Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to get activate USB debugging mode when there is essentially no OS

OP locke585

24th February 2013, 05:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
So I rooted my AT&T Galaxy S3 using the Samsung GS3 ToolKit. After that I installed CM10. However when I tried to install the Google Apps pack I accidentally installed a version of Google Apps that was not compatible so I kept getting the "Unfortunately, Setup Wizard has stopped message". So I went into recovery mode and chose the factory reset option thinking it would fix it, but it did not. Now there is essentially no operating system of any kind since I can't even access the setting options and the message " Unfortunately, Setup Wizard has stopped message" is still present. Any ideas on what to do next?
24th February 2013, 07:24 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
211 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Re: [Q] How to get activate USB debugging mode when there is essentially no OS
Flash the ROM. Flash gapps. If you can get into recovery that is. If you can't, download mode, Odin back to stock. If you can't download mode, you're bricked and need advice from someone who knows more than I do.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to Monkeymannnn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2013, 07:31 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeymannnn

Flash the ROM. Flash gapps. If you can get into recovery that is. If you can't, download mode, Odin back to stock. If you can't download mode, you're bricked and need advice from someone who knows more than I do.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium

Yep, I think I'm bricked, can't get turn on the usb debugging mode so I can't use the tool kit to force it into recovery or download mode.
24th February 2013, 09:51 AM   |  #4  
diablo009's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta GA
Thanks Meter: 1,344
 
5,541 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
More
Did you try ODIN to stock?
24th February 2013, 12:34 PM   |  #5  
xBeerdroiDx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth
Thanks Meter: 1,500
 
2,337 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by locke585

Yep, I think I'm bricked, can't get turn on the usb debugging mode so I can't use the tool kit to force it into recovery or download mode.

Put the correct room and gapps on your external (if you have one) and use the button combo to get into recovery. Flash both files, wipe data/cache/dalvik
24th February 2013, 01:37 PM   |  #6  
KorGuy123's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Barrie
Thanks Meter: 864
 
1,784 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Re: [Q] How to get activate USB debugging mode when there is essentially no OS
Quote:
Originally Posted by locke585

Yep, I think I'm bricked, can't get turn on the usb debugging mode so I can't use the tool kit to force it into recovery or download mode.

You're not bricked, you reset the rom back to the setup function but it had nothing to do with the incorrect gapps you flashed which is why you still have the error.

Reboot into recovery (volume+ power and home) full wipe, reinstall ROM, and the correct gapps. Wipe cache and dalvik and reboot.

As said earlier put the ROM and gapps on an extsd card and you won't have to worry USB debugging mode.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda app-developers app
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes