Microsoft to Counter “OK Google” with Bing Torque

When Microsoft is making apps for Android, users should be aware that something … more

Google Confirms “Android Lollipop Day” for November 3rd

A little over a week ago, Google announced the latest iteration of … more

Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more
Post Reply

Note 2 WiFi both 2.4 & 5.0 GHz

OP RDI

22nd February 2013, 04:29 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 46
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Donate to Me
More
I ran WiFi Analyzer and it shows all the traffic on both and which channels are empty. The 5GHz band is a N-150

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by RDI; 22nd February 2013 at 06:19 PM.
22nd February 2013, 06:52 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 221
 
2,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDI

I ran WiFi Analyzer and it shows all the traffic on both and which channels are empty. The 5GHz band is a N-150

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

best way to test for sure would be to put the modem in 5ghz only mode. sucks that if its there you cant configure it in your settings. but then again i'm on a custom rom. So it may be there on stock.
23rd February 2013, 07:13 AM   |  #3  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 2,544
 
5,156 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by RDI

I ran WiFi Analyzer and it shows all the traffic on both and which channels are empty. The 5GHz band is a N-150

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

okay so what are you asking?
The Following User Says Thank You to hyelton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2013, 11:15 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 46
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: Note 2 WiFi both 2.4 & 5.0 GHz
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton

okay so what are you asking?

Not asking, just didn't know that the Note 2 was dual standard. The best Link Speed @ 2.4 is 72 Mbps & @ 5.0 is 150 Mbps

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 02:08 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Re: Note 2 WiFi both 2.4 & 5.0 GHz
Problem worth of 5 ghz is the range is very small.

Sent from my SGH-I317M using xda premium
23rd February 2013, 05:07 PM   |  #6  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 2,544
 
5,156 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaestroSeven

Problem worth of 5 ghz is the range is very small.

Sent from my SGH-I317M using xda premium

5ghz range on the Note 2 is pretty good depends on your router. my 5ghz is the same in my 2 story house is as my 2.4ghz with my ASUS rt-56u

now my linksys 5ghz router sucks
23rd February 2013, 05:19 PM   |  #7  
g2tegg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Hammer
Thanks Meter: 112
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
The real advantage of 5Ghz higher throughput (less noise, depending on where you live) which makes its only advantage is streaming media, file sharing, etc.. 2.4Ghz covers a larger area, and doesn't have near the amount of "dead zones" as 5Gz.
I use both, but when I'm on the other side of my house, the 5Ghz signal is generally -10 to -15dB worse then my 2.4Ghz signal.

---------- Post added at 06:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:10 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton

5ghz range on the Note 2 is pretty good depends on your router. my 5ghz is the same in my 2 story house is as my 2.4ghz with my ASUS rt-56u

now my linksys 5ghz router sucks

It typically appears that way because of the amount of noise on 2.4Ghz. Where I live, in a subdivision, there is absolutely no clean channels. The airways are so clogged because routers can only operate between 11 (I think?) channels. To defend my theory I brought home a spectrum analyzer and was amazed. Every house in this survey is operating a router.
Dual band routers aren't as common, as well as less distance so the noise levels are typically great on 5Ghz. As I said earlier, the only advantage of 5Ghz is if you plan on streaming HD movies (lets say from a media centre to Boxee Box/Apple TV/Roku), or transferring files. 2.4Ghz will do just fine for everything else considering typical internet packages are less then 100Mb always.
23rd February 2013, 05:28 PM   |  #8  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Wilmington
Thanks Meter: 2,544
 
5,156 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by g2tegg

The real advantage of 5Ghz higher throughput (less noise, depending on where you live) which makes its only advantage is streaming media, file sharing, etc.. 2.4Ghz covers a larger area, and doesn't have near the amount of "dead zones" as 5Gz.
I use both, but when I'm on the other side of my house, the 5Ghz signal is generally -10 to -15dB worse then my 2.4Ghz signal.

---------- Post added at 06:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:10 PM ----------



It typically appears that way because of the amount of noise on 2.4Ghz. Where I live, in a subdivision, there is absolutely no clean channels. The airways are so clogged because routers can only operate between 11 (I think?) channels. To defend my theory I brought home a spectrum analyzer and was amazed. Every house in this survey is operating a router.
Dual band routers aren't as common, as well as less distance so the noise levels are typically great on 5Ghz. As I said earlier, the only advantage of 5Ghz is if you plan on streaming HD movies (lets say from a media centre to Boxee Box/Apple TV/Roku), or transferring files. 2.4Ghz will do just fine for everything else considering typical internet packages are less then 100Mb always.

I`m the ONLY person around who has it haha so only networks are mine which are 3
23rd February 2013, 05:59 PM   |  #9  
g2tegg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Hammer
Thanks Meter: 112
 
500 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton

I`m the ONLY person around who has it haha so only networks are mine which are 3

HA well there was so much 2.4Ghz noise in my area that I decided to install one of my outdoor radios in my house. They can be configured in such a way that WiFi devices can associate with it.
Needless to say, my wireless range is now 2 Km from my house lol. I'll probably die one day from cancer because of too much RF energy, but so far so good. Wife and I just had baby number 4 so it hasn't done a whole lot yet haha!!
24th February 2013, 04:34 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag Tampa, FL
Thanks Meter: 46
 
450 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Donate to Me
More
Re: Note 2 WiFi both 2.4 & 5.0 GHz
Is there any way to get the Note 2 to connect on both 2.4 & 5.0 at the same time?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note II General by ThreadRank