Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Backup locked bootloader

OP maframan

23rd February 2013, 10:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Hi, is it possible to backup original locked bootloader for any restore?
For example via dd command.

BR
maframan
23rd February 2013, 11:49 PM   |  #2  
MartyHulskemper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 366
 
1,465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I do not know for sure, but given the wizards we have in here -- like sbdags, _that, dasunsrule32, and many others that I look up to -- I would wager a finger that if it could be done they would've found a way by now and published it. I would definitely not hold my breath, mate.
Last edited by MartyHulskemper; 23rd February 2013 at 11:50 PM. Reason: damn typos
24th February 2013, 12:31 AM   |  #3  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,243
 
11,667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
It's not possible to restore the locked bootloader.
24th February 2013, 12:56 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2006
Thanks a lot.
After your response, Just now i unlocked the bootloader.
24th February 2013, 09:48 AM   |  #5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,513
 
3,545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Actually, unlocking the bootloader does not even change the bootloader. It just writes a small data block into the hidden "CER" partition.
25th February 2013, 08:07 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag Hillsboro, Oregon
Thanks Meter: 17
 
71 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that

Actually, unlocking the bootloader does not even change the bootloader. It just writes a small data block into the hidden "CER" partition.

OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value? Is it encrypted, obviously we can change the value so it's writable?

I'm not trying to be contrary, and I been reading on these forums for over two years, I know the "unlocker" comes from ASUS, but NONE of the wizards have figured it out? I'm just a half step above a noob, not a developer, just asking for basic information.
25th February 2013, 08:16 AM   |  #7  
MartyHulskemper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 366
 
1,465 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Re: [Q] Backup locked bootloader
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbamberg

OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value? Is it encrypted, obviously we can change the value so it's writable?

I'm not trying to be contrary, and I been reading on these forums for over two years, I know the "unlocker" comes from ASUS, but NONE of the wizards have figured it out? I'm just a half step above a noob, not a developer, just asking for basic information.

Mind you: it would serve no effective purpose at all, because ASUS registers the serial number of the unlocked device before probably even writing the block. The only reason you would want to be able to relock is for warranty purposes, but you'd be scr**ed anyway.
25th February 2013, 09:49 AM   |  #8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,513
 
3,545 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbamberg

OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value?

As Marty said: It may be possible, but it's pointless.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
locked bootloader
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes