5,593,248 Members 32,445 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Wifi problem with Viper Rom

Tip us?
 
cincincy
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Wifi problem with Viper Rom

I have reinstalled the rom several times using default settings. Wifi will not turn on. Wifi works fine with Stock DNA debloat Rom. 3g/4g works fine on Viper Rom..
I am sure this is something unique with my particular phone' Any suggestions?

I am prob considered a noob. But can read and follow direction.

Thanks for any help
 
letschky
Old
#2  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 477
Posts: 572
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vienna

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cincincy View Post
I have reinstalled the rom several times using default settings. Wifi will not turn on. Wifi works fine with Stock DNA debloat Rom. 3g/4g works fine on Viper Rom..
I am sure this is something unique with my particular phone' Any suggestions?

I am prob considered a noob. But can read and follow direction.

Thanks for any help
have you flashed a different kernel (Boot.img), then you should use the flash is included in the rom

LG G Flex D955
Stock Rom Root

LG G Pad 8.3
Stock Rom Root

Older Devices:LG G2 - HTC Droid DNA - HTC One X Plus - Samsung Note II - LG Optimus 4X HD - HTC ONE X
 
rootntootn
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by letschky View Post
have you flashed a different kernel (Boot.img), then you should use the flash is included in the rom
Had the same problem, even with s-off need to flash it's boot image in fastboot with adb-it will then work fine..
 
sdamark
Old
#4  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 196
Posts: 332
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Fountain Hills, AZ.
and you have to flash the kernel "modules" to get wifi to work
 
dragonstalker
Old
#5  
dragonstalker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1179
Posts: 1,774
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grovetown, Ga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark View Post
and you have to flash the kernel "modules" to get wifi to work
Right. The boot.img is not the important part. If you want a different kernel, then flash the boot.img for that kernel. You only need to do this once. BUT! When you flash new roms, you need to reflash the wifi modules for "EACH" kernel, everytime you flash a new rom. So, save the wifi modules on your phone somewhere, and when you flash a new rom, just flash the modules again after the rom finishes before rebooting system.
 
--TMO Galaxy Note 3
--Note 10.1 2k4
-Recovery: TWRP
-Recovery: TWRP
-OS: Android 4.3
-OS: Android 4.3
-ROM: REDUX! )LabRats Tester(
-ROM: CleanRom V2
-Kernel: SaberN3 v9.5
-Kernel: Bindroid V3



Blog: MobileEscape.blogspot.com

Retired: Behold, G1, MT Fender, MT3G Slide, Vibrant, N1, HD2 (android-Froyo), Viewsonic G-Tablet, AT&T SE Xperia X10i, Samsung Galaxy Tab; HTC Inspire, HTC Sensation, Droid Charge, MYTOUCH4G , Thunderbolt, Droid DNA (traded), Note 2, HTC Rezound
 
rootntootn
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonstalker View Post
Right. The boot.img is not the important part. If you want a different kernel, then flash the boot.img for that kernel. You only need to do this once. BUT! When you flash new roms, you need to reflash the wifi modules for "EACH" kernel, everytime you flash a new rom. So, save the wifi modules on your phone somewhere, and when you flash a new rom, just flash the modules again after the rom finishes before rebooting system.

Perhaps true but flashing the boot image if you have not done so worked...at least it did for me.
 
dragonstalker
Old
#7  
dragonstalker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1179
Posts: 1,774
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Grovetown, Ga

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootntootn View Post
Perhaps true but flashing the boot image if you have not done so worked...at least it did for me.
So root, you are saying that the ops need to make it clear to flash the selected kernel (boot.img) before flashing the rom? I'm under the impression that most have already selected a kernel and flashed that before flashing the rom. Sorry if I assumed wrong.
 
--TMO Galaxy Note 3
--Note 10.1 2k4
-Recovery: TWRP
-Recovery: TWRP
-OS: Android 4.3
-OS: Android 4.3
-ROM: REDUX! )LabRats Tester(
-ROM: CleanRom V2
-Kernel: SaberN3 v9.5
-Kernel: Bindroid V3



Blog: MobileEscape.blogspot.com

Retired: Behold, G1, MT Fender, MT3G Slide, Vibrant, N1, HD2 (android-Froyo), Viewsonic G-Tablet, AT&T SE Xperia X10i, Samsung Galaxy Tab; HTC Inspire, HTC Sensation, Droid Charge, MYTOUCH4G , Thunderbolt, Droid DNA (traded), Note 2, HTC Rezound
 
Bigandrewgold
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 530
Posts: 2,371
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default Re: Wifi problem with Viper Rom

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonstalker View Post
So root, you are saying that the ops need to make it clear to flash the selected kernel (boot.img) before flashing the rom? I'm under the impression that most have already selected a kernel and flashed that before flashing the rom. Sorry if I assumed wrong.
Most roms have a kernel included in it. And if it hasn't been updated since s off came out then you will need to flash the boot.img in the thread to get everything working.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
 
rootntootn
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 20
Posts: 125
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold View Post
Most roms have a kernel included in it. And if it hasn't been updated since s off came out then you will need to flash the boot.img in the thread to get everything working.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

This is what I understand to be correct and what has worked a few times for me. S-off was supposed to eliminate this but not if the rom was written before that process was available or not specifically updated after-which is most of them at this point.
 
cincincy
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default thanks

thanks for your help. all i needed wast the correct kernel. thanks again

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Prevent Unwanted Butt Dialing with Smart Pocket Guard

You may recall that back in August of last year, we took a look atAir SwiperbyXDA … more

Google ATAP Details Project Ara in Developers’ Conference

Earlier today, the Google ATAP teamkicked offits first ever Project Ara … more

HTC Sense 6 Ported to the Nexus 5

The Google Nexus 5 is regarded as having everything an Android user needs or wants: timely updates, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Call Blocker – XDA Developer TV

In todays modern world, your number gets in peoples hands, even if you are very … more