Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,176 Members 51,549 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unlocking T-mobile Pocket PC

Tip us?
Bucky Old
#1  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Default Unlocking T-mobile Pocket PC

Hello,

I have purchased just last week T-mobile pocket PC in the US, however now I am back at my home (Eastern Europe) where we use GSM (Alcatel)
The following is rom and radio version:

Rom version: 3.14.40 ENG
ROM date: 11/26/02
Radio Version: 6.18
Protocol version: 324e4

My question is what do I need to unlock this to work with my GSM company. When I paid for this ($625) I paid a phone withouth service activation.

Regards,
Bucky
 
LumpiStefan
Old
#2  
LumpiStefan's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 1,672
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart
Hy.

Why don't you try this question in the unlocking-section?
Why don't you read the other tasks in this section?

To unlock your T-Mobile pocket PC you need a serial cable to connect your PC with your PDA and the XDA-Manipulator-software from www.xda-developers.com

An other problem that exists will be the different GSM frequencies. As you have in USA 1900MHz you'll have in europe 900/1800Mhz. But i'm not sure if this is really so. You have to take a look at your provider (Alcatel)

Regards

Stefan
Bucky Old
#3  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Default Unlocking T-mobile Pocket PC

Stefan, thank you very much for your prompt reply.

However, I have been reading that the unlocked versions of T-mobile
had a Radio Version 3* or 4*, and the RADIO VERISION on my T-mobile is 6.18, thus I am not sure if this software will work out or not.

Please reply as soon as possible if you know the answer to this one.
 
LumpiStefan
Old
#4  
LumpiStefan's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 1,672
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Stuttgart
Hey Bucky.

Most people hav Radio VErsion 3* oder 4* becuase this are european Radio Versions.
The US VErsions have othe numbers like your 6* .....

Like the posting of a XDA Developer the manipulater should work with all available Radio VErsions.

Just try it......
Old
#5  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
I see. However when I read the xda manipulator, the developers say that they have tried this only on radio version 4.06 and 4.10

Quote: " We've tested this on Radio version 4.06 and 4.10. If you dare, please let us know if you find it to work on other radio versions".

I didn't find any message that someone tried with Radio version 6.18

Do you know anyone that has tried this on US versions of T-mobile?
 
xda-guru
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jan 2003
We have reports of succesful unlocking on US versions as well. XDAmanipulator will work with any radio version.

Peter
 
Cnovamd
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Feb 2003
Hey just to add I have been one of them. You have pretty much all the same settings as mine. Just follow the instruction on the manipulators site and it will work fine. You will be done in seconds.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more

Always Enter the Correct Password with HideNoPasswords

If you’ve ever entered apassword on your mobile device, you’ve surely … more