Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

[Q] Update to JB

17th February 2013, 08:44 PM   |  #1  
Pekoltia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kingston Upon Hull
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I tried updated to JB from Viper 2.7.1 by attempting to go back to stock using RUU_ENDEAVOR_U_ICS_40_TMO_UK_1.28.110.7_R2_Radio_1 .1204.103.14_release 256500_signed.exe & it didnt go to plan.

After I relocked the bootloader I couldnt get any further with the process & my phones battery ran flat, I had to use the battery script to get enough power back into the phone so I could continue, again It wouldnt work, at first I thought my phone had been bricked but when I re-unlocked the bootloader Viper came back to life.

What is the best way to go about updating to JB?

My CID T-MOB005
HBoot 0.94
Radio 1.1204.103.14
17th February 2013, 10:41 PM   |  #2  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,505
 
13,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Update to JB
Are you sure you got the right version number ?

Do the fastboot command

Fastboot getvar version-main

If it matches this ruu

http://androidfiles.org/ruu/secureke...731_signed.exe

Then you can use it. The 1.28 ruu fails because it wants to downgrade the hboot. Hboot 0.94 is in line with the 1.29 version number. So my guess is that when you use this one you will succeed !
18th February 2013, 07:31 PM   |  #3  
Pekoltia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kingston Upon Hull
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
after using fastboot getvar version-main I got 1.28.110.7
18th February 2013, 07:42 PM   |  #4  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,505
 
13,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Update to JB
Hmm funny .... Download the ruu i linked

Keep the bootloader locked ... And keep the phone in the bootloader and select the ruu.exe by clicking with the right mouse button ...select RUN AS ADMINISTRATOR
18th February 2013, 07:56 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
hamburg
Thanks Meter: 2
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
C:\x>fastboot getvar version-main
version-main: 1.26.401.2
finished. total time: 0.034s

C:\x>fastboot oem readcid
...
(bootloader) DEBUG: cid: HTC__102
OKAY [ 0.014s]
finished. total time: 0.014s

which ruu should i pick?
hboot 0.43
18th February 2013, 08:03 PM   |  #6  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,505
 
13,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Update to JB
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5had

C:\x>fastboot getvar version-main
version-main: 1.26.401.2
finished. total time: 0.034s

C:\x>fastboot oem readcid
...
(bootloader) DEBUG: cid: HTC__102
OKAY [ 0.014s]
finished. total time: 0.014s

which ruu should i pick?
hboot 0.43

Sent you PM !
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th February 2013, 08:17 PM   |  #7  
Pekoltia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kingston Upon Hull
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
thanks Mr Hofs

does the .exe need to be in a specific folder when run? i.e. platform-tools

is the file OTA_ENDEAVOR_U_ICS_40_TMO_UK_1.28.110.7-1.26.110.5_release256527.zip for updating stock ROMS?

it will probably be Saturday before I can make another attempt, I will let you know how I get on
18th February 2013, 08:19 PM   |  #8  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,505
 
13,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Update to JB
No afaik you don't need to run it rom a specific place. But running it from within the fastboot can't do any harm
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2013, 10:45 PM   |  #9  
Pekoltia's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kingston Upon Hull
Thanks Meter: 9
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
just an update to this thread

ran RUU_ENDEAVOR_U_ICS_40_TMO_UK_1.29.110.11_Radio_1.1 204.105.14_release_260731_signed.exe successfully.

performed OTA updates from TMobile culminating in JB

finally installed ViperX 3.3.7 & all OK until I restored apps in Titanium, now Sense crashes randomly, I must have restored an old version of Sense by mistake.

Thanks for your help MrHofs
23rd February 2013, 10:57 PM   |  #10  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,505
 
13,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Update to JB
Nice ! :thumbup:

Or did you restore some of the old system ? Either way at least the updates worked fine

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes