Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,781,609 Members 42,323 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

surface and user agent to view webiste as "normal" and not mobile.

Tip us?
 
doudoufr
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: paris
Question surface and user agent to view webiste as "normal" and not mobile.

Hi

i've got a question for you :

on any android device, when you want to view a website in "desktop mode", all you have to do, is to change the "user agent" and, et voila, it works. All website are now in "desktop mode".

I would like to do the same on my surface, but, permanently ! I don't want to, everytime, go to "f12" menu and change the user agent to chrome or firefox.

On other forums, peoples told me : "oh you cant, it is a server side problems, all website are not "well coded". and blablabla...."

but i know it's wrong, because i do it, time to time, with the "f12" option. and i know it is possible on android device. (so the problem comes from the surface, which identificate itself as a mobile or "arm" device...)

so my question is : how do I do to change the user agent on the surface, and permanently. i know i have to deal with the "gpedit.msc" and change it here....but for some websites, it is still recognise as a tablet device and then, a mobile website. Which user agent I must use ? (when i do it from time to time with the "f12" option, I use the "chrome or firefox" string, and it works well).

ps : sorry for my english, not my mother tongue.
 
GoodDayToDie
Old
#2  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2,690
Posts: 5,662
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
I've used Surface RT for months without ever being redirected to a mobile website... not sure what's up with your experience. A few sites have recognized the RT/ARM portion, but the page was not notably different; certainly it looked nothing like what I get on my phone's Mobile mode.

You can use Compatibility mode to send the IE7 user-agent string to a given site. Hardly a perfect fix, especially if the site would like to use HTML5, but I don't know a better option.
Win8/Windows RT projects:
List of desktop apps for hacked RT devices

WP8 projects:
Native Access WebServer and Libraries
WP8 Interop Unlocks
Storage Cleanup tool

WP7 projects:
XapHandler, Root Webserver, OEM Marketplace XAPs, Bookmarklets collection (Find On Page), Interop-unlock hacks.


Do not private message me with questions that should have been posted on the forum! Not only are you wasting your time - I'm not going to bother writing an answer to such a question for only one person - but I will probably block you from PMing me in the future as well.
 
doudoufr
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 26
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodDayToDie View Post
I've used Surface RT for months without ever being redirected to a mobile website... not sure what's up with your experience. A few sites have recognized the RT/ARM portion, but the page was not notably different; certainly it looked nothing like what I get on my phone's Mobile mode.

You can use Compatibility mode to send the IE7 user-agent string to a given site. Hardly a perfect fix, especially if the site would like to use HTML5, but I don't know a better option.
hi
thks for your answer

What i don't understand, is that we can manually change the user agent (and then view the website in a "normal mode") by pressing f12, and choose another browser, and it works perfectly. All websites are in 'desktop mode". So why can't we do that automatically? i don't want to do that each time i visit a website. I want it done once for all !

The surface identificate itself to a RT/arm device and that's why websites redirect automatically to a mobile version.
Is there anyway to remove this identification, and make sure the surface is always recognize as a "desktop" computer ?
 
GoodDayToDie
Old
#4  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 2,690
Posts: 5,662
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Seattle
There used to be a registry hack that would override the default user-agent string, though I don't know if it still works with IE10. Browser plugins can do it, but those aren't going to be available on RT.

As for what string to change it to, I'd suggest just the default UA string for Win8/IE10 on x86 or x64. You can find this using sites like useragentstring.com. For the record, mine is
Code:
Mozilla/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 10.0; Windows NT 6.2; WOW64; Trident/6.0)
and if you drop the "WOW64; " part, it's identical to the x86 one.
Win8/Windows RT projects:
List of desktop apps for hacked RT devices

WP8 projects:
Native Access WebServer and Libraries
WP8 Interop Unlocks
Storage Cleanup tool

WP7 projects:
XapHandler, Root Webserver, OEM Marketplace XAPs, Bookmarklets collection (Find On Page), Interop-unlock hacks.


Do not private message me with questions that should have been posted on the forum! Not only are you wasting your time - I'm not going to bother writing an answer to such a question for only one person - but I will probably block you from PMing me in the future as well.
 
chaves
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 91
Join Date: Mar 2006
Same here...

It would be great a solution for IE reconize always as "Desktop mode" without need F12 changing procedure.

I use www.bet365.com and itīs always reconigzed as mobile
Ricardo Chaves
www.pocketpt.net
ricardochaves.pocketpt.net


Mobile Devices:

LEO
HTC Snap
Omnia II

-------------
History:

Xperia X1
Ndrive S400
Blackstone
iPaq 914c
Athena
Samsung i780
Niki
Gene
Excalibur
Universal
Prophet
Magician
Blueangel
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes