Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Newb With Rooting Questions

OP Better n' Reverse

21st February 2013, 08:28 AM   |  #11  
Better n' Reverse's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Well I followed the video exactly and I cant get ADP to run when I type in ADP the command still and have double checked everything...
21st February 2013, 03:27 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Better n' Reverse

Well I followed the video exactly and I cant get ADP to run when I type in ADP the command still and have double checked everything...

depending on what you named your directories are you going to the platform-tools directory? you need to type adb not adp, lower case not caps, and then there needs to be a command after adb. Try adb devices.
21st February 2013, 09:29 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 531
 
2,373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Re: [Q] Newb With Rooting Questions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Better n' Reverse

Well I followed the video exactly and I cant get ADP to run when I type in ADP the command still and have double checked everything...

You set up your system variables crooectly?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
21st February 2013, 10:02 PM   |  #14  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Suffolk, VA
Thanks Meter: 1,477
 
2,789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] Newb With Rooting Questions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Better n' Reverse

Well I followed the video exactly and I cant get ADP to run when I type in ADP the command still and have double checked everything...

It's adb not adp

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using XDA Premium HD app
22nd February 2013, 05:14 AM   |  #15  
Better n' Reverse's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by TJMac44

depending on what you named your directories are you going to the platform-tools directory? you need to type adb not adp, lower case not caps, and then there needs to be a command after adb. Try adb devices.

I believe so...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigandrewgold

You set up your system variables crooectly?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

Like I said I followed that vid exactly so...

Quote:
Originally Posted by .torrented

It's adb not adp

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using XDA Premium HD app

Ya thats what I meant just wasnt paying attention last night
22nd February 2013, 03:14 PM   |  #16  
Better n' Reverse's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Well I got it unlocked finally but now when I go to flash the Recovery I just get an error... Sometimes the "emulator" one, "waiting on the device" , Or just cant the find file... Just doing it straight from the comand I open in the file or using Hansoon2000's tool...
22nd February 2013, 06:33 PM   |  #17  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quick question
Hey, going to do a little thread jacking here. It seems like this would be the best place to ask my question. I'm a long-time iOS user that just switched and silly me accepted the OTA 2.04.605 update. Now, if I performed a hard reset wouldn't that put my software back to its factory settings and would allow me to unlock my bootloader? Sorry if this annoying just trying to make sure it'll work before I go through the hassle of restoring. Thanks for any help!
22nd February 2013, 06:44 PM   |  #18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 46
 
216 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Better n' Reverse

Well I got it unlocked finally but now when I go to flash the Recovery I just get an error... Sometimes the "emulator" one, "waiting on the device" , Or just cant the find file... Just doing it straight from the comand I open in the file or using Hansoon2000's tool...

Your phone needs to be in fastboot for you to find it. Connect the phone, boot into the bootloader, enter fastboot, open a new command prompt, and try "fastboot devices". you should see the phone.

If you can't find the file then you're not in the right directory. Make sure you navigate to the folder that contains the file then run the command. (or you can just give it the full path to the file)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASAPscotty

Hey, going to do a little thread jacking here. It seems like this would be the best place to ask my question. I'm a long-time iOS user that just switched and silly me accepted the OTA 2.04.605 update. Now, if I performed a hard reset wouldn't that put my software back to its factory settings and would allow me to unlock my bootloader? Sorry if this annoying just trying to make sure it'll work before I go through the hassle of restoring. Thanks for any help!

No, I don't think that'll help. The factory reset basically wipes memory and restores the original ROM. The OTA updates the radios / kernel. But don't quote me on that. I'll let a dev who knows better comment.
Last edited by drumz0rz; 22nd February 2013 at 06:46 PM.
22nd February 2013, 07:02 PM   |  #19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumz0rz

No, I don't think that'll help. The factory reset basically wipes memory and restores the original ROM. The OTA updates the radios / kernel. But don't quote me on that. I'll let a dev who knows better comment.

I think you are right because I have not heard of anyone suggesting this, and it was just my noob idea! Thanks for the help.
22nd February 2013, 07:29 PM   |  #20  
Senior Member
Salt Lake City, UT
Thanks Meter: 144
 
504 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASAPscotty

Hey, going to do a little thread jacking here. It seems like this would be the best place to ask my question. I'm a long-time iOS user that just switched and silly me accepted the OTA 2.04.605 update. Now, if I performed a hard reset wouldn't that put my software back to its factory settings and would allow me to unlock my bootloader? Sorry if this annoying just trying to make sure it'll work before I go through the hassle of restoring. Thanks for any help!

This question has been answered, but I thought I'd provide a little more detail to their answers:

On android, the memory is divided into several partitions (you might think of it like different disk drives), including a /boot, /system, and /data partition. The /boot partition is where the kernel (the heart of the android o/s) resides; the /system (where the bulk of the android o/s resides); the /data is where your apps and personal data reside. The /boot and /system partitions require system administrator level rights in order to change the information stored there (the system administrator account on android/linux is known as "root" or "superuser").

The update that came from VZW changed elements in the /system and /boot directories, using a superuser key to grant the update permission to change the files on those partitions.

Unfortunately, a factory reset only essentially re-formats the /data partition, wiping out all the user information stored there, but doesn't change the /system or /boot partitions.

The root process essentially hacks the device to gain system administrator rights to the android phone, using exploits in the android o/s. This is essentially a cat and mouse game. The update sent by VZW/HTC patches the exploits that were used to gain root access (that is why it is always dangerous to accept updates from VZW/HTC).

Hopefully the developers on this website will be able to find another exploit/weakness, and provide a way for those who have phones that have the update to obtain root, unlock the bootloader (another partition), and gain s-off (another level of turning a security flag to "off" so that even more partitions can be accessed/changed (ie.the /radio partition).

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to jasoraso For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes