Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,206 Members 43,703 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

Tip us?
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#21  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappas99 View Post
pretty sure its not hardware related because it doesn't happen on all routers/networks. If you've only tested it on one or two then try on a couple others and see. for me it only occurs on one or two out of about a dozen wifi networks
My colleagues have the same One X, they never reported anything and not even in office, while for me it does not work :/

I would say that this issue might not be easily noticeable to a common user ( at least before the JB update). As said by the OP, it is very much noticeable after the JB update.
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750
 
bigoliver
Old
#22  
bigoliver's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 613
Posts: 849
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bridlington
Default Re: [Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

Been thinking about this problem.

Could this be firewall related? Stopping the info getting through? Either the routers firewall or one installed on your phone?


Sent from my phone using Tapatalk 2
Past and present phones: Motorola Razr 3 - LG Viewty (U990) - Nokia e71 - HTC Desire - HTC One X - Samsung Galaxy S3 -
The Following User Says Thank You to bigoliver For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#23  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigoliver View Post
Been thinking about this problem.

Could this be firewall related? Stopping the info getting through? Either the routers firewall or one installed on your phone?


Sent from my phone using Tapatalk 2
Nothing on my phone at-least, i have almost all the apps disabled now for testing!!!

i am uploading my video, will post it here and going to send it to HTC service center to have a look and suggest !
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750
 
pappas99
Old
#24  
pappas99's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Adelaide

 
DONATE TO ME
cheers, please keep this thread updated with anything from HTC
The Following User Says Thank You to pappas99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
walkerx
Old
#25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 256
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
I reverted back to stock earlier and performed full wipe and then factory reset and wiped the whole sdcard. So far I've been connected to internet for 90 minutes when previously it would be a few minutes. Will see if still connected when get up in morning
 
boe323
Old
(Last edited by boe323; 28th January 2013 at 10:43 PM.)
#26  
boe323's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 816
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerx View Post
I reverted back to stock earlier and performed full wipe and then factory reset and wiped the whole sdcard. So far I've been connected to internet for 90 minutes when previously it would be a few minutes. Will see if still connected when get up in morning
try stock Jb 4.2.1 fom pabx, works at treat.You know, I have the same issue but on carrier band 3g/H lol, I think that's related to my network booster though, nothing to do with pabx rom,as it happened on factory software.
A whole lot of nothing works properly.
 
walkerx
Old
#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 256
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by boe323 View Post
try stock Jb 4.2.1 fom pabx, works at treat.You know, I have the same issue but on carrier band 3g/H lol, I think that's related to my network booster though, nothing to do with pabx rom,as it happened on factory software.
Issue with WiFi not 3g - and if need to send back then must be stock
 
boe323
Old
#28  
boe323's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 816
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by walkerx View Post
Issue with WiFi not 3g - and if need to send back then must be stock
I know, I was just saying.
A whole lot of nothing works properly.
 
maxilick
Old
(Last edited by maxilick; 29th January 2013 at 02:24 AM.)
#29  
maxilick's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 386
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: [Expert advice needed] [HELP Reqd] Wifi connecting but not working...why?

I set up my friends HOX last night to connect to my wifi same issue it connects allows a little data then disconnects, entered settings in my previous post and all was fine. This problem is not specific to HTC, JB or ICS I have encountered this on previous android builds as well and had to manually configure the phones wifi to connect. In almost all cases it's software not hardware related.

Sent from...... The Milky Way
 
pradeepvizz
Old
#30  
pradeepvizz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 615
Posts: 1,902
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dubai

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxilick View Post
I set up my friends HOX last night to connect to my wifi same issue it connects allows a little data then disconnects, entered settings in my previous post and all was fine. This problem is not specific to HTC, JB or ICS I have encountered this on previous android builds as well and had to manually configure the phones wifi to connect. In almost all cases it's software not hardware related.

Sent from...... The Milky Way
Just to make sure, are you telling that the WiFi disconnects? For me and OP here, our WiFi does not get disconnected at all. The device connects to WiFi and shows the WiFi Signal always (its connected in other words), but there is no data transfer stops randomly after sometime.

A new finding that i have is that if i leave it just like that, it connects back in sometime.
HTC One MAX ||| HTC ONE > HOX+ > Nexus 7 > HOX > Xperia Arc > Xperia X10 Mini > K810 > K550 > K750

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes