Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,159 Members 45,450 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Tip us?
 
mindmajick
Old
#1  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2901
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Has anyone messed with their DPI settings on Cm10.1 or one of the other AOSP ROMs?

What have you tried and what were the results?

I already know the stock OS isn't very DPI friendly, but haven't messed with 10.1 yet.

If I don't get any responses I'll try a few myself and post in this thread.

Expect to be thanked for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
 
mindmajick
Old
#2  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2901
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
 
chronicfathead
Old
(Last edited by chronicfathead; 20th February 2013 at 07:46 AM.)
#3  
chronicfathead's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 169
Posts: 613
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sleaford, Lincs

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
Is it really that dead over here? Wow...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
_____________#_____________

That was some tumble weed. I don't feel the need to change my DPI, but might have a quick play.

EDIT: Tried 140 on Hash codes 4.2.2. Everything was slightly smaller, but I had issues with Flip board not showing articles. I'm sure you are on Power points ROM, so you should be OK.

Warning: I'm not sure if changing the DPI on the standard Kindle ROM killed it, so only try that if you are prepared to recover everything.

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire2 using Tapatalk HD
[SIZE="1"][FONT="Trebuchet MS"][LIST][*]LG G2 - D80210b-EUR-XX. .................running CloudyG3, rooted with Philz Advanced recovery
[*]Kindle Fire 2 ................................running CM11, rooted with TWRP recovery
The Following User Says Thank You to chronicfathead For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mindmajick
Old
#4  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2901
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Yeah, I definitely wouldn't try it on stock. Thanks for the warning though.

And as you astutely noticed, I AM running PowerPoint's ROM on my kf2.

Thanks again for participating

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk 2
 
mindmajick
Old
#5  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2901
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
 
persano
Old
#6  
persano's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 253
Posts: 1,567
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mindmajick View Post
I've now tried quite a few different dpi settings with no major issues.

Have tried 160 (standard setting)
Tried 240- gigantic
Tried a few others but eventually went back to 160 since it seems to be the "sweet spot".

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1
and the best for the stock rom?


Help a Good Cause http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2666458 Help us releasing the kernel
 
mindmajick
Old
#7  
mindmajick's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2901
Posts: 3,529
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cape Coral, FL

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [Q] Messed with DPI settings?

Quote:
Originally Posted by persano View Post
and the best for the stock rom?
I'm going to guess stock dpi. I strongly doubt the launcher will cooperate.

But since i have sgt7 and/or cm10.1, i won't be going back to stock...

--
Sent from my Kindle Fire 2, CM 10.1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Make a Pre-Rooted Stock Sony ROMs in Just Few Clicks

Many usersdon’t see any particular reason to change out the stock firmware … more

Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more