Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Multiple roms installed at the same time?

OP Atrixn00b

13th February 2013, 10:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hey im new to the s3 coming from droid 3 and it had this thing called safestrap and hou could install 4 diffetent roms and kernels to and itd take 10 seconds to just switch it to another. I wad wondering if there was somryhing similar for the s3. Thanks if anyone replies to this (:
Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
14th February 2013, 12:22 AM   |  #2  
jasvncnt1's Avatar
Senior Member
Union NJ
Thanks Meter: 690
 
2,321 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
I'm pretty sure the answer is no. Only thing you can do would be to switch between your nandroid backups

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
14th February 2013, 12:44 AM   |  #3  
bigdog_nick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 33
 
263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
I have multirom installed on my nexus 7 and have 4 roms running. Not sure if multirom can be ported to s3.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda premium
14th February 2013, 05:09 AM   |  #4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,570
 
14,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
While I am sure it can be done Orbison really no different then keeping a few nandroid backups of other roms and restoring them. Not the wisest idea but fun at times

Wayne Tech S-III
The Following User Says Thank You to zelendel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 06:09 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Not exactly called multirom. what im talking about is safestrap for the droid 3. yeah backing up and restoring nandroid might be the same but this is alot faster and more convenient. I wish I new how to develop lol
14th February 2013, 06:10 PM   |  #6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,886 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrixn00b

Not exactly called multirom. what im talking about is safestrap for the droid 3. yeah backing up and restoring nandroid might be the same but this is alot faster and more convenient. I wish I new how to develop lol

Never too late to start
14th February 2013, 06:10 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
there's bot manager on the playstore I found searching google. anyone here ever try that?
14th February 2013, 06:13 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
haha yeah that's true. I was interested in doing that but I gave up. I didn't know where to start. lol
14th February 2013, 06:19 PM   |  #9  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 708
 
1,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrixn00b

haha yeah that's true. I was interested in doing that but I gave up. I didn't know where to start. lol


Start by porting another carriers ROM for fun. Not a whole lot of steps but its a nice sense of accomplishment

http://forum.xda-developers.com/newr...e=1&p=37948039
14th February 2013, 06:26 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
boot manager doesn't work apparently. found a tutorial on how to dual bot stock with cyan mod. it says to install siyahs kernel. would i brick my phone if i experimented with other ones to? and what would the steps be to port safestrap to s3? I know I would have to get the developers permission and stuff if i wanted to attempt doing so. its basically a whole new bootloader I think lol.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes