FORUMS

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Moto X Style, Moto X Play and Moto G Forums Are Here!

The latest family members of the new generation of Motorola devices are … more

just received OTA update to UCAMA4

447 posts
Thanks Meter: 58
 
By Gary02468, Senior Member on 15th February 2013, 07:39 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
17th February 2013, 02:37 AM |#21  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thumbs up got the update
on stock device i317 att update came Saturday 10 am La time phone seems good as usual

cheers
 
 
17th February 2013, 04:59 AM |#22  
Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wherestheanykey

I did a similar update with the LK7 OTA update. I was stock rooted with all status at normal and flash counter at zero. I installed Voodoo OTA RootKeeper (v2.0.3) and ran it to get a protected copy su binary. Then let the phone flash the OTA update and reboot. I too still had SuperuserSU and appeared to be rooted, but when I tried to launch Titanium it couldn't get permission. I had to open RootKeeper and re-apply the protecyed copy of root, then everything was fine.

I can confirm that ota rootkeeper was able to retain root with this latest ucama4 update. stock rom, stock recovery, rooted.

I did have to uninstall/reinstall supersu though...since after the update (and rootkeeper root restore) it spit out an error message every time I tried to temp hide root with supersu. After a reinstall everything is back to normal.
17th February 2013, 02:20 PM |#23  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
I was rooted stock, and lost root after the OTA update.
17th February 2013, 06:41 PM |#24  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangmu

I was rooted stock, and lost root after the OTA update.

Same here. Ran Odin and re-rooted without issue.
18th February 2013, 07:17 AM |#25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by azfxstb

So if you had done the option 4 free unlock is it not unlocked now?...noticed T-mo N2 didn't have that option the other day

Just checked, the unlock still works if you did the unlock before the latest update. I am on AT&T and my T-Moobil sim still worked after the update.
The Following User Says Thank You to angryphoton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 09:03 AM |#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Re: just received OTA update to UCAMA4
Damn well I need to unlock my girlfriends s3 before it gets this update!
18th February 2013, 04:33 PM |#27  
slicingtaco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag C:\Earth\USA\California\Freakmont
Thanks Meter: 319
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wherestheanykey

I did a similar update with the LK7 OTA update. I was stock rooted with all status at normal and flash counter at zero. I installed Voodoo OTA RootKeeper (v2.0.3) and ran it to get a protected copy su binary. Then let the phone flash the OTA update and reboot. I too still had SuperuserSU and appeared to be rooted, but when I tried to launch Titanium it couldn't get permission. I had to open RootKeeper and re-apply the protecyed copy of root, then everything was fine.

S your saying that we should use Voodoo OTA RootKeeper to avoid unrooting through the OTA process? I would hate using the long method (Odin) to root if i lost it because this update would get rid of exynos abuse
19th February 2013, 03:15 AM |#28  
ArborRes's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 158
 
More
I have deleted the ATT software update app to avoid dealing with this.
The security patch has been already rolled into the OC kernels used in many of current ROMs and is not needed.
For those of us who use custom ROMs, why bother with ATT update anyway?
20th February 2013, 11:47 PM |#29  
planoman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plano, Texas
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
My update had downloaded but failed to update twice. Once while rooted and I unrooted and was stock the second time? Anyone else?
20th February 2013, 11:48 PM |#30  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
what recovery are you using? Stock, twrp, etc
21st February 2013, 12:14 AM |#31  
planoman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Plano, Texas
Thanks Meter: 156
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by livingaboard

what recovery are you using? Stock, twrp, etc

Stock. Just rooted to get rid of bloatware. Rooted using the exynos abuse exploit and then unrooted with it. Stock.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes