5,594,221 Members 45,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Backup locked bootloader

Tip us?
 
maframan
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jun 2006
Default [Q] Backup locked bootloader

Hi, is it possible to backup original locked bootloader for any restore?
For example via dd command.

BR
maframan
 
MartyHulskemper
Old
(Last edited by MartyHulskemper; 23rd February 2013 at 10:50 PM.) Reason: damn typos
#2  
MartyHulskemper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: Jun 2008
I do not know for sure, but given the wizards we have in here -- like sbdags, _that, dasunsrule32, and many others that I look up to -- I would wager a finger that if it could be done they would've found a way by now and published it. I would definitely not hold my breath, mate.
"Professionals are predictable, but the world is full of amateurs."
-- Murphy's Military Laws, as referenced on http://www.military-info.com/freebies/murphy.htm

"The skill of accurate perception is called cynicism by those who don't possess it."
-- Alan Millar
 
sbdags
Old
#3  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 11243
Posts: 9,634
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
It's not possible to restore the locked bootloader.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ASUS Transformer TF700T/TF201/TF300T(GL)/ME301T
[ROM] CROMBi-kk TF700 Infinity
[ROM] CROMi-X TF700 Infinity
[ROM] mini-C TF700 Infinity
[ROM] CROMi-X TF300T(GL) | TF201 Prime | ME301T Smart Pad 10


ASUS Transformer TF701T
[ROM] CROMi-X TF701T

Google Nexus 5
Rocking Stock!


Please Donate Here to support CROMi-X Development
 
maframan
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 31
Join Date: Jun 2006
Thanks a lot.
After your response, Just now i unlocked the bootloader.
 
_that
Old
#5  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2067
Posts: 3,043
Join Date: Oct 2012
Actually, unlocking the bootloader does not even change the bootloader. It just writes a small data block into the hidden "CER" partition.
 
mbamberg
Old
#6  
Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 61
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hillsboro, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by _that View Post
Actually, unlocking the bootloader does not even change the bootloader. It just writes a small data block into the hidden "CER" partition.
OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value? Is it encrypted, obviously we can change the value so it's writable?

I'm not trying to be contrary, and I been reading on these forums for over two years, I know the "unlocker" comes from ASUS, but NONE of the wizards have figured it out? I'm just a half step above a noob, not a developer, just asking for basic information.
 
MartyHulskemper
Old
#7  
MartyHulskemper's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 365
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: [Q] Backup locked bootloader

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbamberg View Post
OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value? Is it encrypted, obviously we can change the value so it's writable?

I'm not trying to be contrary, and I been reading on these forums for over two years, I know the "unlocker" comes from ASUS, but NONE of the wizards have figured it out? I'm just a half step above a noob, not a developer, just asking for basic information.
Mind you: it would serve no effective purpose at all, because ASUS registers the serial number of the unlocked device before probably even writing the block. The only reason you would want to be able to relock is for warranty purposes, but you'd be scr**ed anyway.
"Professionals are predictable, but the world is full of amateurs."
-- Murphy's Military Laws, as referenced on http://www.military-info.com/freebies/murphy.htm

"The skill of accurate perception is called cynicism by those who don't possess it."
-- Alan Millar
 
_that
Old
#8  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2067
Posts: 3,043
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbamberg View Post
OK, I'm interested, if we know (not me personally) where the memory position is, and we know what it is before and after the unlock, what is the barrier to just resetting value to the pre-unlock value?
As Marty said: It may be possible, but it's pointless.

Tags
locked bootloader
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Google ATAP Reveals Project Ara Developer Kits and 100K Prize Challenge

Today, Paul Eremenko from Google’s Advanced Technology and … more

Configure Your System Settings on a Per-App Basis

Do you ever like to make sure that certain device settings are enabled prior to entering a … more

How to Hack An Android App (Don’t Try This at Home) – XDA Developer TV

Listen, don’t cheat in your games. So don’t … more

Windows Phone 8.1 Developer Preview Now Available!

About two weeks ago at the BUILD conference in San Francisco, Microsoft unveiled Windows … more