Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled

OP MegaMan X

13th February 2013, 07:12 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:



(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).
The Following User Says Thank You to MegaMan X For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th February 2013, 01:40 AM   |  #2  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X

The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

APN setup instructions:

*** snip ***

(Technically you have been able to do this for a couple of weeks but it was broken due to DNS issues-striped AAAAs, which was resolved yesterday)

Easiest way is to try it and then visit http://test-ipv6.com.

You should score a 9/10 (DNS server isn't dual-stacked, not a problem for now).

Awesome, thanks! That's pretty cool!
16th February 2013, 07:48 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
99 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?
The Following User Says Thank You to gyggyty For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th February 2013, 08:29 PM   |  #4  
ktetreault14's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Largo
Thanks Meter: 1,109
 
2,774 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Don't know what it does.. But u did anyway

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 08:43 PM   |  #5  
The_F_Word's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 104
 
578 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
Sooooo..... How does this work?

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 09:24 PM   |  #6  
Romcrazguy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 308
 
647 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
I did this but did notice a decrease in speed by 3mbps

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda premium
16th February 2013, 09:56 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2006
More
Re: Dual Stack (IPv4 + IPv6) Now enabled
IPv6 is just larger addresses for internet protocol. Allows more addresses only.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using xda app-developers app
17th February 2013, 06:38 PM   |  #8  
mondokat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 55
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gyggyty

Does this increase performance or something? Whats it do?

It lets you reach ipv6 only websites that you wouldn't otherwise be able to reach, which will be more and more over time.
21st February 2013, 08:36 AM   |  #9  
tamasrepus's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MegaMan X

The Galaxy S3 supports IPv4 and IPv6 PDP so now you can 'dual stack'

What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6
21st February 2013, 07:21 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 36
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tamasrepus

What baseband are you using? Have you actually tried this to verify it works on the S3?

IPv6 has been broken for me (and everyone else) in both T999UVDLJA and T999UVDLJC; if you try to connect to an IPv6 host (e.g. Website), your data connection will drop a few minutes later. I tried the dual-stack IPv4/IPv6 and it makes no difference.

Ref: Don't update the GS3 to Jellybean 4.1 if you like IPv6

I'm running CM10.1 Nightly (01/14/2013) on a T999v with baseband version T999VVLLE6.

Working perfectly fine on T-Mobile 42Mbps HSPA+ Network.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes