FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[Q] Ram

63 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By eman5oh, Member on 5th February 2013, 12:12 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I was wondering why my nexus 10 only shows around 1.6 gigs of ram this shows with the widget I use and also under setting>apps>running the total is again around 1.6 gig. Is some of the ram reserved for the JVM or similar?
 
 
5th February 2013, 12:13 AM |#2  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 523
 
Donate to Me
More
It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU
The Following User Says Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th February 2013, 12:32 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

It's said that the other 400MB or so is strictly for the GPU

Thanks for the info. Anyone know of a widget that shows both the system and gpu ram usage ?
19th February 2013, 05:16 PM |#4  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag León
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
I have only 1.2 gb of RAM... Stock 4.2.2
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294140959.jpg
Views:	245
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	1743641

Capture from few days ago (4.2.1)
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1361294171014.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	1743642

What is happening?

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
19th February 2013, 05:32 PM |#5  
espionage724's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 523
 
Donate to Me
More
Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to espionage724 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th February 2013, 05:38 PM |#6  
gtaadicto's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag León
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Thanks for the info

Enviado desde mi Nexus 10 usando Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 01:15 PM |#7  
SacGuru's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 96
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.

Thanks a lot that really helped. I have just got my Nexus 10 a couple of hours ago and was **** scared that I would have to send it back!!!

Sent from my Nexus 10 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 04:35 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by espionage724

Pre-4.2.2, out of the 2GB, 400MB was reserved for the GPU. 4.2.2 gives an additional 380 or so MB to the GPU (totaling close to 800MB reserved for the GPU) in order to prevent userspace RAM fragmentation.

What does userspace RAM fragmentation mean? Sorry for being noob...

Sent from my LG-P990 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 08:11 PM |#9  
iamikon's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,387
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Basically it means when the gpu needs more it doesnt take away from userland aka launcher apps etc. Instead they reserved an extra 400mb for the gpu to help with performance on the crazy hifh resolution

Sent from my Nexus 10 using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to iamikon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 01:14 AM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 95
 
More
Well, **** I think that they should have let it take away RAM from the user, I keep like 15 tabs open at all times and only having 1.2gigs free causes the browser to run out of memory and crash.
24th February 2013, 08:41 AM |#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 100
 
More
Re: [Q] Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelator

Well, **** I think that they should have let it take away RAM from the user, I keep like 15 tabs open at all times and only having 1.2gigs free causes the browser to run out of memory and crash.

Weird, Android should keep all tabs open and reload them if you want to see them. My phone does exactly that.

Sent from my LG-P990 using xda app-developers app

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes