Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more
Post Reply

Multiple roms installed at the same time?

OP Atrixn00b

13th February 2013, 09:27 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Hey im new to the s3 coming from droid 3 and it had this thing called safestrap and hou could install 4 diffetent roms and kernels to and itd take 10 seconds to just switch it to another. I wad wondering if there was somryhing similar for the s3. Thanks if anyone replies to this (:
Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda app-developers app
13th February 2013, 11:22 PM   |  #2  
jasvncnt1's Avatar
Senior Member
Union NJ
Thanks Meter: 684
 
2,290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
I'm pretty sure the answer is no. Only thing you can do would be to switch between your nandroid backups

Sent from my SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2
13th February 2013, 11:44 PM   |  #3  
bigdog_nick's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Orange County
Thanks Meter: 33
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
I have multirom installed on my nexus 7 and have 4 roms running. Not sure if multirom can be ported to s3.

Sent from my SGH-I747 using xda premium
14th February 2013, 04:09 AM   |  #4  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,232
 
14,657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Re: Multiple roms installed at the same time?
While I am sure it can be done Orbison really no different then keeping a few nandroid backups of other roms and restoring them. Not the wisest idea but fun at times

Wayne Tech S-III
The Following User Says Thank You to zelendel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2013, 05:09 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Not exactly called multirom. what im talking about is safestrap for the droid 3. yeah backing up and restoring nandroid might be the same but this is alot faster and more convenient. I wish I new how to develop lol
14th February 2013, 05:10 PM   |  #6  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,704
 
3,878 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrixn00b

Not exactly called multirom. what im talking about is safestrap for the droid 3. yeah backing up and restoring nandroid might be the same but this is alot faster and more convenient. I wish I new how to develop lol

Never too late to start
14th February 2013, 05:10 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
there's bot manager on the playstore I found searching google. anyone here ever try that?
14th February 2013, 05:13 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
haha yeah that's true. I was interested in doing that but I gave up. I didn't know where to start. lol
14th February 2013, 05:19 PM   |  #9  
hednik's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 708
 
1,525 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atrixn00b

haha yeah that's true. I was interested in doing that but I gave up. I didn't know where to start. lol


Start by porting another carriers ROM for fun. Not a whole lot of steps but its a nice sense of accomplishment

http://forum.xda-developers.com/newr...e=1&p=37948039
14th February 2013, 05:26 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
boot manager doesn't work apparently. found a tutorial on how to dual bot stock with cyan mod. it says to install siyahs kernel. would i brick my phone if i experimented with other ones to? and what would the steps be to port safestrap to s3? I know I would have to get the developers permission and stuff if i wanted to attempt doing so. its basically a whole new bootloader I think lol.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes