Post Reply

[Q] Ram

5th February 2013, 12:12 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I was wondering why my nexus 10 only shows around 1.6 gigs of ram this shows with the widget I use and also under setting>apps>running the total is again around 1.6 gig. Is some of the ram reserved for the JVM or similar?
5th February 2013, 12:13 AM   |  #2  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleroi, PA
Thanks Meter: 506
 
2,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU
The Following User Says Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2013, 12:32 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU

Thanks for the info. Anyone know of a widget that shows both the system and gpu ram usage ?
19th February 2013, 05:16 PM   |  #4  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag León
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Re: [Q] Ram
I have only 1.2 gb of RAM... Stock 4.2.2
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294140959.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	1743641

Capture from few days ago (4.2.1)
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294171014.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	1743642

What is happening?

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
19th February 2013, 05:32 PM   |  #5  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Charleroi, PA
Thanks Meter: 506
 
2,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2013, 05:38 PM   |  #6  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag León
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Thanks for the info

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 01:15 PM   |  #7  
SacGuru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
370 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Re: [Q] Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.

Thanks a lot that really helped. I have just got my Nexus 10 a couple of hours ago and was **** scared that I would have to send it back!!!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 04:35 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
437 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Re: [Q] Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.

What does userspace RAM fragmentation mean? Sorry for being noob...

Sent from my LG-P990 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 08:11 PM   |  #9  
iamikon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,382
 
1,588 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Re: [Q] Ram
Basically it means when the gpu needs more it doesnt take away from userland aka launcher apps etc. Instead they reserved an extra 400mb for the gpu to help with performance on the crazy hifh resolution

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to iamikon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 01:14 AM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 88
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
Well, **** I think that they should have let it take away RAM from the user, I keep like 15 tabs open at all times and only having 1.2gigs free causes the browser to run out of memory and crash.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 10 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank