Post Reply

testers needed- reset your lock status flag

OP scotty1223

20th February 2013, 11:15 AM   |  #1  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,381
 
2,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
since the current s-off method is not resetting your lock status flag, i figured there would be a demand for this. it all started from this thread in the gsm evo 3d section: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1970252

*this is not a modified or hex edited hboot. this is resetting your lock flag,so that your phone will correctly display locked on the hboot screen

ive verified the lock location on just about every s3 phone jpbear supports,as well as a couple s4 dual core devices- LTEvo,inc 4g LTE,and one S.

ive had a friend dump his DNA mmcblk0p3 and the lock flag location is the same,with an extra character that ive not seen prior. he cannot test the mods,as he is dependent on his phone for work,and cant be without it.

0x8400 on his dna looked like this:
Code:
03 00 00 00 48 54 43 55 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00....HTCU........
the "01" after 48 54 43 55 i have never seen on any other device.

now that we have s off,we an explore this further. first test would be to dump mmcblk0p3, hex edit it,changing 0x8400 to 00000000,and reflash it. id like someone fairly savy to do this,as i cant gaurantee it wont melt your shiny dna into a smoldering pile of goo

dump,edit and reflash in this manner:
Code:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Scott>cd c:\mini-adb_vigor

c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached
HTxxxxxxxxxx    device


c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb shell
shell@android:/ $ su
su
shell@android:/ # dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/sdcard2/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3 of=/sdcard2/mmcblk0p3
64734+0 records in
64734+0 records out
33143808 bytes transferred in 9.519 secs (3481858 bytes/sec)
shell@android:/ # exit
exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
exit

c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb pull /sdcard2/mmcblk0p3
2292 KB/s (33143808 bytes in 14.116s)

*modify mmcblk0p3 with a hex editor

c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb push mmcblk0p3mod /sdcard2/mmcblk0p3mod
2478 KB/s (33143808 bytes in 13.059s)

c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb shell
shell@android:/ $ su
su
shell@android:/ # dd if=/sdcard2/mmcblk0p3mod of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
dd if=/sdcard2/mmcblk0p3mod of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p3
64734+0 records in
64734+0 records out
33143808 bytes transferred in 18.937 secs (1750214 bytes/sec)
shell@android:/ # exit
exit
shell@android:/ $ exit
exit

c:\mini-adb_vigor>adb reboot bootloader

c:\mini-adb_vigor>

if this is successful,some less experienced users are welcome to try flashing this zip files. see the following thread for zip file links and instructions: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2155955

again,this has not been tested on a quad core s4 phone. i cannot gaurantee the hex edit zips wil work,fail,or brick your phone.

i just wanted to get this info to the comunity so we can figure it out
Last edited by scotty1223; 20th February 2013 at 11:26 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to scotty1223 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2013, 01:45 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 116
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Is it not possible to dump that block before s-off for comparison?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
20th February 2013, 02:36 PM   |  #3  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,381
 
2,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyJelly69

Is it not possible to dump that block before s-off for comparison?

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app

yes. the dump i have is from an s-on phone. as i said above, the next step is to try and rewrite mmcblk0p3 line 0x8400 and flash it back,now that we have s off. that block is write protected while s on,so there was nothing we could do with this until now.

the before and after s off dumps wont show much different,with exception that 0x8400 is now 00 instead of 03. HTCU or HTCL do not change.

now if the 01 at 0x8408 disapears after s-off,that would be interesting...

maybe someone can shed some light on that character? as i mentioned,ive not seen it in any other phone ive checked.
20th February 2013, 02:54 PM   |  #4  
mopartonyg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L.A. Area
Thanks Meter: 159
 
702 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
scotty does it lock the device or just show locked? sorry if this is a noob bootloader question.
20th February 2013, 03:21 PM   |  #5  
yutsoku's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cincinnati, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 77
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
I'm S-Off, and this is what 0x8400 reads
Code:
00 00 00 00 48 54 43 55 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ....HTCU........
I don't know if I want to reflash it though haha... I changed it..
let me go through my breathing techniques

...You just wanted to change the whole row to 00 right?
Last edited by yutsoku; 20th February 2013 at 03:32 PM.
20th February 2013, 03:46 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Indianapolis
Thanks Meter: 116
 
566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by yutsoku

I'm S-Off, and this is what 0x8400 reads

Code:
00 00 00 00 48 54 43 55 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ....HTCU........
I don't know if I want to reflash it though haha... I changed it..
let me go through my breathing techniques

...You just wanted to change the whole row to 00 right?

I don't think you change the 01 to 00 just the stuff before.
Or you could use the zip provided?

let us know...
Last edited by KyJelly69; 20th February 2013 at 03:50 PM.
20th February 2013, 07:12 PM   |  #7  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Suffolk, VA
Thanks Meter: 1,476
 
2,789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
what exactly is this useful for? setting the hboot back to locked? or s-on?
20th February 2013, 07:15 PM   |  #8  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,381
 
2,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by .torrented

what exactly is this useful for? setting the hboot back to locked? or s-on?

Locked. For Warranty

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
20th February 2013, 07:22 PM   |  #9  
scotty1223's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,381
 
2,312 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Re: testers needed- reset your lock status flag
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyJelly69

I don't think you change the 01 to 00 just the stuff before.
Or you could use the zip provided?

let us know...

Leaving the 01 could have adverse affects(brick) as well. What we need is a dump from a locked phone to be more sure. I am 95 percent sure a locked phone will have all zeros. But, I cannot guarantee that.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
20th February 2013, 07:22 PM   |  #10  
CharliesTheMan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,483
 
3,666 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by scotty1223

Locked. For Warranty

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2

Scotty sending you a PM

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Droid DNA Original Android Development by ThreadRank