5,594,151 Members 46,643 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

Tip us?
 
godutch
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 223
Posts: 1,811
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

I don't have the One yet and never seen it in real live but I was wonder whether it would be possible to turn the HTC logo into a menu button? On the One X the entire glass display is touch sensitive even the parts where there is no LCD
All dutch citizens please sign this petition demanding a referendum to leave the EU: http://www.burgerforumeu.nl/
The Following User Says Thank You to godutch For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
whmcal
Old
#2  
whmcal's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 290
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

Impossible


Sent from my HTC One using xda premium
 
Hunt3r.j2
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 198
Posts: 1,630
Join Date: Jun 2011
The logo definitely is in an area with touch sensing, but I don't claim to know whether or not the area can be defined as a button.
 
superchilpil
Old
#4  
superchilpil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1201
Posts: 3,737
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Re: Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

Quote:
Originally Posted by whmcal View Post
Impossible


Sent from my HTC One using xda premium
Quite possible since the whole touch screen extends to where the capacitive buttons are, you can test this by going to a webpage and draging your finger down to the logo and see if it keeps scrolling

If it does then its very likely that someone could turn the logo into a button


Sent from my One X using Tapatalk 2
=========================

AT&T HTC One

Help me fill up my thanks meter by hitting thanks
==================================================
 
Narom88
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: The north!
It doesn't keep scrolling if you drop off the screen onto the buttons or the logo.
 
craftycarper1
Old
#6  
craftycarper1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 240
Posts: 934
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Northampton
Quote:
Originally Posted by Narom88 View Post
It doesn't keep scrolling if you drop off the screen onto the buttons or the logo.
+1
↑↑↑ Click above for my Userbars ↑↑↑
 
jonas2295
Old
#7  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2306
Posts: 4,716
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria

 
DONATE TO ME
Default AW: Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

Check it out with adb get event.
That way we would know it for sure if it triggers an event when being touched.

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium



You want 20gb free cloud storage ?
use my referral link and you get them right away at copy.com !
Thanks!

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jonas2295 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Narom88
Old
(Last edited by Narom88; 17th March 2013 at 10:46 AM.) Reason: crap spelling
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 165
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: The north!
im new to android so dont know what that is. But in developer options i enabled Show Touches and Pointer Location and they both show nothing happens when touching or dragging to that point.
 
jonas2295
Old
#9  
jonas2295's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2306
Posts: 4,716
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bavaria

 
DONATE TO ME
Default AW: Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

Quote:
Originally Posted by Narom88 View Post
im knew to android so dont know what that is. But in devoloper options i enabled Show Touches and Pointer Location and they both show nothing happens when touching or dragging to that point.
That won't work as it can't show any touch on the logo as it's not a display.
Adb get event command is the best way to check it out.
Someone should do it

Sent from my HTC One X using xda premium



You want 20gb free cloud storage ?
use my referral link and you get them right away at copy.com !
Thanks!

 
deagleone
Old
#10  
deagleone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1110
Posts: 1,209
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Heilbronx
Default AW: Turn HTC logo into a capacitive button

The buttons are part of the digitizer, so its possible to map any point to a button, it has nothing to do with browser scrolling (it ends where the display ends)

insertcoined....

The Following User Says Thank You to deagleone For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes