Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more
Post Reply

Surface Pro 128 - Double Storage?

OP Talderon

10th February 2013, 05:56 PM   |  #1  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

There is already a Surface RT teardown out there, was wondering how long a Surface Pro one would take.

I am not brave enough to attempt a teardown without looking at directions or something.

What I would LOVE to know is, would it be possible to swap out the mSATA drive in there with a larger one?

Like this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148613

Thoughts?

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...
11th February 2013, 03:25 AM   |  #2  
derausgewanderte's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talderon

So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...

I have read that you can install other OS onto the Surface Pro, because SecureBoot can be disabled on the Surface Pro. With that I believe it should be possible to upgrade the hard drive to a higher capacity without a problem.
Last edited by derausgewanderte; 11th February 2013 at 03:31 AM.
11th February 2013, 08:17 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talderon

So, I am just messing with my Pro and thought it would be a fun to play with a theory.

There is already a Surface RT teardown out there, was wondering how long a Surface Pro one would take.

I am not brave enough to attempt a teardown without looking at directions or something.

What I would LOVE to know is, would it be possible to swap out the mSATA drive in there with a larger one?

Like this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148613

Thoughts?

I don't know how the Secure Boot would handle that or any other internal system config checker or whatever.

Hrm...

Where did you read that the SSD is replaceable? I thought everythingw as soldered on to the motherboard? If it is replaceable, I'd buy the 64GB model and then replace it with the Intel 520 series SSD.
11th February 2013, 02:31 PM   |  #4  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsquare

Where did you read that the SSD is replaceable? I thought everythingw as soldered on to the motherboard? If it is replaceable, I'd buy the 64GB model and then replace it with the Intel 520 series SSD.

I didn't state is was replaceable, I asked if anyone knew and if so, thoughts on upgrades. Until there is a teardown of the Pro, I don't know for sure.

13th February 2013, 02:05 PM   |  #5  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Crap. The SSD is removable, not sure about upgradeability.

The issue is, the thing may be too much trouble than it's worth to get too:

http://www.ifixit.com/Teardown/Micro...ardown/12842/1

Ugh.
13th February 2013, 05:52 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
Angry
That will be funny if I can install MAC OS on the surface pro
13th February 2013, 07:02 PM   |  #7  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seesunmoon

That will be funny if I can install MAC OS on the surface pro

We need a "reach through the monitor and smack you" button...

You know.. what would be funnier is if someone does and it runs better than a MacBook pro... LOL!
The Following User Says Thank You to Talderon For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th February 2013, 07:23 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
12 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
if there is a button like you said, i died since the first day of internet
i always ask stupid questions^_^
13th February 2013, 07:43 PM   |  #9  
Talderon's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 120
 
1,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by seesunmoon

if there is a button like you said, i died since the first day of internet
i always ask stupid questions^_^

LOL!

Trust me, I have those moments as well.
14th February 2013, 09:30 AM   |  #10  
Trig0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
718 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
People will always try to run different OS'es on machines, its the way of the geek..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes