Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,174 Members 51,417 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

Tip us?
 
MegaMan X
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 82
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Info 2 Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:



(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mondokat
Old
#2  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 242
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X View Post
The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:

*** snip ***

(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).
Awesome, thanks! That's pretty cool!
 
gyggyty
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 99
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?
The Following User Says Thank You to gyggyty For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ktetreault14
Old
#4  
ktetreault14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1099
Posts: 2,733
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Largo

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

Don't know what it does.. But u did anyway

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
The_F_Word
Old
#5  
The_F_Word's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 104
Posts: 578
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

Sooooo..... How does this work?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
Romcrazguy
Old
#6  
Romcrazguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 306
Posts: 641
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

I did this but did notice a decrease in speed by 3mbps

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
 
CoderCR
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 16
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

IPv6 is just larger addresses for internet protocol. Allows more addresses only.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
 
mondokat
Old
#8  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 242
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyggyty View Post
Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?
It lets you reach ipv6 only websites that you wouldn't otherwise be able to reach, which will be more and more over time.
 
tamasrepus
Old
#9  
tamasrepus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 84
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X View Post
The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'
What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6
 
MegaMan X
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 35
Posts: 82
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasrepus View Post
What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6
I'm running CM10.1 Nightly (01/14/2013) on a T999v with baseband version T999VVLLE6.

Working perfectly fine on T-Mobile 42Mbps HSPA+ Network.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes