Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,536 Members 53,048 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Ram

Tip us?
 
eman5oh
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 62
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default [Q] Ram

I was wondering why my nexus 10 only shows around 1.6 gigs of ram this shows with the widget I use and also under setting>apps>running the total is again around 1.6 gig. Is some of the ram reserved for the JVM or similar?
 
espionage724
Old
#2  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,501
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
The Following User Says Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eman5oh
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 62
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724 View Post
It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU
Thanks for the info. Anyone know of a widget that shows both the system and gpu ram usage ?
 
gtaadicto
Old
#4  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: León
Default Re: [Q] Ram

I have only 1.2 gb of RAM... Stock 4.2.2
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294140959.jpg
Views:	242
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	1743641

Capture from few days ago (4.2.1)
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294171014.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	1743642

What is happening?

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
 
espionage724
Old
#5  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 506
Posts: 2,501
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Charleroi, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.


Device Ownership:
 

Current Devices:
None
Side Devices:
Nexus 7 (grouper) (franco.Kernel + Rasbeanjelly)
Galaxy Rush (SPH-M830) (Stock)

Ex Devices:
Galaxy Tab 7.0 (SGH-T849)
Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 (GT-P3113)
Galaxy Prevail (SPH-M820) (KoumaKernel + CTMod)
Nexus 4 (LGE960/mako) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber)
Nexus 10 (GT-P8110/manta) (franco.Kernel + RasSaber
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gtaadicto
Old
#6  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: León
Default Re: [Q] Ram

Thanks for the info

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
 
SacGuru
Old
#7  
SacGuru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 95
Posts: 365
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: [Q] Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724 View Post
Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.
Thanks a lot that really helped. I have just got my Nexus 10 a couple of hours ago and was **** scared that I would have to send it back!!!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
 
kaspar737
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 99
Posts: 428
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Re: [Q] Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724 View Post
Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.
What does userspace RAM fragmentation mean? Sorry for being noob...

Sent from my LG-P990 using xda app-developers app
 
iamikon
Old
#9  
iamikon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1382
Posts: 1,588
Join Date: May 2012
Default Re: [Q] Ram

Basically it means when the gpu needs more it doesnt take away from userland aka launcher apps etc. Instead they reserved an extra 400mb for the gpu to help with performance on the crazy hifh resolution

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
Help me by helping yourself.
The Following User Says Thank You to iamikon For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Fidelator
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 88
Posts: 500
Join Date: Jul 2011
Well, **** I think that they should have let it take away RAM from the user, I keep like 15 tabs open at all times and only having 1.2gigs free causes the browser to run out of memory and crash.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes