Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,560 Members 53,256 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unable to get LTE on Bell Mobility

Tip us?
 
cquilliam
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. John's, NL
Question [Q] Unable to get LTE on Bell Mobility

Only recently, LTE has been rolled out here on Bell Mobility, however, I can only get H+ (speed test confirms). I have been reading through a few things on the forums, including this:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...light=lte+bell
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...light=lte+bell
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1947376

But, have yet been able to get it working. I just wanted to ask to see if there was anything else I could try before I go to Bell.

- I do have an LTE SIM (says LTE right on it)
- I am running stock rooted ( 4.1.1 ), Baseband I747MVLDLK4
- My IMEI is displaying fine in Settings
- I have tried the "*#2263# ", setting to LTE ALL, restarting the phone, but then I get no service. Have to switch back to get service again.
- Added a new APN as per the 3rd link above
- I have a friend who also has an S3 on Bell, and with phones side by side, he gets LTE and I get only H+

Thanks
Phone:
History: Motorola Krzr -> Palm Pre -> HTC Desire Z
Current: Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-I747M (Pebble Blue, Rooted, CM10.1) (Bell Mobility)

Tablet:
History: Blackberry Playbook -> Asus EEE Pad Transformer (32GB)
Current: Google Nexus 7 (16GB)
 
oilers2010
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 102
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Default Re: [Q] Unable to get LTE on Bell Mobility

Your data plan may not be LTE compatible. Call bell customer service to find out.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda premium
HTC ONE
 
cquilliam
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. John's, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilers2010 View Post
Your data plan may not be LTE compatible. Call bell customer service to find out.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda premium
I never thought about this. I've been carrying over an unlimited data plan I've had since my Palm Pre, that may very well be the issue. Thanks for the heads up, I"m half worried about calling Bell now as they may try to take my unlimited plan from my cold dead hands.
Phone:
History: Motorola Krzr -> Palm Pre -> HTC Desire Z
Current: Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-I747M (Pebble Blue, Rooted, CM10.1) (Bell Mobility)

Tablet:
History: Blackberry Playbook -> Asus EEE Pad Transformer (32GB)
Current: Google Nexus 7 (16GB)
 
oilers2010
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 102
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton
Default Re: [Q] Unable to get LTE on Bell Mobility

Keep the unlimited plan and stick with hspa+ if you can't get LTE with your current plan.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda premium
HTC ONE
 
cquilliam
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: St. John's, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilers2010 View Post
Keep the unlimited plan and stick with hspa+ if you can't get LTE with your current plan.

Sent from my SGH-I747M using xda premium
Most definitely.
Phone:
History: Motorola Krzr -> Palm Pre -> HTC Desire Z
Current: Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-I747M (Pebble Blue, Rooted, CM10.1) (Bell Mobility)

Tablet:
History: Blackberry Playbook -> Asus EEE Pad Transformer (32GB)
Current: Google Nexus 7 (16GB)
Tags
bell mobility, galaxy s3, lte
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes