Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom

OP gregs126

24th February 2013, 02:38 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Have looked at multiple guides, but utterly confused: I successfully rooted/unlocked bootloader on Verizon S3 (jelly bean) and want to flash CleanRom 5.6. Can I flash the ROM (using TRWP) alone, or must I also flash a radio? Does wipe/reset prior to flashing delete the radio/kernal from phone? I just want to change ROM, and continue to use the stock modem.
24th February 2013, 02:44 AM   |  #2  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom
Wipe top 4 boxes in twrp.

Should be
(Cache, dalvik cache, system, factory reset.)
Something along those lines.


Anyways. Wipe and install the clean ROM zip file you downloaded. Reboot phone once it says successful.


Radios and modems are normally flashed separate.


In the future. I'm sure there Is a how to on YouTube


Hit that thanks after you join the clean ROM club

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to barrackOBAMA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 02:50 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
So I can flash the rom alone? Radio is optional? Sorry, but feel like a zombie ate my brain..
24th February 2013, 03:50 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Indiana
Thanks Meter: 307
 
998 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom
Yep

Sent from my SCH-I535 using xda app-developers app
24th February 2013, 04:51 AM   |  #5  
Member
Rooted S5 NI2
Thanks Meter: 5
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Scott has details on how to flash CleanROM 5.6 listed under "Installation".
http://www.scottsroms.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=329 < Found Here
24th February 2013, 02:49 PM   |  #6  
barrackOBAMA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 334
 
579 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Re: [Q] Newbie: How to Flash CleanRom
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregs126

So I can flash the rom alone? Radio is optional? Sorry, but feel like a zombie ate my brain..

I think some people flash radios to mentally think they some how get better service.

I have always had decent service with all my radios. So I would only look into it if you were getting poor service.


As a side note. I have seen people report worst and better service after flashing a newer radio.

A good way to check is what your dbm reads.

The lower the better

Sent from club Clean Rom
24th February 2013, 04:02 PM   |  #7  
rodstar87's Avatar
Member
Flag Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 21
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
There are a couple of youtube videos with detailed instructions on flashibg his rom as well. Just a suggestion.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes