Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

S-off boot loader question

23rd February 2013, 02:59 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
If you relocked and ran a ruu, and decided you want to unlock your boot loader again do you have to use your unlock token? Or with s-off can you just unlock in fast boot (fastboot oem unlock)?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 03:42 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,031
 
6,864 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Re: S-off boot loader question
S-off bypasses bootloader lock. There is no reason you would need to unlock bootloader for anything.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 04:04 PM   |  #3  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,133
 
2,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

S-off bypasses bootloader lock. There is no reason you would need to unlock bootloader for anything.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app

Damn i wish i wouod have kniwn this last night lol... Wanted everything 100% fresh, so i relocked, ran the ruu, then got the unlock token from htcdev lol... I couod have shaved some time from the whoke process

Whats the best method redpoint? I tried to fastboot twrp while i was locked after ruu and i kept failing.... Would i be able to simply "fastboot oem unlock"?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by InflatedTitan; 23rd February 2013 at 04:08 PM.
23rd February 2013, 04:12 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

S-off bypasses bootloader lock. There is no reason you would need to unlock bootloader for anything.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app

So I can just ruu to whatever I want now...not locking back?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 04:16 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag san fran california
Thanks Meter: 447
 
1,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Cloud Search
I'm sure fastboot oem unlock would work... You should be failing to install twrp there is no need of the bootloadrr unlocking...what's the process your taking to install twrp

---------- Post added at 05:16 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:14 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by InflatedTitan

Damn i wish i wouod have kniwn this last night lol... Wanted everything 100% fresh, so i relocked, ran the ruu, then got the unlock token from htcdev lol... I couod have shaved some time from the whoke process

Whats the best method redpoint? I tried to fastboot twrp while i was locked after ruu and i kept failing.... Would i be able to simply "fastboot oem unlock"?

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2

I know you're quite intelligent and I'm not trying to step on your intelligence..but are you sure your putting in the right commands for twrp?
23rd February 2013, 09:37 PM   |  #6  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,133
 
2,766 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: [BOOT & DOWN ANIMATIONS(EVEN SOUND)][TeamDART] For ONE X (Taking requests)[118 to
Fastboot flash recovery openrecoveryblahblahblah

I know the commands... Once I unlocked through htcdev it was success the first time I fastbooted it... I'm just trying to learn about the advantages of s-off lol.

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
23rd February 2013, 10:05 PM   |  #7  
mirGantrophy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,425
 
2,080 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

S-off bypasses bootloader lock. There is no reason you would need to unlock bootloader for anything.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda app-developers app

Weird.
I had RUU'd my phone (to remove tampered flag) and left it s-off
At this point it says ***RELOCKED*** AND s-off

Attempted to "fastboot flash recovery twrp.img"
Error: remote not allowed

Didn't work until I unlocked my bootloader again. :s
The Following User Says Thank You to mirGantrophy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2013, 10:22 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirGantrophy

Weird.
I had RUU'd my phone (to remove tampered flag) and left it s-off
At this point it says ***RELOCKED*** AND s-off

Attempted to "fastboot flash recovery twrp.img"
Error: remote not allowed

Didn't work until I unlocked my bootloader again. :s

Did you lock your boot loader prior to ruuing?

And could you unlock by just fastboot OEM unlock?

Or did you have to do the whole token thing?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
23rd February 2013, 11:17 PM   |  #9  
mirGantrophy's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,425
 
2,080 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joho5

Did you lock your boot loader prior to ruuing?

And could you unlock by just fastboot OEM unlock?

Or did you have to do the whole token thing?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

i think i left it unlocked.. and no, I had my unlock token on a USB from the first time.
24th February 2013, 12:06 AM   |  #10  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,839
 
1,495 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
If you guys just want it to say locked and are s off I'll post up a unsigned hboot you can just flash......I'll need a quick tester but it should be fine

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One X Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank