilst connected to your wireless network go into settings press on wifi.
3.Long press on your wireless network name.
4.select modify network and select "show advanced options"
5.Make sure "none" is selected in proxy settings.
6.Make sure "static" is selected in ip settings.
7.The default gateway you noted should be entered into IP address on your phone however change the last number so if the last number is 2 change it to a 3 to keep in your routers address range.(Make sure it isnt the same as DNS 2 on your phone)
7.Enter the Default Gateway you noted in gateway on your phone as is.
8.Set network prefix length to 24.
9.In DNS 1 on your phone enter the Default Gateway address you noted as is.
10.In DNS 2 on your phone enter the Default gateway settings you noted however the last number should be changed to the following number so if the number is a 2 change to a 3.
Last edited by maxilick; 28th January 2013 at 03:05 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to maxilick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 03:17 PM   |  #13  
pappas99's Avatar
Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 8
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
I am having the exact same issue, was having it with ICS too! However i think its router dependant because here in my apartment in finland i get the issue, but back home on my router at home it doesn't happen at all! Its definately not a hardware problem it has something to do with software or configuration. Is there an official bug identified by HTC that we can track or something? Its so annoying having to disable wifi cause you know if you leave it enabled you won't get whatsapp notifications after a while

oh also for the record the same router that my OneX stops sending/receiving data from has no issues with my older desire HD, wifi works on it perfectly
The Following User Says Thank You to pappas99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 04:13 PM   |  #14  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 663
 
2,015 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
@mathrania, Thank you for opening the thread. i have the same problem of yours and we live in the same city!

@all
I have the same exact problem of the OP's.

WiFi has perfect signal, Perfectly connected but data transfer just does not happen. I need to turn WiFi Off and then ON to get the connection working and then in a minute the problem comes back!

I am running stock JB 4.1.1 and my phone's mother board has been recently changed last week by HTC.

Adding to this JB 4.1.1 does not connect to Enterprise networks which is a well known issue in android 4.1.1 which makes me unable to connect my phone in office... so it's like completely un usable wifi.

---------- Post added at 06:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:52 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pappas99

I am having the exact same issue, was having it with ICS too! However i think its router dependant because here in my apartment in finland i get the issue, but back home on my router at home it doesn't happen at all! Its definately not a hardware problem it has something to do with software or configuration. Is there an official bug identified by HTC that we can track or something? Its so annoying having to disable wifi cause you know if you leave it enabled you won't get whatsapp notifications after a while

oh also for the record the same router that my OneX stops sending/receiving data from has no issues with my older desire HD, wifi works on it perfectly

I may not completely agree that it is a router issue because i have my nexus 7 which in-fact helped me to identify that my phone suffers a problem.

Even my Sony Xperia Arc works fine..

---------- Post added at 07:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:55 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by pappas99

I am having the exact same issue, was having it with ICS too! However i think its router dependant because here in my apartment in finland i get the issue, but back home on my router at home it doesn't happen at all! Its definately not a hardware problem it has something to do with software or configuration. Is there an official bug identified by HTC that we can track or something? Its so annoying having to disable wifi cause you know if you leave it enabled you won't get whatsapp notifications after a while

oh also for the record the same router that my OneX stops sending/receiving data from has no issues with my older desire HD, wifi works on it perfectly

Yes it definitely is annoying, i too had the same issue with ICS ... but i took it so seriously, it was my nexus 7 which made me realize that i have a problem.. the notifications were there on the N7 and the HOX slept nicely without anything :-/

The service center before replacing my motherboard claimed that it works fine. i would not agree and sent it back, i had an unlocked bootloader and they took special approval to change the motherboard and still the same problem!

---------- Post added at 07:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxilick

Some routers will give you a bit of **** when trying to connect to them, had a similar issue when trying to connect to my Belkin N at home and fixed by:

1.Open command prompt on your notebook that is connected to your wireless network and type "ipconfig/all"
2.Make a note of your Default Gateway ie 192.xxx,.x.x
3. On your HOX whilst connected to your wireless network go into settings press on wifi.
3.Long press on your wireless network name.
4.select modify network and select "show advanced options"
5.Make sure "none" is selected in proxy settings.
6.Make sure "static" is selected in ip settings.
7.The default gateway you noted should be entered into IP address on your phone however change the last number so if the last number is 2 change it to a 3 to keep in your routers address range.(Make sure it isnt the same as DNS 2 on your phone)
7.Enter the Default Gateway you noted in gateway on your phone as is.
8.Set network prefix length to 24.
9.In DNS 1 on your phone enter the Default Gateway address you noted as is.
10.In DNS 2 on your phone enter the Default gateway settings you noted however the last number should be changed to the following number so if the number is a 2 change to a 3.

Thanks for the advise.. i would definitely love to have a solution for the issue. If i remember correctly i had the problem even on my office network.. in other words, was just wondering if you had the problem in all networks ?

Again to make the issue more clear, the WiFi gets connected, however the data transfer dies in sometime, at the same point of time the signals are clear and strong.

i can be 100% sure that this issue is not the same as the famous manufacturing issue with HTC one X as i got my motherboard replaced last week for the same problem and still face the issue.
28th January 2013, 05:16 PM   |  #15  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: [Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxilick

Some routers will give you a bit of **** when trying to connect to them, had a similar issue when trying to connect to my Belkin N at home and fixed by:

1.Open command prompt on your notebook that is connected to your wireless network and type "ipconfig/all"
2.Make a note of your Default Gateway ie 192.xxx,.x.x
3. On your HOX whilst connected to your wireless network go into settings press on wifi.
3.Long press on your wireless network name.
4.select modify network and select "show advanced options"
5.Make sure "none" is selected in proxy settings.
6.Make sure "static" is selected in ip settings.
7.The default gateway you noted should be entered into IP address on your phone however change the last number so if the last number is 2 change it to a 3 to keep in your routers address range.(Make sure it isnt the same as DNS 2 on your phone)
7.Enter the Default Gateway you noted in gateway on your phone as is.
8.Set network prefix length to 24.
9.In DNS 1 on your phone enter the Default Gateway address you noted as is.
10.In DNS 2 on your phone enter the Default gateway settings you noted however the last number should be changed to the following number so if the number is a 2 change to a 3.

Thanks for advice... But i dont have a problem with connecting to wifi.... The problem is that data transfer stops after a while and its only after JB update......

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
28th January 2013, 05:18 PM   |  #16  
mathrania's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dubai / Surat
Thanks Meter: 592
 
2,033 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Re: [Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pradeepvizz

@mathrania, Thank you for opening the thread. i have the same problem of yours and we live in the same city!
Again to make the issue more clear, the WiFi gets connected, however the data transfer dies in sometime, at the same point of time the signals are clear and strong.

i can be 100% sure that this issue is not the same as the famous manufacturing issue with HTC one X as i got my motherboard replaced last week for the same problem and still face the issue.

I have same problem.... Are you sure its not hardware related... For me it happens with all wifi connections.....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium
28th January 2013, 06:42 PM   |  #17  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 663
 
2,015 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathrania

I have same problem.... Are you sure its not hardware related... For me it happens with all wifi connections.....

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

I am not saying that this is not a hardware issue, i am saying that this is not the same issue as http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1688538 .. i think you would have already read the other thread.

For me also it happens in all connections.

---------- Post added at 09:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:14 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathrania

Thanks for advice... But i dont have a problem with connecting to wifi.... The problem is that data transfer stops after a while and its only after JB update......

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium

i should say that this problem has become more evident after the Jelly bean update. I think back and recollect that this problem was there in ICS but in Jelly bean it is noticeable very easily.
28th January 2013, 07:48 PM   |  #18  
bigoliver's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bridlington
Thanks Meter: 616
 
850 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Re: [Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?
I believe your right that you have a different issue to the infamous grip of life wifi issue.
If you did suffer the grip of life problem you would struggle getting a connection with your/any router, (unless you squeezed your phone) you don't struggle connecting to the router so don't do the "squeeze test" or it could damage the phone further.

I'm no expert with your issue, but if it happens on stock rom then it could be hardware related, but you already know this.

Best of luck and sorry I can't help further.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk 2
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bigoliver For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th January 2013, 07:51 PM   |  #19  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 663
 
2,015 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigoliver

I believe your right that you have a different issue to the infamous grip of life wifi issue.
If you did suffer the grip of life problem you would struggle getting a connection with your/any router, (unless you squeezed your phone) you don't struggle connecting to the router so don't do the "squeeze test" or it could damage the phone further.

I'm no expert with your issue, but if it happens on stock rom then it could be hardware related, but you already know this.

Best of luck and sorry I can't help further.

Sent from my phone using Tapatalk 2

Thanks, no problems.. i am going to record a video to get the problem across to HTC and our forums for help
28th January 2013, 08:03 PM   |  #20  
pappas99's Avatar
Member
Flag Adelaide
Thanks Meter: 8
 
61 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
pretty sure its not hardware related because it doesn't happen on all routers/networks. If you've only tested it on one or two then try on a couple others and see. for me it only occurs on one or two out of about a dozen wifi networks

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes