Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,949 Members 43,322 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[REQ] Remove "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" Tool

Tip us?
 
drumz0rz
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 46
Posts: 216
Join Date: Mar 2011
Question [REQ] Remove "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" Tool

Is it possible / advisable to remove the "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" tool? I think that's what's triggering the OTA update. I see it running every now and then. I'd feel more comfortable with it off my phone.
HTC One M8
HTC Droid DNA - Retired
HTC Thunderbolt - Retired
 
.torrented
Old
(Last edited by .torrented; 22nd February 2013 at 04:51 PM.)
#2  
.torrented's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,474
Posts: 2,789
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Suffolk, VA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumz0rz View Post
Is it possible / advisable to remove the "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" tool? I think that's what's triggering the OTA update. I see it running every now and then. I'd feel more comfortable with it off my phone.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2149417

this is what you want to do... and yes you can remove the Remote Diagnosis tool too
 
CharliesTheMan
Old
#3  
CharliesTheMan's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,483
Posts: 3,666
Join Date: May 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [REQ] Remove "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" Tool

I kill off anything like that and its never been a problem. If its running on its own sometimes it will help your battery life too when you get rid of it.

Sent from my DNA... S-Off like a baws
Help CharliesTheMan out by signing up for Copy with this link https://copy.com?r=lK6L1Y

The Following User Says Thank You to CharliesTheMan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
crpalmer
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2,312
Posts: 1,623
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [REQ] Remove "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumz0rz View Post
Is it possible / advisable to remove the "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" tool? I think that's what's triggering the OTA update. I see it running every now and then. I'd feel more comfortable with it off my phone.
My kernel disables this service and I still received the OTA so I don't think it is related.
 
MicroMod777
Old
(Last edited by MicroMod777; 23rd February 2013 at 04:05 AM.)
#5  
MicroMod777's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,933
Posts: 4,066
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Los Angeles

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: [REQ] Remove "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" Tool

Quote:
Originally Posted by drumz0rz View Post
Is it possible / advisable to remove the "Verizon Remote Diagnosis" tool? I think that's what's triggering the OTA update. I see it running every now and then. I'd feel more comfortable with it off my phone.
The tool cannot be used without a security key tech support provides when activated.

As a tech agent for big red, I've only used it a couple times when customers have no clue how to use their phones. In those instances, its a pricesless tool!

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
 
zone23
Old
#6  
zone23's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,196
Posts: 5,261
Join Date: Feb 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by MicroMod777 View Post
The tool cannot be used without a security key tech support provides when activated.

As a tech agent for big red, I've only used it a couple times when customers have no clue how to use their phones. In those instances, its a pricesless tool!

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2
Sounds like a cool tool would love it if I could use it from my desktop. If I could use a RDP from my home computer that would be sweet. I personally delete it from the ROM that and the other files mentioned in post above.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more

Google Play Services Updated to Version 6.1

In addition to Android operating system proper, Google is focusing hard on giving the developers … more

CyanogenMod 11 M10 Available for Supported Devices

Summer vacation isover for most students out there, and it’s the time to get back to … more

XDA Forums Added for the First Batch of Android One Devices!

Just yesterday, we talked about the highly anticipated launch of the first batch … more