FORUMS

HTC Delivering Ads Straight to Sense Home

HTC’s 2015 has been a year marked by a desperate search for revenue.The HTC One M9 … more

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

[ROM-AOSP] Unofficial CM10.1 (JB 4.2.2) [08/12 ICON DRAG FIX]

3,317 posts
Thanks Meter: 23,531
 
By Hashcode, Senior Recognized Developer on 1st February 2013, 10:24 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
1st February 2013, 05:26 PM |#11  
vaggolena's Avatar
Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hashcode

You can definitely do the install w/o a fastboot cable, but you do need to have a working fastboot driver on your machine. The KFHD's stock bootloader will check for fastboot commands for a short period of time during the boot.

There are other methods as well to get the partitions setup for this, however, in the case of disaster having a working fastboot setup will be required to restore.

Hashcode,

Does a factory/fastboot cable work on the 8.9? Some say to buy it, and others say that it only works for the Kindle fire 2 and 7" and that there is no need for it. If it is needed, is there a specific cable that you recommend? Thanks
 
 
1st February 2013, 05:32 PM |#12  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,531
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaggolena

Hashcode,

Does a factory/fastboot cable work on the 8.9? Some say to buy it, and others say that it only works for the Kindle fire 2 and 7" and that there is no need for it. If it is needed, is there a specific cable that you recommend? Thanks

I do all my work without a fastboot cable but I have my fastboot driver configured correctly so that the KFHD8 is recognized as a fastboot device during the bootup.

So, while I have tested fastboot on almost every other device that I own, I've never needed to use it on the KFHD8.

EDIT: I just did a quick functional test and my Motorola OEM factory cable did *NOT* place me in fastboot mode. So I think getting a fastboot cable may be a waste of time for the HD 8.9. Rather that users download the Android SDK and make sure it's setup correctly for fastboot. Updating my OP's.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st February 2013, 05:34 PM |#13  
vaggolena's Avatar
Member
NYC
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hashcode

I do all my work without a fastboot cable but I have my fastboot driver configured correctly so that the KFHD8 is recognized as a fastboot device during the bootup.

So, while I have tested fastboot on almost every other device that I own, I've never needed to use it on the KFHD8.

EDIT: I just did a quick functional test and my Motorola OEM factory cable did *NOT* place me in fastboot mode. So I think getting a fastboot cable may be a waste of time for the HD 8.9. Rather that users download the Android SDK and make sure it's setup correctly for fastboot. Updating my OP's.

Thank you!!
1st February 2013, 09:56 PM |#14  
JuannTwo3's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Hashcode, I'm getting a black screen after installing the rom + gapps. Any help?
1st February 2013, 11:16 PM |#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
same here... wiped, factory reset, then installed cm10.1, then wiped and factory reset, then gapps. After blue Kindle screen just a black screen, nothing happens. installed again, cm10.1, then gapps, no wipe/reset. black screen. Got an Fire 8.9 32GB.
2nd February 2013, 04:40 AM |#16  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,531
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [ROM-AOSP] Unofficial CM10.1 (JB 4.2.1) [02/01 ALPHA]
are both of you using 32gb devices?

has anyone had a successfully installed this?

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2013, 07:30 AM |#17  
Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Just tried your build on my 16GB wifi model but got a black screen on boot (right after the blue KF logo). Happens no matter gapps installed and wiped or not.

I have a recently synced copy of your git repo and I could build myself and run the rom properly though.
Last edited by siruba; 2nd February 2013 at 07:45 AM.
2nd February 2013, 08:21 AM |#18  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,531
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [ROM-AOSP] Unofficial CM10.1 (JB 4.2.1) [02/01 ALPHA]
Quote:
Originally Posted by siruba

Just tried your build on my 16GB wifi model but got a black screen on boot (right after the blue KF logo). Happens no matter gapps installed and wiped or not.

I have a recently synced copy of your git repo and I could build myself and run the rom properly though.

Can you get a copy of /proc/last_kmsg from the black screen boot and send it to my email? Dont pastebin as there is serial #, etc information that shouldnt be shared. hashcode0f at gmail.com

I will also wipe and flash this build again. could have been a bad build somehow.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd February 2013, 09:25 AM |#19  
Junior Member
Hong Kong
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I am afraid I couldn't. After the black screen I had to hold the power button to forcefully turn the tablet off and on again - it seemed that the kmsg didn't persist through that to recovery.
2nd February 2013, 12:36 PM |#20  
Poke851Le's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Smile
Hashcode

first of all, Thank you very much for developing this roms. I bought KD HD 8.9 16Gb when you were developing cm10.1

I read your post (bootloader and this rom) and follow steps. and succeed to enter twrp recovery. (+ blue amazon logo)

but after i installed this rom and gapps, logo appeared and black screen ...

I can enter twrp recover (by power + volume button) but i can't connect kindle 8.9 to pc (windows7 can't recognize KD driver )

so I can't move the file or enter the fastboot .. ( I ordered a factory cable.)

If you know to connect kindle to pc at black screen or at the twrp recovery mode ( I tried to mount use mode of twrp recovery but it was no useful)
tell me something please.
Last edited by Poke851Le; 2nd February 2013 at 12:46 PM. Reason: miss spelling
2nd February 2013, 04:48 PM |#21  
Hashcode's Avatar
OP Senior Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 23,531
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [ROM-AOSP] Unofficial CM10.1 (JB 4.2.1) [02/01 ALPHA]
Make sure you have the Android SDK installed.


I'll post a new build here in a bit. So if you don't get it going, hopefully that will get you into Android where you can load up the sdcard.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to Hashcode For This Useful Post: [ View ]

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes