Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,635 Members 38,837 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Kernel Wiping script

Tip us?
 
FredC94
Old
(Last edited by FredC94; 17th March 2013 at 11:11 PM.)
#1  
FredC94's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 288
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Paris
Prompt Kernel Wiping script

Hello,

before flashing a new kernel is it recommanded to use a tool like GS2KernelWipe Script. I played with a lot of different kernel with my Galaxy SII, and I'm wondering if it's necessary with my beloved Nexus 10 ?
We are the unwilling led by the unqualified doing the unnecessary for the ungrateful
 
brees75
Old
#2  
brees75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 769
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredC94 View Post
Hello,

before flashing a new kernel is it recommanded to use a tool like GS2KernelWipe Script. I played with a lot of different kernel with my Galaxy SII, and I'm wondering if it's necessary with my beloved Nexus 10 ?
Necessary? No. I have switched kernels without using the script for the n10. (It is around somewhere on here, in the Apps section I think) But it does FEEL better when you do.
Android Aggression ROM Dev

Galaxy S5 (SM-G900T)
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
The Following User Says Thank You to brees75 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iKarido
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 167
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Kernel Wiping script

If you have a kernel installed that uses its own ram disk and want to install a different kernel, you need to reflash the ROM then flash the new kernel.
But if its the same kernel (updated) then flash without wiping anything because they will use the same ram disk (if they use one anyway).
 
EniGmA1987
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 735
Posts: 1,769
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKarido View Post
If you have a kernel installed that uses its own ram disk and want to install a different kernel, you need to reflash the ROM then flash the new kernel.
Only if the new kernel you are moving to does not include its own ramdisk.

If you flash a ROM, it has its own ramdisk. This would be considered the "stock" one for the ROM you are running. Flashing a kernel with its own ramdisk will override the one that comes with the ROM and you then use the new kernel one. Flashing yet another new kernel later on that also has its own ramdisk will again override the one you currently have. You dont have to re-flash the ROM in between because you are just going to overwrite portions once again anyway.

I believe KTManta and Franco both have their own ramdisks, I know that Trinity does not. So if you are on either Franco or KTManta you can either flash Trinity on top and then have a sort of hybrid of both kernels (with the majority of options and tunables being from the newest flashed kernel) or you can re-flash the ROM to get the stock ramdisk back and then flash Trinity so as to keep it "just" the Trinity kernel instead of a hybrid of it and your last used kernel.
The Following User Says Thank You to EniGmA1987 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
iKarido
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 167
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Kernel Wiping script

Quote:
Originally Posted by EniGmA1987 View Post
Only if the new kernel you are moving to does not include its own ramdisk.

If you flash a ROM, it has its own ramdisk. This would be considered the "stock" one for the ROM you are running. Flashing a kernel with its own ramdisk will override the one that comes with the ROM and you then use the new kernel one. Flashing yet another new kernel later on that also has its own ramdisk will again override the one you currently have. You dont have to re-flash the ROM in between because you are just going to overwrite portions once again anyway.

I believe KTManta and Franco both have their own ramdisks, I know that Trinity does not. So if you are on either Franco or KTManta you can either flash Trinity on top and then have a sort of hybrid of both kernels (with the majority of options and tunables being from the newest flashed kernel) or you can re-flash the ROM to get the stock ramdisk back and then flash Trinity so as to keep it "just" the Trinity kernel instead of a hybrid of it and your last used kernel.
If I have KTManta or Franco kernel and I flash Trinity on top without reflashing ROM, the ram disk will still have the mods (or whatever) the previous kernel had. So it will either boot with conflicting problems with Trinity and that ram disk and won't function properly, or it will just boot loop. Most of the time it will boot loop anyway.

This is a known fact that pops on trinity kernels thread a lot :d


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
 
brees75
Old
#6  
brees75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 323
Posts: 769
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKarido View Post
If I have KTManta or Franco kernel and I flash Trinity on top without reflashing ROM, the ram disk will still have the mods (or whatever) the previous kernel had. So it will either boot with conflicting problems with Trinity and that ram disk and won't function properly, or it will just boot loop. Most of the time it will boot loop anyway.

This is a known fact that pops on trinity kernels thread a lot :d


Sent from my Galaxy Nexus
Never had a boot loop, and never had KT manta's extra governor/scheduler options flashing Trinity over it, because that would have been awesome. But I've never bricked a device either. Guess I'm lucky that way.
Android Aggression ROM Dev

Galaxy S5 (SM-G900T)
Nexus 7
Nexus 10
 
iKarido
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 167
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Kernel Wiping script

Quote:
Originally Posted by brees75 View Post
Never had a boot loop, and never had KT manta's extra governor/scheduler options flashing Trinity over it, because that would have been awesome. But I've never bricked a device either. Guess I'm lucky that way.

Maybe KTManta uses the ROM ramdisk? I don't know for sure because I only use Trinity. And don't worry, you won't brick your device because of that.

---------- Post added at 07:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:44 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Memp2Atl85 View Post
Do I simply flash the zip file in clockwork mod or what? Currently using Franco and want to give Trinity a try

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Tapatalk HD
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic View Post
Unless he replaces the ramdisk like on all other devices, then flashing trinity straight over Franco would create a FrankenTrinity

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2

Straight from the Trinity Ten Thread.
 
EniGmA1987
Old
(Last edited by EniGmA1987; 19th March 2013 at 03:47 PM.)
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 735
Posts: 1,769
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iKarido View Post
If I have KTManta or Franco kernel and I flash Trinity on top without reflashing ROM, the ram disk will still have the mods (or whatever) the previous kernel had.
I know... Thats what I had just said.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iKarido View Post
So it will either boot with conflicting problems with Trinity and that ram disk and won't function properly, or it will just boot loop. Most of the time it will boot loop anyway.

This is a known fact that pops on trinity kernels thread a lot :d
In my experience bootloop problems from kernel incompatibility with flashing over each other is pretty rare. I actually used to use a combo on Franco's ramdisk with the glados kernel on my phone and it worked perfectly fine. Even Morfic (the maker of Trinity kernel) said you can flash his kernel on top of Franco's and it will give you a sort of hybrid of them both. See here:
Quote:
Originally Posted by morfic View Post
Unless he replaces the ramdisk like on all other devices, then flashing trinity straight over Franco would create a FrankenTrinity

Sent from my SGH-T889 using Tapatalk 2


Quote:
Originally Posted by brees75 View Post
Never had a boot loop, and never had KT manta's extra governor/scheduler options flashing Trinity over it, because that would have been awesome. But I've never bricked a device either. Guess I'm lucky that way.
The governors and such arent part of the ramdisk, thats why. It would be nice to be able to load up the specific governors you want in any kernel, but sadly thats not possible. Those are part of the actual kernel itself and the ramdisk stuff is usually performance tweaks and mods to the system.
 
FredC94
Old
#9  
FredC94's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 288
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Paris
Quote:
Originally Posted by EniGmA1987 View Post
Only if the new kernel you are moving to does not include its own ramdisk.

If you flash a ROM, it has its own ramdisk. This would be considered the "stock" one for the ROM you are running. Flashing a kernel with its own ramdisk will override the one that comes with the ROM and you then use the new kernel one. Flashing yet another new kernel later on that also has its own ramdisk will again override the one you currently have. You dont have to re-flash the ROM in between because you are just going to overwrite portions once again anyway.

I believe KTManta and Franco both have their own ramdisks, I know that Trinity does not. So if you are on either Franco or KTManta you can either flash Trinity on top and then have a sort of hybrid of both kernels (with the majority of options and tunables being from the newest flashed kernel) or you can re-flash the ROM to get the stock ramdisk back and then flash Trinity so as to keep it "just" the Trinity kernel instead of a hybrid of it and your last used kernel.
Ok, I think I understand.
Just to be sure, and regarding my original post, if I come from KTManta and want to give a test to Trinity, instead of flashing the ROM (CM10.1 ATM) can I use a kernel wiping script like GS2KernelWipe ?

Thank you
We are the unwilling led by the unqualified doing the unnecessary for the ungrateful
 
EniGmA1987
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 735
Posts: 1,769
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredC94 View Post
Ok, I think I understand.
Just to be sure, and regarding my original post, if I come from KTManta and want to give a test to Trinity, instead of flashing the ROM (CM10.1 ATM) can I use a kernel wiping script like GS2KernelWipe ?

Thank you
It does not look like that script wipes the ramdisk, which is a good thing really because if you wipe (delete) the ramdisk and then flash a new kernel that does not contain a new ramdisk then you will have serious problems. The only way to get back a stock ramdisk is to flash the ROM again.

The Following User Says Thank You to EniGmA1987 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
kernel, nexus, script, tool, wipe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes