5,595,000 Members 39,482 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How can I hide the Navigation Bar?

Tip us?
 
lesdense
Old
#1  
lesdense's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 153
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default [Q] How can I hide the Navigation Bar?

Just upgraded to Razr Maxx HD running JB (4.1.1). I'm a Button Savior guy (soft keys) so I have no use for the space-wasting navigation bar that spans the bottom of the screen. I can't find a way to disable it. I've read LOTS of entries on the subject but haven't found the right solution. I tried modifying build.prop with qemu.hw.mainkeys=1. That worked, sort of (left the very bottom of the screen blank and unusable) but generated lots of those System UI (or whatever it is) error messages. I installed a couple of different apps that are supposed to make the Navigation Bar disappear (NavBar and FullScreenToggle, for instance) but all that does is make the same build.prop entry, which generates the same error messages. One app hid the Navigation Bar but kept the space it took up blank. What's the point of THAT? I read that CM10.1 and ParanoidAndroid have a control to hide the Navigation Bar, and I don't mind flashing a new ROM, but the custom JB ROMs seem to still have bugs in areas that would be a problem for me (BT, wi-fi tether, camera).

So -- I can't find a solution. I believed I've searched pretty thoroughly but hopefully I've overlooked something. My Maxx HD is rooted, of course (w/Safestrap), and running the stock ROM. I love the phone. Just want to be able to hide/disable the Navigation Bar and have full use of the space it takes up.
 
osval.
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 43
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Asunción
wrong forum bro
LATAM XT910 ### BMM 0.3.4 ### KEXEC JBX 2.0.5 9dec ### S1 Stock JB SPUL-18 S2 CM 11 experimental 7dec
 
lesdense
Old
#3  
lesdense's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 153
Join Date: Mar 2011
Why? Because it's a Maxx HD? Won't apps, tweaks and ROMs work the same way on all the Razrs?
 
rockstarr001
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 47
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default Re: [Q] How can I hide the Navigation Bar?

Bump for you because I'm in the same boat. I have my other cm rom tweaked perfectly but it's not a daily driver because of camera and tether.

Ideally it would be a solution for rooted stock rom

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using xda app-developers app
 
saloums7
Old
(Last edited by saloums7; 23rd February 2013 at 03:47 PM.)
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 39
Posts: 244
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Montreal
My RAZR HD is on JB 4.1.2 and I managed to hide the Navbar with qemu.hw.mainkeys=1. I used to get SystemUI crashes on ICS, but since JB no crash whatsoever.
Current devices : Sony Xperia Z1, Motorola RAZR HD XT925, Samsung Galaxy Note 8 Wifi
Past devices : Motorola RAZR XT910
 
lesdense
Old
#6  
lesdense's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 153
Join Date: Mar 2011
If qemu.hw.mainkeys=1 worked for me (without FCs) I'd be done. All I want to do is disable the Navigation Bar. I don't want to hide the System (Notification) Bar. I don't need to toggle the Nav Bar on and off. I just want to be able to use my full screen. I have to say, Goggle putting out JB for smartphones with a bar on top and another bar on the bottom seems stupid. They consolidate the bars on the larger screens, not on the smaller screens.

Is your HD on the stock ROM? How did you get 4.1.2? I'm still on 4.1.1 and my system says it's up to date.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get the AOSP Lock Screen on Your ICS-Powered Samsung Device

Android is the only popular mobile operating system that allows users, … more

Motorola Droid RAZR HD and M to Receive KitKat in a “Few More Weeks”

Verizon and Motorola shocked us all back in November when … more

[APK] YouTube Update to 5.6 Now Lets You Cast Live Video to Your Chromecast

Earlier today, we talked about how Google brought two new apps to … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.2 Now Rolling Out to the AT&T Galaxy S 4 Active

A little under two months ago, AT&T started rolling out … more