Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Really quick questions

OP lepapirriky

23rd February 2013, 03:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
I know this a different forum but I know some people will know this.

My brother will be here in the states for 1 year and he wants the gs3, so we will be buying an at&t phone to use the sim card from gosmart. Now my question is, will the phone just work like that? What im afraid (like with sprint) if you brake your contract the phone will have bad esn, is it thr same case with gsm phones?

Thank you very much for your time!

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 03:04 PM   |  #2  
GiantJay's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sacramento, CA
Thanks Meter: 597
 
1,530 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Re: Really quick questions
This is just from what I've heard from people about this sort of thing, not an expert by any means. Is it unlocked, probably not if it is a contract phone. So you won't be able to use it.
Edit
Wait I'm not sure what go smart is? So you want to buy a phone here and use it here for a year then take it back over seas? Anything you do depends if it is unlocked or not. If it is unlocked, sometimes your carrier has to do this like Verizon, you can do whatever you want with it. If it is locked you either have to get it unlocked or possibly flash it yourself which is now illegal again.
Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by GiantJay; 23rd February 2013 at 03:08 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to GiantJay For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2013, 05:46 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Re: Really quick questions
Well thats thing im not sure. This guys on craiglist is selling and said he bought the gs3 and then his job gave him an iphone. Im guessing the phone is not unlock or is it?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 07:59 PM   |  #4  
CNexus's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag /home/cnexus/android
Thanks Meter: 13,743
 
9,059 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: Really quick questions
Quote:
Originally Posted by lepapirriky

Well thats thing im not sure. This guys on craiglist is selling and said he bought the gs3 and then his job gave him an iphone. Im guessing the phone is not unlock or is it?

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2

Well in that case you can only wait and see when you have the phone in hand
For GSM phones though, I think that the sim card is all you need unlike CDMA phones where you need a clean ESN as well
If anyone knows otherwise or would like to correct me, please do so

Sent from my PG06100
The Following User Says Thank You to CNexus For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 02:26 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Re: Really quick questions
Thank you everyone for helping me!!

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes