Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S-off boot loader question

OP joho5

24th February 2013, 01:15 AM   |  #11  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
My main thing is knowing if I have to lock the boot loader to running a ruu now. You used to have to. Wondering because if I end up selling the phone to a user who doesn't root, flash, etc...and I want to get it to stock...do I lock or not.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 01:20 AM   |  #12  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,843
 
1,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
If your s-off just keep it locked. Unlocking doesn't give you any extra benefit

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 01:33 AM   |  #13  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by 18th.abn

If your s-off just keep it locked. Unlocking doesn't give you any extra benefit

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

Can I still issue fast boot commands with s-off but locked boot loader?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 01:44 AM   |  #14  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,843
 
1,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
Should be able to. Just keep it locked and flash a recovery to test it.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 02:06 AM   |  #15  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,143
 
2,788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by joho5

Can I still issue fast boot commands with s-off but locked boot loader?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using xda app-developers app

I couldn't.... I ran fastboot oem lock to relock it... Tried to fastboot twrp and had a FAIL

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 05:05 AM   |  #16  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,276
 
7,490 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Re: S-off boot loader question
Quote:
Originally Posted by InflatedTitan

I couldn't.... I ran fastboot oem lock to relock it... Tried to fastboot twrp and had a FAIL

Weird. Either something else is going on here, or it violates the definition if S-off, which us supposed to mean all security is off.

Sent from my HTC_Flyer_P512_NA using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 05:19 AM   |  #17  
InflatedTitan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,143
 
2,788 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Re: S-off boot loader question
Yep... But like I said earlier, as soon as I unlocked via htcdev process, I did the exact same command and it was a successful fastboot flash... But i haven't a clue, this is the first device I've ever had that was s-off ...

Sent from my HTC One X using Tapatalk 2
24th February 2013, 06:20 AM   |  #18  
18th.abn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,843
 
1,497 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Re: S-off boot loader question
Its just the bootloader doing what its supposed to do then. Evita will probably get a eng hboot at some point so it doesn't need to be unlocked and s off. In the mean time I would just keep it unlocked with s off I suppose. There's so many things I want to check with s off now but can't get my hands on one anymore

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to 18th.abn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 07:17 AM   |  #19  
Kole_Ackerson's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Minden, NV
Thanks Meter: 185
 
596 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
so weird.. I just wanted to start fresh like inflated. so I got the 1.85 ruu after I was s-off. it finished without issues, rebooted to BL and its unlocked. so problems if you relock first? just throwing it out there

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes