Android 5.0 Leaked for the Samsung Galaxy Note 3

Android Lollipop is still making its way to many new devices. Firmware updates have been … more

Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Surface Pro 128 - Double Storage?

OP Talderon

10th February 2013, 06:56 PM   |  #1  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

There is already a Surface RT teardown out there, was wondering how long a Surface Pro one would take.

I am not brave enough to attempt a teardown without looking at directions or something.

What I would LOVE to know is, would it be possible to swap out the mSATA drive in there with a larger one?

Like this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148613

Thoughts?

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...
11th February 2013, 04:25 AM   |  #2  
derausgewanderte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talderon

So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...

I have read that you can install other OS onto the Surface Pro, because SecureBoot can be disabled on the Surface Pro. With that I believe it should be possible to upgrade the hard drive to a higher capacity without a problem.
Last edited by derausgewanderte; 11th February 2013 at 04:31 AM.
11th February 2013, 09:17 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talderon

So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

There is already a Surface RT teardown out there, was wondering how long a Surface Pro one would take.

I am not brave enough to attempt a teardown without looking at directions or something.

What I would LOVE to know is, would it be possible to swap out the mSATA drive in there with a larger one?

Like this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148613

Thoughts?

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...

Where did you read that the SSD is replaceable? I thought everythingw as soldered on to the motherboard? If it is replaceable, I'd buy the 64GB model and then replace it with the Intel 520 series SSD.
11th February 2013, 03:31 PM   |  #4  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare

Where did you read that the SSD is replaceable? I thought everythingw as soldered on to the motherboard? If it is replaceable, I'd buy the 64GB model and then replace it with the Intel 520 series SSD.

I didn't state is was replaceable, I asked if anyone knew and if so, thoughts on upgrades. Until there is a teardown of the Pro, I don't know for sure.

13th February 2013, 03:05 PM   |  #5  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Crap. The SSD is removable, not sure about upgradeability.

The issue is, the thing may be too much trouble than it's worth to get too:

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Micro...ardown/12842/1

Ugh.
13th February 2013, 06:52 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Angry
That will be funny if I can install MAC OS on the surface pro
13th February 2013, 08:02 PM   |  #7  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seesunmoon

That will be funny if I can install MAC OS on the surface pro

We need a "reach through the monitor and smack you" button...

You know.. what would be funnier is if someone does and it runs better than a MacBook pro... LOL!
The Following User Says Thank You to Talderon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 08:23 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
if there is a button like you said, i died since the first day of internet
i always ask stupid questions^_^
13th February 2013, 08:43 PM   |  #9  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seesunmoon

if there is a button like you said, i died since the first day of internet
i always ask stupid questions^_^

LOL!

Trust me, I have those moments as well.
14th February 2013, 10:30 AM   |  #10  
Trig0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
People will always try to run different OS'es on machines, its the way of the geek..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes