Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,741 Members 47,326 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Improvements towards messaging app bbm/imessages

Tip us?

blackguy101
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Default Improvements towards messaging app bbm/imessages

So as much as I love android there is one thing that I kinda of envy when it comes to blackberrys and Iphones and and that would be bbm/imessages. Now im well aware there are apps out there like gtalk or chaton which acts like imessages but I personally would like to see this built into the messaging app itself. I am no developer or anything but it seems that imessages works on the device when it is linked towards the email used for the app store so would it not be easy for google to implement this into their os? I mean on the start up of each android device it does ask you for your gmail password so I was just thinking that this just may be a really nice feature to come out with key lime pie or something. Does anyone else feel this way?

sweeds
Old
Thanks Meter 73
Default Re: Improvements towards messaging app bbm/imessages

Is this any different from Google Talk? Instant Messaging tied to the Gmail account, rather than the phone number. It's just not as immensely popular.

Sent via SGS3 using Tapatalk

blackguy101
Old
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeds View Post
Is this any different from Google Talk? Instant Messaging tied to the Gmail account, rather than the phone number. It's just not as immensely popular.

Sent via SGS3 using Tapatalk
Well thats the thing. GTalk is perfect but for example all of my friends who own android products havent even heard of it. Im just thinking if google linked GTalk to a phone number then it could be good.
The Following User Says Thank You to blackguy101 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]

shawn01
Old
Thanks Meter 30

I agree. This would be amazing.

KSprec
Old