5,600,292 Members 36,307 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is the htc one a world phone?

Tip us?
 
aqualadb03
Old
#1  
aqualadb03's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 643
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wilson NC
Question [Q] Is the htc one a world phone?

Idk if I'm using the term right, but I'm with t mobile and I know that they will offer the htc one. But that's rumored to be towards the end of march. But appearntly Europe will be getting it the first of march. So my question is: will all carriers be selling the same EXACT phone? Meaning can I get a euro version when it comes out and use it on t mobile, and still get 2g,3G,and 4g (hspa+,LTE) ? I'm very anxious to get a new phone. I'm down to the htc one and the xperia z.
Phones:
Iphone 3GS
Mytouch 4G
HTC HD7
Samsung Infuse 4G

Samsung Galaxy S2 TMO

Tablet:
Ipad 2 32 GB
 
shree.cse
Old
#2  
shree.cse's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1549
Posts: 2,833
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bangalore
Default [Q] Is the htc one a world phone?

Yeah it's a world phone, it won't be in the market before 15th march. As clove.co.uk states that. IMO Better to get from your carrier if you don't want to face any issues with network. But if you want fast updates, it's good to purchase from uk.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Kernel: Stock
My thread: Repacked Kernels for InsertCoin Evolution
HTC HD2===>HTC DESIRE HD===>HTC ONE X===>HTC ONE 64GB
Hit on if my post helps you!
 
danw_oz
Old
(Last edited by danw_oz; 21st February 2013 at 12:40 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 843
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Yes for 2g and 3g, not really for LTE in selected countries... And then I am certain that the LTE band will be tied down to that network provider. I will be amazed if this is not the case because HTC always does this, with exception of the HTC J-Butterfly (only in Japan), the reason behind this is that Japan law requires the phones to have world network support. The Sony XZ defninately covers world support on 2g,3g & 4g
 
jkforce
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 166
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default We are in the same boat!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aqualadb03 View Post
Idk if I'm using the term right, but I'm with t mobile and I know that they will offer the htc one. But that's rumored to be towards the end of march. But appearntly Europe will be getting it the first of march. So my question is: will all carriers be selling the same EXACT phone? Meaning can I get a euro version when it comes out and use it on t mobile, and still get 2g,3G,and 4g (hspa+,LTE) ? I'm very anxious to get a new phone. I'm down to the htc one and the xperia z.
We are in the same boat. I am with Tmobile and have Galaxy S3, but as soon as I saw the leaked image of HTC One, I was instantly fell in love with it and I am surely glad they kept the design. It is the kind of design and material I wanted for a long time. Anyway, cut to the point, I pre-ordered from Clove.co.uk and expansys-usa.com. Whichever can ship it first will have my money. The reason I pre-order instead of waiting is it looks like it will be cheaper this way since I am buying off-contract. Tmobile's phone usually have much higher price than other carriers like ATT. Of course you can buy att one and unlock it, but it is illegal in USA now so that complicates things. Only thing I am worrying about is the compatibility with Tmobile's upcoming LTE network. Since I am living in Houston, TX, it is only logical to think Tmobile's next LTE market will be somewhere in TX if not Houston. But, I saw their LTE band is not the one supported by HTC One. (I saw this in one of forum here. Don't have the link) Tmobile maybe make LTE version of this phone like galaxy note 2, but then that will now complicates the battery life. So I am not sure if I want to have LTE version of HTC One when the battery is not user replaceable. Besides I am more than content with current Tmobile's data speed as HSPA+ in houston area. So my point is if you are sure you will get this phone, pre-order seems the fastest one so far. I picked silver one BTW.
 
:No-Frost:
Old
#5  
:No-Frost:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 1,336
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Santiago
It might sound lazy but I'm actually really confused about the bands for the different networks in my country. I want to get an HTC One but I'm not sure if I will have 3g on my company "VTR", this company is from Chile in South America and I would be really thankful if anyone can give me a hand on this:

The website of the company is: http://www.vtr.com

Please, give me a hand on this as I'm really confused and I have been searching a lot to get more information. This is what I've found:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UMTS_frequency_bands

VTR is at the number IV AWS 1700



Also I found this:

http://www.telecompaper.com/news/vtr...-chile--690358

VTR, Nextel win 3G licences in Chile

Chile's telecommunications regulator Subtel has granted mobile operators VTR and Nextel spectrum for provision of 3G services. The tender covered three blocks of 30 MHz in the 1700/2100 MHz frequency band. Nextel won two out of three blocks of spectrum up in the 1700/2100MHz frequency bands, while VTR won the remaining block. Nextel's total offer for spectrum blocks B and C reached USD 14.7 million, while VTR won block A with an offer of USD 3.02 million. The new licences aim to boost competition on the Chilean mobile telephony market, currently divided among Entel PCS, Movistar and Claro. The Chilean telecoms market currently reaches 15 million customers. According to Rene Cortazar, minister of transport and communications, the two licence winners have a maximum of one year – that is by the second half of 2010 – to complete their 3G networks deployment across the country.





VTR 3g frecuencies: 1700/2100


I currently have an HTC Desire HD, however, I'm unable to use 3g with my device. Please help me confirm that the ONE will work on this network, else, I will have to change my network :P




A little bit more information can be found here:

http://www.apecdoc.org/site/chile/20...licence-chile/


Thank you very much for all your help
Twitter
----------------------------------------
Phone : HTC One
Recovery : CWM
ROM : ARHD (Latest)
----------------------------------------


HTC Magic 32A >> HTC Desire HD >> HTC ONE
 
danw_oz
Old
(Last edited by danw_oz; 22nd February 2013 at 02:29 AM.)
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 843
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
The phone doesn't have support for the 1700 band, but will work on the 2100 band offered by your provider. The biggest problem you face is what is the difference between bands for VTS, typically network providers will offer a faster network and or more coverage on one of their bands. If in Chile this is the 2100 band you are away laughing.

Just had a look at the specs of your HTC Desire HD and the news is bad.The new HTC one will the same as your previous phone on that network.

I don't understand what you are saying about your phone not on 3G, the 2100Mhz network is 3G, however it would seem that your provider is offering it's premium higher speed services on 1700Mhz.

I suggest you go to www.gsmarena.com then search for brands of phones that have 1700Mhz radios. So got to say HTC, and under bands select 1700 then filter, you will find only 13.

After checking this, scrub the above and only use it as a super rough guide. Because it states the Sony XZ as 1700Mhz, but no Sony website claims this that I can see.
The Following User Says Thank You to danw_oz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
:No-Frost:
Old
#7  
:No-Frost:'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 269
Posts: 1,336
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Santiago
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz View Post
The phone doesn't have support for the 1700 band, but will work on the 2100 band offered by your provider. The biggest problem you face is what is the difference between bands for VTS, typically network providers will offer a faster network and or more coverage on one of their bands. If in Chile this is the 2100 band you are away laughing.

Just had a look at the specs of your HTC Desire HD and the news is bad.The new HTC one will the same as your previous phone on that network.

I don't understand what you are saying about your phone not on 3G, the 2100Mhz network is 3G, however it would seem that your provider is offering it's premium higher speed services on 1700Mhz.

I suggest you go to www.gsmarena.com then search for brands of phones that have 1700Mhz radios. So got to say HTC, and under bands select 1700 then filter, you will find only 13.

After checking this, scrub the above and only use it as a super rough guide. Because it states the Sony XZ as 1700Mhz, but no Sony website claims this that I can see.
Thanks a lot, I hope the phone gets 3g, however, I know that Entel (another company in my country) will offer the HTC One on the third or fourth trimester of this year and it might allow LTE connection. If that's the situation, I might consider changing my mobile provider

I really appreciate your answer.

Thank you
Twitter
----------------------------------------
Phone : HTC One
Recovery : CWM
ROM : ARHD (Latest)
----------------------------------------


HTC Magic 32A >> HTC Desire HD >> HTC ONE
 
YoungAceAtlanta
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York, NY
its not worth buying the international version anymore if the US carrier versions are the same as the international one..

LTE is moving forward and HSPA+ will stop development in a few years once T-Mobile switch to LTE

im sure the T-Mobile version will be the same as the rest with LTE ready
Phone History/Current line up
 

Android:
Samsung Galaxy S5 - White
HTC One M8 - Gunmetal
Samsung Galaxy Note III
Nexus 10
iOS:
iPhone 5 iOS 7.0
iPad Mini iOS 6.X
 
matheus_sc
Old
#9  
matheus_sc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 258
Posts: 1,051
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Olimpia-SP

 
DONATE TO ME
yes i think only small 4g lte variations
 
danw_oz
Old
(Last edited by danw_oz; 22nd February 2013 at 04:12 AM.)
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 843
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungAceAtlanta View Post
its not worth buying the international version anymore if the US carrier versions are the same as the international one..

LTE is moving forward and HSPA+ will stop development in a few years once T-Mobile switch to LTE

im sure the T-Mobile version will be the same as the rest with LTE ready
Not true, there is three LTE variants in the US depending on the band eg provider The best US is AT&T which covers all of US. It all comes down to what bands your country decides to go with on LTE.

So it is a toss up between AT&T or UK model depending on your LTE band requirements.

HSPA/WCDMA:

Europe/Asia: 850/900/1900/2100 MHz

GSM/GPRS/EDGE:

850/900/1800/1900 MHz

LTE:

EU: 800/1800/2600 MHz
US (AT&T): 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz
US (TMO): 700/AWS MHz
US (Sprint): 1900 MHz
Asia: 1800/2600 Mhz

---------- Post added at 02:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:01 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by :No-Frost: View Post
Thanks a lot, I hope the phone gets 3g, however, I know that Entel (another company in my country) will offer the HTC One on the third or fourth trimester of this year and it might allow LTE connection. If that's the situation, I might consider changing my mobile provider

I really appreciate your answer.

Thank you
No worries, it's my pleasure.

As I said before your current HTC phone should be 3G on your network provider because 2100mhz is 3G.

ANd most unfortunate for you in South America is that they use such a mix of LTE bands covering most of the LTE spectrum, in this case you are better off with the Sony Xperia Z, which covers almost all of the used LTE bands.

I have used Claro in South America which has great coverage, but bad customer service, but I guess you always get that with the big players.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes