FORUMS

Huawei To Sell Honor Smartphones Via Indian Retail Outlets

World’s fourth largest smartphone maker Huawei plans to now sell its … more

Sunday Debate: Are Smaller Bezels Better or Worth It?

Bezels have been getting smaller and smaller as the years go by, and while devices … more

LG G4 First Impressions and Unboxing – XDA TV

The latest in LG’s signature line of “G phones” has been released. … more

Galaxy S6 Weekly Shooting Challenge

Over in our forums this weekend, XDA Forum member DevonSloan has started a thread for talented … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Aussie version GT-N8010

13th February 2013, 06:37 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi all

Just got a question regarding the version software my note is running,

I understand there are a number of different versions getting around, I'm unclear as to what is the latest version for my particular model

Currently it is running 4.0.4, yet I know there are much newer versions getting around, yet when I try to run an update it says there are no updates for my device

Can anyone clarify for me if what I have is the newest version for my note

Cheers
 
 
13th February 2013, 09:54 AM |#2  
Member
Flag goldie
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Re: [Q] Aussie version GT-N8010
I havent got a 8010 i have the optus delivered 4g version 8020 and im on 4.1.2 i think.plug yours into a pc and fire up samsung kies...let it do its thing and check for a update.you should have one available.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using xda premium
13th February 2013, 10:02 AM |#3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricbec

Hi all

Just got a question regarding the version software my note is running,

I understand there are a number of different versions getting around, I'm unclear as to what is the latest version for my particular model

Currently it is running 4.0.4, yet I know there are much newer versions getting around, yet when I try to run an update it says there are no updates for my device

Can anyone clarify for me if what I have is the newest version for my note

Cheers

You can flash you device throught Odin:
Use BTU or NZC firmware.

h**p://samsung-updates.com/device/?id=GT-N8010
13th February 2013, 10:52 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Well believe it or not kies says it is the most current version, guess we must just miss out here in Aus
Last edited by Ricbec; 13th February 2013 at 10:57 AM.
13th February 2013, 10:54 AM |#5  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 627
 
More
This is why I use other country roms...
13th February 2013, 11:44 AM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I dont think I'd ever have the courage to do something like that on my own device, sounds a little complicated to the novice modder, I'd be too scared to brick it!!
13th February 2013, 11:54 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
You shouldn't be. It's a piece of cake.
http://techmell.com/android-tips/how...cial-firmware/
13th February 2013, 01:22 PM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is it possible however that I may lose some functionality by doing this? It does sound simple enough, I can build computers so I should be able to do it

Ohh, and I lose all software installed correct?, hence the extra special need to backup prior?
13th February 2013, 01:59 PM |#9  
Member
Flag goldie
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Re: [Q] Aussie version GT-N8010
I didnt lose any apps or settings but I went from 4.1.1 to 4.1.2 updated without a hitch.it will sudgest a backup but I didnt have time or my pc to backup too.i was at work.but a backup is good while you are waiting for the file to download.not sure what the go is nowdays but I use to use titanium backup the paid version.you need a rooted tab tho....not a big deal....google exynos abuse and grab the apk and install that.its made by a dev called chainfire (very trustworthy)it can root your tab in about 30 secs.once rooted you can backup you apps and settings if needed.i somtimes had probs with the settings part, but no probs with the just apps. Once backup is done flash the new firmware, reboot and play for a few mins....then reboot again....root tab again with exynos abuse as it should loose root rights with the new firmware....then re install titanium and load your backup and or your sammy kies backup too. Clear as mud eh?

Sent from my GT-N8020 using XDA Premium HD app
13th February 2013, 02:33 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 62
 
More
Re: [Q] Aussie version GT-N8010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricbec

Ohh, and I lose all software installed correct?, hence the extra special need to backup prior?

No, you don't loose apps, but it's recommended to factory reset your device. I went through 4.0.3 -> 4.1.1 -> 4.1.2 without wiping. But finally I did a factory reset to be sure
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes