FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

[Q] Messed with DPI settings?

3,866 posts
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
By mindmajick, Senior Member on 18th February 2013, 03:06 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Has anyone messed with their DPI settings on Cm10.1 or one of the other AOSP ROMs?

What have you tried and what were the results?

I already know the stock OS isn't very DPI friendly, but haven't messed with 10.1 yet.

If I don't get any responses I'll try a few myself and post in this thread.

Expect to be thanked for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
 
 
19th February 2013, 11:10 PM |#2  
mindmajick's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?
Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
20th February 2013, 07:29 AM |#3  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sleaford, Lincs
Thanks Meter: 181
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick

Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1

_____________#_____________

That was some tumble weed. I don't feel the need to change my DPI, but might have a quick play.

EDIT: Tried 140 on Hash codes 4.2.2. Everything was slightly smaller, but I had issues with Flip board not showing articles. I'm sure you are on Power points ROM, so you should be OK.

Warning: I'm not sure if changing the DPI on the standard Kindle ROM killed it, so only try that if you are prepared to recover everything.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
Last edited by chronicfathead; 20th February 2013 at 07:46 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to chronicfathead For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2013, 06:23 PM |#4  
mindmajick's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?
Yeah, I definitely wouldn't try it on stock. Thanks for the warning though.

And as you astutely noticed, I AM running PowerPoint's ROM on my kf2.

Thanks again for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
26th February 2013, 12:54 AM |#5  
mindmajick's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?
I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
26th February 2013, 01:01 AM |#6  
persano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick

I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1

and the best for the stock rom?
26th February 2013, 01:37 AM |#7  
mindmajick's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Cape Coral, FL
Thanks Meter: 3,053
 
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?
Quote:
Originally Posted by persano

and the best for the stock rom?

I'm going to guess stock dpi. I strongly doubt the launcher will cooperate.

But since i have sgt7 and/or cm10.1, i won't be going back to stock...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes