Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,298 Members 42,946 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SIM Locked, Phone Unlocked Or So it Seems.

Tip us?
 
KShion619
Old
#1  
KShion619's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 130
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default [Q] SIM Locked, Phone Unlocked Or So it Seems.

Hello, i have recently (as of today) unlocked my HTC HD2 and put a older AT&T SIM Card inside and even with the phone unlocked it asks for a second unlock code for the sim, what gives? Do i have to set APNs? All comments a appreciated.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus: ShinyROM KitKat June 21st w/Android L UI Mods By Me (Main Phone)
ASUS Nexus 7 (2012): Nameless Android L SDK Port (Testing The Waters)

HTC Droid Incredible: Heavily Modded Everolv Build (Solid Backup Phone)
HTC HD2: NexusHD2 KitKat (v4.5) (Overheat Issues, unflashable)
Motorola Droid X: CyanogenMod 7.2 Stable (Home Button Broken In The Middle of Fixing
 
samsamuel
Old
#2  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1047
Posts: 9,105
Join Date: Nov 2006
sounds like the sim had a pin set last time it was used.
ViperOneM8 VIPER4Android

O2 UK automated free sim unlock form.

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE
 
KShion619
Old
#3  
KShion619's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 130
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by samsamuel View Post
sounds like the sim had a pin set last time it was used.
Its a sim from a old AT&T Samsung Stride, it works on that and no pin was set except "PIN2" but the sim says unlocked on that phone.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus: ShinyROM KitKat June 21st w/Android L UI Mods By Me (Main Phone)
ASUS Nexus 7 (2012): Nameless Android L SDK Port (Testing The Waters)

HTC Droid Incredible: Heavily Modded Everolv Build (Solid Backup Phone)
HTC HD2: NexusHD2 KitKat (v4.5) (Overheat Issues, unflashable)
Motorola Droid X: CyanogenMod 7.2 Stable (Home Button Broken In The Middle of Fixing
 
samsamuel
Old
#4  
samsamuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1047
Posts: 9,105
Join Date: Nov 2006
hmm, in that case, when you say you have unlocked it, , you do mean with a code, right? not by flashing something? Because the unlocking that HSPL does doesn't unlock the network. (Though that shouldnt present itself as a sim lock)
ViperOneM8 VIPER4Android

O2 UK automated free sim unlock form.

Want to say thanks? Do you buy stuff on eBay? Click HERE to donate to me FOR FREE
 
KShion619
Old
#5  
KShion619's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 130
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Re: [Q] SIM Locked, Phone Unlocked Or So it Seems.

Yes. With a code. And to give more info. The stride doesn't ask for a code. And with another active SIM don't work

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy Nexus: ShinyROM KitKat June 21st w/Android L UI Mods By Me (Main Phone)
ASUS Nexus 7 (2012): Nameless Android L SDK Port (Testing The Waters)

HTC Droid Incredible: Heavily Modded Everolv Build (Solid Backup Phone)
HTC HD2: NexusHD2 KitKat (v4.5) (Overheat Issues, unflashable)
Motorola Droid X: CyanogenMod 7.2 Stable (Home Button Broken In The Middle of Fixing
 
KShion619
Old
#6  
KShion619's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 130
Join Date: Apr 2012
Also would i have to get a SIM that did not come with a phone included?
Because Both Of These did, only thing in common between the two besides carrier.
Samsung Galaxy Nexus: ShinyROM KitKat June 21st w/Android L UI Mods By Me (Main Phone)
ASUS Nexus 7 (2012): Nameless Android L SDK Port (Testing The Waters)

HTC Droid Incredible: Heavily Modded Everolv Build (Solid Backup Phone)
HTC HD2: NexusHD2 KitKat (v4.5) (Overheat Issues, unflashable)
Motorola Droid X: CyanogenMod 7.2 Stable (Home Button Broken In The Middle of Fixing
 
Mister B
Old
#7  
Mister B's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 331
Posts: 1,847
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ratchada (Bangkok)
Was the HD2 on Windows-Mobile ROM as if using custom android or WP7 etc the code unlocking can be a bit odd in how it reacts to unlock via the 8 digit code.
[DEVICE1] : [HD2] [EU late model, socket lcd & samsung nand]
[ROM] : [Energy Dinik 23699 Nov24]
[OS] [WindowsMobile® 6.5.x][CHT2.0.S2.5]
[RADIO] : [2.12.50.02_2]

[DEVICE2] : [Raphael] [sold]
[ROM] : [Energy Dinik 23699]
[OS] [WindowsMobile® 6.5.x]
[RADIO] : [1.14.25.05 + RILPHONE.DLL]
.
[SOFTWARE] : [Mortscript] [MyMobiler] [CeRegEditor] [SkypeMobile] [FingerKBD Eng/Thai (WVGA)] [Thai Font/Input SIP] [IM+]
The Following User Says Thank You to Mister B For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
theme4droid
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Its a sim from a old AT&T Samsung Stride, it works on that and no pin was set except "PIN2" but the sim says unlocked on that phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to theme4droid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mistamikel
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 603
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgary
Default Re: [Q] SIM Locked, Phone Unlocked Or So it Seems.

Flash stock winmo 6.5 rom then use unlock code. It will be fully sim unlocked then

Sent from my NexusHD2 using xda app-developers app
Nexus 4 and a Xperia Z Ultra are my best friends.
The Following User Says Thank You to mistamikel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
KShion619
Old
#10  
KShion619's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 27
Posts: 130
Join Date: Apr 2012
Default Re: [Q] SIM Locked, Phone Unlocked Or So it Seems.

Windows Phone 7.8 When I unlocked.

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using xda app-developers app
Samsung Galaxy Nexus: ShinyROM KitKat June 21st w/Android L UI Mods By Me (Main Phone)
ASUS Nexus 7 (2012): Nameless Android L SDK Port (Testing The Waters)

HTC Droid Incredible: Heavily Modded Everolv Build (Solid Backup Phone)
HTC HD2: NexusHD2 KitKat (v4.5) (Overheat Issues, unflashable)
Motorola Droid X: CyanogenMod 7.2 Stable (Home Button Broken In The Middle of Fixing

Tags
problems, unlocked
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes