5,606,201 Members 33,677 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Windows Phone 7.8 released, but Zune no reporting update. Here's how to trick Zune!

Tip us?
 
Zhariak
Old
(Last edited by Zhariak; 30th January 2013 at 07:04 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 290
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Default Windows Phone 7.8 released, but Zune no reporting update. Here's how to trick Zune!

Plugged in, Rogers on Lumia 900 here. Wouldn't detect update... Tried a bunch of times, no luck.

Then tried the old "disconnect trick" with Zune, ITS WORKING!!!! Already done 2 updates, hopefully 3rd is 7.8.

First Update (to):
7.10.8779.8

Second Update (to):
7.10.8783.12

Third Update (to):
7.10.8858.136

Instructions here: http://www.stephenwagner.com/?p=660 and will be posting details as I progress!
The Following User Says Thank You to Zhariak For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Zhariak
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 290
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
First impressions...

Nokia changed the touch screen acceleration... FML!!! They fixed this a while ago, why did they revert? UGH
 
nice pants
Old
(Last edited by nice pants; 30th January 2013 at 08:36 PM.) Reason: Update
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 20
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bay Area, CA
I can confirm this works for AT&T Lumia 900's as well (or at least is in the process of working).

Update: Alright, I could only get it to install the first update... I'll keep trying.

Update 2: I was able to get the second update (which looks like 7.8 to me) to begin installing, by cycling the wireless off and on in 5-10 second intervals.

Version now shows 7.10.8858.136
 
rogelioc93
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: Apr 2012
Didn't work for me...
 
Zhariak
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 290
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogelioc93 View Post
Didn't work for me...
You have to keep trying! It takes the perfect timing for it to work.
 
3ftw
Old
#6  
3ftw's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 94
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Thessaloniki
forget the tutorial try this
disconnect pc from internet
open wifi on phone
try update and fter 5secs enable airplane mode
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 3ftw For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
white90box
Old
(Last edited by white90box; 31st January 2013 at 12:16 AM.)
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ftw View Post
forget the tutorial try this
disconnect pc from internet
open wifi on phone
try update and fter 5secs enable airplane mode
This worked for me. I was about to give up. I was having trouble timing it. Might have to do with connection speed. I turned on airplane mode right before hitting update. Thank you!

So, after my first update I am at 7.10.8783.12

updating to 7.10.8858.136 now!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to white90box For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
helio2k
Old
#8  
helio2k's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 58
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
So now my L900 have transformed to a new refreshed look.
*** Devices ***
Google Nexus 4 with Nexus 5 Experience - CM11 Based ROM
Samsung Galaxy SII LTE - CM 11
Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 Stock Rogers ROM.
Google Nexus 7 HSPA+ Rooted Stock
 
Laquox
Old
#9  
Laquox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 235
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3ftw View Post
forget the tutorial try this
disconnect pc from internet
open wifi on phone
try update and fter 5secs enable airplane mode
Quote:
Originally Posted by white90box View Post
This worked for me. I was about to give up. I was having trouble timing it. Might have to do with connection speed. I turned on airplane mode right before hitting update. Thank you!

So, after my first update I am at 7.10.8783.12

updating to 7.10.8858.136 now!
I have had to use the disconnect trick since nodo and it's always annoyed me because the timing is so messed up. I don't know if it was by coincidence or what but you two made it work on the first try.

Current Devices:
Nokia Lumia 920 Red
Kindle Fire:CM11/SGT7/KITKAT


Thanks to egzthunder1 for letting me borrow the animated sig.
 
filipinowise
Old
#10  
filipinowise's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 110
Join Date: Dec 2007
dont work!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes