5,598,718 Members 37,896 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

Tip us?
 
RunsWithWood
Old
(Last edited by RunsWithWood; 27th January 2013 at 10:57 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shawnee
Default T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

Was just heading to oak park mall and noticed I have 4G LTE. I figured it was a fluke but here's my speed test results.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1359233162699.jpg
Views:	1560
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	1678952   Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1359233198522.jpg
Views:	1288
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	1678953  
 
charlieb620
Old
#2  
charlieb620's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1904
Posts: 13,189
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

You mofo

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
DEV M8
 
nelsonator1982
Old
#3  
nelsonator1982's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 398
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: 48122
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

We will get LTE with tmobile on the i717.........i thought att and tmobile used diffrent lte bands???

Sent from my SGH-T879 using Tapatalk 2
Galaxy Note 3 (spr)
HTC One Max (spr)
NEXUS 5
HTC One (tmo)
LG Optimus G Pro (att)
Nexus 4
Galaxy Note (att)
HTC Sensation
Galaxy S 2 (tmo)
LG G2X
HTC Mytouch 4G
Triumph
Galaxy s 4g (tmo)
Galaxy s 4g (sprint)
G2
Galaxy vibrant
 
RunsWithWood
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shawnee
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

Yeah I'm using stock ROM rooted with stock modem. I'm pretty sure T-Mobile is using 1900mhz for LTE and ATT uses 1700. Really digging the late though. Download and upload isn't a big concern but the ping has dropped to about half of what it was. Very happy with T-Mobile. I think the lte will spread quickly like their 4G did.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
 
icemasta31
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 229
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunsWithWood View Post
Yeah I'm using stock ROM rooted with stock modem. I'm pretty sure T-Mobile is using 1900mhz for LTE and ATT uses 1700. Really digging the late though. Download and upload isn't a big concern but the ping has dropped to about half of what it was. Very happy with T-Mobile. I think the lte will spread quickly like their 4G did.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
T-Mobile doesn't use 1900Mhz for LTE, only AWS 1700Mhz.

Regardless the i717 doesn't support LTE over 1900Mhz.
 
milan03
Old
#6  
milan03's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York City
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunsWithWood View Post
Yeah I'm using stock ROM rooted with stock modem. I'm pretty sure T-Mobile is using 1900mhz for LTE and ATT uses 1700. Really digging the late though. Download and upload isn't a big concern but the ping has dropped to about half of what it was. Very happy with T-Mobile. I think the lte will spread quickly like their 4G did.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Oh wow this is awesome!!!! Could you please get into your ServiceMode (dial *#0011#) and take a screenshot of your ServiceMode?
Did you change any of your APN settings in order to access LTE or you're running default epc.tmobile.com ?

Thanks!
Verizon Wireless 20Mhz FDD LTE
The Following User Says Thank You to milan03 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
RunsWithWood
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shawnee
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

I'll post a picture of it in service mode around 5pm. I'm at work right now and LTE isnt coming through the building very well. Also to answer your APN question I am indeed running the stock epc.tmobile.com. also thanks for clearing up the frequency bands ok both networks I wasn't quite sure.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
 
RunsWithWood
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 52
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Shawnee
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

Here's another screenshot of the speedtest.net result saying it was LTE

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1359320918520.jpg
Views:	1229
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	1681851  
The Following User Says Thank You to RunsWithWood For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
deron37129
Old
#9  
deron37129's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 230
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

since last year tmobile has been switching there infrastructure to accomadate the bandwidth needed to support unlocked iphone on 3g nd hspa+

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda app-developers app
i am a power ranger really i am
 
milan03
Old
#10  
milan03's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 256
Posts: 1,239
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York City
Default Re: T-Mobile LTE already in Kansas City!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunsWithWood View Post
I'll post a picture of it in service mode around 5pm. I'm at work right now and LTE isnt coming through the building very well. Also to answer your APN question I am indeed running the stock epc.tmobile.com. also thanks for clearing up the frequency bands ok both networks I wasn't quite sure.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
Thanks for clearing up about APN settings. This tells us that T-Mobile is near ready the commercial launch. Waiting for the service mode screen.

Thanks agsin!

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
Verizon Wireless 20Mhz FDD LTE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes