Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,779,097 Members 43,945 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

ThL W8 anybody??

Tip us?
 
THLW8+
Old
(Last edited by THLW8+; 29th May 2013 at 09:30 PM.) Reason: 1
#241  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smyl3 View Post
So, have you tried that mobileuncle tools gps fixing method too? I haven't found it in this topic.


I pressed the full button in the app then waited to let the sat informations appear, then the same with the cold option.
The W8 owners here have good experiences with its gps. A lot fewer W8+ owner are here.
Hello ... Yes I've also tried several times. The problem is he loses the FIX again
I think that the antenna is bad
 
kucyk84
Old
#242  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Amsterdam
have u tried FasterFix app? u can change a gps location to your country cause its always "China", and try then.

Sent from my ThL W8 using xda premium
 
THLW8+
Old
(Last edited by THLW8+; 30th May 2013 at 09:53 PM.) Reason: A
#243  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 24
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by kucyk84 View Post
have u tried FasterFix app? u can change a gps location to your country cause its always "China", and try then.

Sent from my ThL W8 using xda premium
Hello
my problem is not the first GPS FIX. With Mobile Uncle sometimes it goes faster so in about 5000ms - 7000ms.
If I switch to the Google Maps or Navigation, loosing again the satellites.

After the GPS fix, while navigating it loses again the satellite and the map rotates again. He jumps from one point to another. Navigating the city is impossible.

I bought an LG Optimus L3 E400 for 30 €. With that, I can even navigate indoor. Up to 3 meters to the window I have up to 7-8 Satellieten in room.
With the THL W8 + I must go out for a GPS FIX.
 
code8100
Old
#244  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2013
Default My W8 720p has 12.6Mp camera...

I have W8 720p model, this model rear camera is 8Mp. But my W8 has actually 12.6Mp camera, like a W8+ 1080p model. It's strange
The Following User Says Thank You to code8100 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Marvin0815
Old
#245  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default THL W8+ GravityMod2

Hello
I also bought the THL W8 +.
I liked the performance of the device, not so.
So I searched the internet and came across the GravityMod2.

I have kept to this manual. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2249808

1.Connect your phone and wait for the flash process to finish (indicated by window with green circle)
2. Reboot to CWM recovery and perform factory reset (wipe data, advanced/wipe dalvik cache)
3. Download all available incremental updates. Install all in correct order while in custom recovery.
You don't need to reboot between updates. Just flash them in a row.
4. Reboot

What can I say? I have no butter experience. ...I think I have Sand in the Gears.
The surface is so laggy that it makes no fun. The program interface is just as fast as before. But the Launcher not..

I do not know where I made a mistake ..

my question
1) Can I start from the beginning again?
* thlw8plus-gravitymod2-1.5-20130512-flash tool and then the updates?
2) Can I switch back to The Stock firmware?
 
C3C076
Old
#246  
C3C076's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 10567
Posts: 4,206
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bratislava

 
DONATE TO ME
You can't get project butter (60 fps) on w8+. Full HD display and corresponding kernel allow it to run at max. Of 38fps. But that's mentioned in the gm2 thread in feature list section...
You could try changing launcher. E.g. I find Nova Launcher pretty fast and good. (Get it from play store)
Nexus 5 running stock KitKat + GravityBox
GravityBox app - Xposed module for devices running vanilla Android
Please, do not use personal messages when trying to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.
If you like my work, consider buying me a coffee.
 
smb.roman
Old
#247  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Apr 2013
Hello everyone!
I have a trouble with distance and speed count by GPS.
I used the My Tracks app by Google, all tracks writes correct, but in Stats tab i have unreal values (ten times bigger then real - 220 km/h average speed).
I have GravityMod2_2.0 installed.
I'm not only one with this trouble.

If anybody (C3C076 especially) can solve this trouble, please, solve it.

I only read this forum so i cannot write in GM2 dev thread...

Thanks.
 
Marvin0815
Old
#248  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by C3C076 View Post
You can't get project butter (60 fps) on w8+. Full HD display and corresponding kernel allow it to run at max. Of 38fps. But that's mentioned in the gm2 thread in feature list section...
You could try changing launcher. E.g. I find Nova Launcher pretty fast and good. (Get it from play store)
Hello C3C076
I know that I do not get 60 fps. I've read yes.
however
* It is even slower, I would not have thought.

I've just tried Nova Launcher. It was after the installation for a few minutes Okey.
Now it hangs just like the original launcher.

my question
1) Can I start from the beginning again?
* thlw8plus-gravitymod2-1.5-20130512-flash tool and then the updates?
2) Can I switch back to The Stock firmware?
 
C3C076
Old
#249  
C3C076's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 10567
Posts: 4,206
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bratislava

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin0815 View Post
Hello C3C076
I know that I do not get 60 fps. I've read yes.
however
* It is even slower, I would not have thought.

I've just tried Nova Launcher. It was after the installation for a few minutes Okey.
Now it hangs just like the original launcher.

my question
1) Can I start from the beginning again?
* thlw8plus-gravitymod2-1.5-20130512-flash tool and then the updates?
2) Can I switch back to The Stock firmware?
If you don't have your own backup, you can download the latest official THL FW for W8+ from here:
https://disk.yandex.com/public/?hash...ZlWSSQsRuM8%3D

You are the first one of W8+ users complaining about the system lags I know of. I can't say what your problem might be related to.
I own W8 8GB and I've done GM2 for other models blindly - without actually being able to test everything myself. I always contact owners of W8+ to test for me. But I admit that's not a perfect approach. I will probably add additional warning that GM2 is known to work perfectly on 4GB/8GB models, and it is not guaranteed it will work without issues on others.
Nexus 5 running stock KitKat + GravityBox
GravityBox app - Xposed module for devices running vanilla Android
Please, do not use personal messages when trying to solve your problems. Use forum - its power is often underestimated. If I can't help somebody else will certainly try to. Thanks.
If you like my work, consider buying me a coffee.
 
ch-vox
Old
(Last edited by ch-vox; 4th June 2013 at 04:26 PM.)
#250  
ch-vox's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 317
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by smb.roman View Post
Hello everyone!
I have a trouble with distance and speed count by GPS.
I used the My Tracks app by Google, all tracks writes correct, but in Stats tab i have unreal values (ten times bigger then real - 220 km/h average speed).
I have GravityMod2_2.0 installed.
I'm not only one with this trouble.

If anybody (C3C076 especially) can solve this trouble, please, solve it.

I only read this forum so i cannot write in GM2 dev thread...

Thanks.
this is a problem linked to hardware (MT6589), Endomondo, My Tracks, etc... don't use hardware as they should.
I've found Runkeeper which works like a charm with any W8 ROM (stock or custom).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes