Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Android App Review: Manage Your Connections Automagically – XDA TV

Material Design is all the buzz in the Android world right now. … more

Official TWRP Recovery Lands on Micromax Canvas Magnus

With the recent release of Android One, Micromax and MediaTek released fully buildable … more

Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

"How would you change ASUS' Transformer Pad Infinity?"

OP vanstrien

21st February 2013, 12:12 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag Location: Location:
Thanks Meter: 28
 
156 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Make it thicker and include the following:

larger internal battery
real USB connector on the tablet itself
put all connectors in one place (bottom preferably)
"rubberized" finish (like my DroidX2)
More, faster RAM

I've never been a fan of any integrated flash memory, those chips fail, make it replaceable.
FULL SIZE SD slot on the tablet itself.

put decent speakers in the keyboard dock, f the ones on the tablet itself. the only thing that EVER had good built-in speakers were those giant rear-projection big-screen TVs.

2.4ghz and 5ghz WiFi (an external antenna connector would be AMAZING too)

enough of these proprietary dock connectors, break it down to multiple simple PROVEN designs. wanna have something special for a dock, make it surface contacts and not something that penetrates the chassis of the device... this is just as dumb as crApple and Scamsung's designs.

However, I do LOVE that this thing is made of metal and takes abuse very well (It still blows me away that people complain about them falling apart, maybe I got lucky, maybe the WW sku tablets are held to a higher standard than the US sku? cause I have ABUSED the hell out of mine and it has not given me any grief from a physical hardware standpoint. It has been through extreme heat, extreme cold, it gets dropped on hard surfaces (I use it as an ALLDATA reader through VNC when I'm workin on vehicles and it looks as beat up as your average shop's snapon brick)
The Following User Says Thank You to Cheapxj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2013, 04:25 AM   |  #12  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 95
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
I/O issues fixed would be a huge priority number one. I can't even transfer files on to a USB flash drive, everything freezes up, it's rediculous.

Other than that, I'm very happy with it. I'd take a USB 3.0 port, give me wireless A, bluetooth 4.0 and front facing speakers if I had a choice.
21st February 2013, 07:35 AM   |  #13  
Soul TKR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wifesabitch

I/O issues fixed would be a huge priority number one. I can't even transfer files on to a USB flash drive, everything freezes up, it's rediculous.

Other than that, I'm very happy with it. I'd take a USB 3.0 port, give me wireless A, bluetooth 4.0 and front facing speakers if I had a choice.

You still having I/O issues with Cromi?
21st February 2013, 07:39 AM   |  #14  
Nebucatnetzer's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6,773
 
5,799 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Re: "How would you change ASUS' Transformer Pad Infinity?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul TKR

You still having I/O issues with Cromi?

It's a hardware problem you can make it better with tweaks but it will never go away fully.
21st February 2013, 09:17 AM   |  #15  
Soul TKR's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 11
 
170 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: "How would you change ASUS' Transformer Pad Infinity?"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebucatnetzer

It's a hardware problem you can make it better with tweaks but it will never go away fully.

Damn
21st February 2013, 11:26 PM   |  #16  
fortunz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag inside
Thanks Meter: 104
 
814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scataldo721

They make one of those already its called a Samsung galaxy note 10.1

Sent from my EVO using xda premium

At which point I'd be posting in a "how would you change the GNote 10.1 thread" with "1080p and a sleek wired keyboard dock with bonus battery life". Except not really, because I wouldn't have bought a 149 ppi tablet in the first place, even if it did have a real dock. Windowed multitasking is a lot more practical with a decent resolution, and a lot more useful to me personally with my trusty keyboard.
22nd February 2013, 03:43 AM   |  #17  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 95
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soul TKR

You still having I/O issues with Cromi?

I do, at least transfering to a USB stick. Doesn't matter what file explorer I'm using, it freezes up the device.
Tried using different flash drives, same result.
23rd February 2013, 12:42 AM   |  #18  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,225
 
11,664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wifesabitch

I do, at least transfering to a USB stick. Doesn't matter what file explorer I'm using, it freezes up the device.
Tried using different flash drives, same result.

Which kernel are you using?
23rd February 2013, 01:28 AM   |  #19  
flhthemi's Avatar
Senior Member
Statesville, NC
Thanks Meter: 25
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Angry
Windowz 8
23rd February 2013, 05:42 PM   |  #20  
wifesabitch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 95
 
479 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbdags

Which kernel are you using?

Whatever the default option is (I'm on the lastest version, just haven't updated my sig).
I had this problem but I even unlocked, nothing has really changed for me.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes