FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Wifi problem with Viper Rom

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By cincincy, Junior Member on 25th February 2013, 06:20 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I have reinstalled the rom several times using default settings. Wifi will not turn on. Wifi works fine with Stock DNA debloat Rom. 3g/4g works fine on Viper Rom..
I am sure this is something unique with my particular phone' Any suggestions?

I am prob considered a noob. But can read and follow direction.

Thanks for any help
 
 
25th February 2013, 06:51 PM |#2  
letschky's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 645
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cincincy

I have reinstalled the rom several times using default settings. Wifi will not turn on. Wifi works fine with Stock DNA debloat Rom. 3g/4g works fine on Viper Rom..
I am sure this is something unique with my particular phone' Any suggestions?

I am prob considered a noob. But can read and follow direction.

Thanks for any help

have you flashed a different kernel (Boot.img), then you should use the flash is included in the rom
25th February 2013, 08:10 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by letschky

have you flashed a different kernel (Boot.img), then you should use the flash is included in the rom

Had the same problem, even with s-off need to flash it's boot image in fastboot with adb-it will then work fine..
25th February 2013, 08:17 PM |#4  
sdamark's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fountain Hills, AZ.
Thanks Meter: 410
 
More
and you have to flash the kernel "modules" to get wifi to work
25th February 2013, 08:22 PM |#5  
dragonstalker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Grovetown, Ga
Thanks Meter: 1,307
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdamark

and you have to flash the kernel "modules" to get wifi to work

Right. The boot.img is not the important part. If you want a different kernel, then flash the boot.img for that kernel. You only need to do this once. BUT! When you flash new roms, you need to reflash the wifi modules for "EACH" kernel, everytime you flash a new rom. So, save the wifi modules on your phone somewhere, and when you flash a new rom, just flash the modules again after the rom finishes before rebooting system.
25th February 2013, 11:00 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonstalker

Right. The boot.img is not the important part. If you want a different kernel, then flash the boot.img for that kernel. You only need to do this once. BUT! When you flash new roms, you need to reflash the wifi modules for "EACH" kernel, everytime you flash a new rom. So, save the wifi modules on your phone somewhere, and when you flash a new rom, just flash the modules again after the rom finishes before rebooting system.


Perhaps true but flashing the boot image if you have not done so worked...at least it did for me.
26th February 2013, 05:30 AM |#7  
dragonstalker's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Grovetown, Ga
Thanks Meter: 1,307
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootntootn

Perhaps true but flashing the boot image if you have not done so worked...at least it did for me.

So root, you are saying that the ops need to make it clear to flash the selected kernel (boot.img) before flashing the rom? I'm under the impression that most have already selected a kernel and flashed that before flashing the rom. Sorry if I assumed wrong.
26th February 2013, 05:35 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
More
Re: Wifi problem with Viper Rom
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonstalker

So root, you are saying that the ops need to make it clear to flash the selected kernel (boot.img) before flashing the rom? I'm under the impression that most have already selected a kernel and flashed that before flashing the rom. Sorry if I assumed wrong.

Most roms have a kernel included in it. And if it hasn't been updated since s off came out then you will need to flash the boot.img in the thread to get everything working.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
26th February 2013, 10:46 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

Most roms have a kernel included in it. And if it hasn't been updated since s off came out then you will need to flash the boot.img in the thread to get everything working.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app


This is what I understand to be correct and what has worked a few times for me. S-off was supposed to eliminate this but not if the rom was written before that process was available or not specifically updated after-which is most of them at this point.
26th February 2013, 07:53 PM |#10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
thanks
thanks for your help. all i needed wast the correct kernel. thanks again
26th February 2013, 07:58 PM |#11  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by letschky

have you flashed a different kernel (Boot.img), then you should use the flash is included in the rom

thanks, i found the correct kernel, flashed and now wifi is fine. thanks

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes