Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,192 Members 38,209 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Cross flashing radios

Tip us?
 
Riyal
Old
(Last edited by Riyal; 22nd February 2013 at 03:28 AM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,668
Posts: 2,877
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Iloilo City

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [Q] Cross flashing radios

Hi! I am also a current HTC user(Just not one of these One series) and I would like to ask if it's possible to cross flash radios from any variants of HTC One?

The reason is I asked HTC on their official facebook pages about LTE support of the HTC one and they said that the LTE frequencies that will be enabled on the HTC One depends on what region it was released. So just wondering if let's say I would buy the HTC One from europe(Whic has different LTE frequencies compared to our country) will I be able to flash a radio baseband of a HTC One from let's say asia to switch frequencies?

The reason why I asked this is because I noticed that past HTC devices like HTC One S and One X etc. has different variants depending on what network/region it was bought.


A good example is

Can I flash the radio of HTC One which was has a uk radio/baseband into a HTC One with an asia radio/baseband?
 
djq
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 157
Join Date: Dec 2012
no
The Following User Says Thank You to djq For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Riyal
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,668
Posts: 2,877
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Iloilo City

 
DONATE TO ME
You sure about that? Hmm isn't it a tedious task for HTC to make different hardware per region just to complicate things?
 
danw_oz
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 870
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal View Post
Hi! I am also a current HTC user(Just not one of these One series) and I would like to ask if it's possible to cross flash radios from any variants of HTC One?

The reason is I asked HTC on their official facebook pages about LTE support of the HTC one and they said that the LTE frequencies that will be enabled on the HTC One depends on what region it was released. So just wondering if let's say I would buy the HTC One from europe(Whic has different LTE frequencies compared to our country) will I be able to flash a radio baseband of a HTC One from let's say asia to switch frequencies?

The reason why I asked this is because I noticed that past HTC devices like HTC One S and One X etc. has different variants depending on what network/region it was bought.


A good example is

Can I flash the radio of HTC One which was has a uk radio/baseband into a HTC One with an asia radio/baseband?
No, they use different bands in the hardware. Can an AM radio pick up FM, no.

US use different bands to pretty much the rest of the world. In America the AT&T model covers all america, the EU model should cover most of the rest of the world.

LTE:

EU: 800/1800/2600 MHz
US (AT&T): 700/850/AWS/1900 MHz
US (TMO): 700/AWS MHz
US (Sprint): 1900 MHz
Asia: 1800/2600 Mhz
The Following User Says Thank You to danw_oz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Riyal
Old
(Last edited by Riyal; 26th February 2013 at 05:12 AM.)
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,668
Posts: 2,877
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Iloilo City

 
DONATE TO ME
Ok thanks! Read the info on the other thread! Anyways just to be sure I am gonna try cross flashing basebands one I get the device. At least it won't do any permanent brick anyways. I still believe it should be possible since they are using qualcomm modems on this device. And the modem I am talking about is has support for every LTE frequencies in the world.


https://chipworks.secure.force.com/c...u=QUA-MDM9215M

And also
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz View Post
No, they use different bands in the hardware. Can an AM radio pick up FM, no.
This is not a matter of FM to AM this a matter of letting the chip recieve 87.5mhz frequency and let it also recieve 108mhz frequency
 
danw_oz
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 870
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brisbane
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal View Post
Ok thanks! Read the info on the other thread! Anyways just to be sure I am gonna try cross flashing basebands one I get the device. At least it won't do any permanent brick anyways. I still believe it should be possible since they are using qualcomm modems on this device. And the modem I am talking about is has support for every LTE frequencies in the world.


https://chipworks.secure.force.com/c...u=QUA-MDM9215M
Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/
 
Riyal
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1,668
Posts: 2,877
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Iloilo City

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz View Post
Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/
Ok sorry I am not talking about a real global LTE support but at least. The HTC One's modem can support this LTE frequency bands.

700 / 800 / 850 / 900 / 1700 / 1800 / 1900 / 2100 / 2600

And if you ask me I think that would be enough to make 4G work on almost all parts of the globe.
 
scottspa74
Old
#8  
scottspa74's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,810
Posts: 8,404
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Re: [Q] Cross flashing radios

Quote:
Originally Posted by danw_oz View Post
Wrong, common misconception, it does not support LTE frequencies world wide. And it is funny we should be talking about this today because Qualcomm has just 4 hours ago announced such a beast that you are referring to, so obviously it is not available in any device. http://www.engadget.com/2013/02/22/q...obal-lte-chip/
Ha! I just saw an article yesterday about new Qualcomm chip that includes/supports all bands (though that may be per region, ex US, Europe, Asia). Supposed to make it easier for manufacturers to build one device, and not one device per carrier.
@OP, I would not try to flash radio not intended for your device. If partition sizes are different...brick. at least, that's my understanding.

From my Evo LTE, yup.
Evo LTE=$XXX.XX ~ XDADevs = PRICELESS
------
Evo LTE. AKA "the beast" . Thanks regaw_lienad, you're a genius.
ROM: AOKP
Kernel: komodo v7
Hboot: lazy panda S-off 1.12.222

Evo 4G HW002
Rom: Deck GB
Kernel: SZ 0.savaged zen21
Recovery: AmonRa 1.80

- thanks whitslack & fastRX8 & Netarchy & Toast, of course. - my Evo: the house that toast built (& many other XDAers)- thank you all
 
Indy1337
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: May 2011
Sorry, but I can't really follow up know,

Is it now possible to flash a new radio rom on an US One, so it will use Europe Bands for LTE?
 
nullkill
Old
#10  
nullkill's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 359
Posts: 1,371
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy1337 View Post
Sorry, but I can't really follow up know,

Is it now possible to flash a new radio rom on an US One, so it will use Europe Bands for LTE?
NOT YET. Maybe never but probably soon.
Rooting or flashing a custom ROM on your phone does not affect warranty http://www.xda-developers.com/xda-tv...t-void-xda-tv/

The Following User Says Thank You to nullkill For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes